We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Faithful Inn Just OLD -- Lake Lodge better”
Review of Old Faithful Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Faithful Inn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Old Faithful Inn Just OLD -- Lake Lodge better”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed for one night in the west wing section of the hotel. Small uncomfortable room tiny little bathroom. Just not what we expected. I understand its rustic, but really? They charged almost $190 with tax and this was reserved a year in advance. We reserved three nights but left early.

Too many people in line for lunch in the dining room with plenty of empty tables and not enough servers. Thirty and forty minutes wait, come oin now. Half of this huge space was filled with empty tables and when we finally were seated all the tables around us were yet to be cleaned off.

We were fortunate to reserve a cabin from the Lake Hotel through a wonderful desk clerk named Ken Taylor. Since all the rooms were booked and we left Old Faithful rather abruptly, he was able to get us a cabin for the night at Lake Lodge. If I were ever to go back to this part of the country I would stay there again. The cabin was clean comfortable and we got a great nights sleep. Thanks again, Ken

Room Tip: Cabins at Lake Lodge were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilifisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    824
    423
    198
    103
See reviews for
861
1,136
60
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I hated staying in this place. The lobby is beautiful and it is fun to see old faithful go off.The problem is you don't stay in the lobby or grounds. You stay in a really drab overpriced room. We walked into a lobby that was so crowded you could barely move. Our room was in a far corner of the hotel. This mattered because it's such a popular place that the parking lot is full from buses and people who just want to visit the sight. If we wanted to go out to the car or do something we had to walk about half a mile to get to the car. We wanted to sit in the lobby and visit our friends instead of sitting in our tiny, drab, uncomfortable room. There was no place to sit and relax or visit. I'd recommend you stay in another place in the park (or outside the park) and visit this one. We were so disappointed we checked out early. Very uncomfortable beds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

As some of the reviews state yes the rooms are small however they're probably bigger than those on must luxury cruise liners. When in Yellowstone most people are only in their rooms to sleep so space isn't all that necessary. Our room and our bathroom were both spotless. We had enough towels to last the two days we were there plus an extra blanket and pillow. Having a hair dryer in the room was nice too so I didn't have to pack one.

The Inn itself was amazing. The burled wood used throughout the interior and exterior of the building was beautiful. The high ceiling with all the huge exposed beams were impressive - especially considering that when it was built they didn't have all the equipment we now have for construction of something that size. The rangers and all the staff we were in contact with were all friendly and helpful.

But the most amazing part of the entire experience is the park itself. The land is beautiful, the waterfalls amazing, the geysers thrilling and the rivers relaxing. And then of course there are all the animals. You've never experience gridlock until you've experienced it due to a herd of buffalo wandering down the middle of the road. Although it took maybe 45 minutes for it to clear most everyone was so busy taking pictures that the time flew by. One individual however decided to beep their car horn. That really upset one of the buffalo and after pawing at the ground and tossing his head he started to charge the car. Luckily he stopped just short of it. I'm sure that horn was silent for the remainder of their visit.

Room Tip: Don't worry about having a fitness center - you'll get your exercise walking around to see a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda49_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookeville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was thoroughly disappointed by the outdated and drab rooms. We stayed in 2 different rooms... luckily, we had a private bathroom in each one. The first room had exposed plumbing for the sprinklers. The second had the bathroom sink in the bedroom. Plaster walls, old windows, no in-room thermostat, outdated bedspread, and stained carpet should all to be expected. We had to call for a hair dryer in the first room. I guess I've been spoiled, but I thought that for a 3-star to 4-star price, the rooms should have been a bit nicer, and they definitely need to be updated. I probably wouldn't stay here again... the lobby/common area is neat, and watching Old Faithful blow while drinking a glass of wine on the deck is nice, but once you've seen it, you've seen it.

Room Tip: Request a room in the "new" section, unless you don't mind using a communal bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonville, IN
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

It is so beautiful. The woodwork in the lobby is incredible. There is a three story fireplace and plenty of chairs for everyone. The second level was setup for guests to sit and talk or play card games. Our room was in the "newer" section so we had our own bathroom. Our beds were comfortable and the room was an adequate size. There isn't any air conditioning but the window in our room was large and we left it open all night. The staff was so friendly and we didn't have any problems checking in or out. I wish we could have stayed longer than one night. This place is the jewel of Yellowstone.

Room Tip: Stay in the newer section if you want your own bathroom. But if you don't mind sharing you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
236 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Staying in the Old Faithful Inn is a chance to be part of history in one of the most interesting places on earth. It is a must to understand that when you stay here many modern conveniences are traded for staying in this classic property. Additionally, its location near Old Faithful and many other geysers makes it a great spot for touring Yellowstone. My only complaint was that as a tourist attraction itself, the hotel often has non-guests roaming the halls. However, this generally ends after 6 pm or so. I look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: If you choose a private bath you will not be staying in the "log" portion of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElGuru71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpharetta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Have stayed in several park lodges and know that you pay more for that location so was not expecting a luxurious room but they could spend a little on some upgrades so that the rooms are not so utilitarian. Was not impressed with the meals in the dining room and the elk steak was too tough to eat. All that said, the architecture is impressive and the location spectacular and it is the best option available so would stay here again.

Room Tip: With a view of Old Faithful geyser
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyancey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
22.2 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
989 reviews
36.3 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,961 reviews
19.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#1 of 39 in West Yellowstone
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
921 reviews
19.0 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
732 reviews
19.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Faithful Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Faithful Inn

Property: Old Faithful Inn
Address: Old Faithful, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Faithful Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Old Faithful Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Faithful Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Old Faithful Inn Yellowstone
Old Faithful Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing