We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible”
Review of Old Faithful Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Faithful Inn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jeffersonville, IN
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

It is so beautiful. The woodwork in the lobby is incredible. There is a three story fireplace and plenty of chairs for everyone. The second level was setup for guests to sit and talk or play card games. Our room was in the "newer" section so we had our own bathroom. Our beds were comfortable and the room was an adequate size. There isn't any air conditioning but the window in our room was large and we left it open all night. The staff was so friendly and we didn't have any problems checking in or out. I wish we could have stayed longer than one night. This place is the jewel of Yellowstone.

Room Tip: Stay in the newer section if you want your own bathroom. But if you don't mind sharing you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    954
    841
    429
    204
    106
See reviews for
879
1,152
61
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (790)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Staying in the Old Faithful Inn is a chance to be part of history in one of the most interesting places on earth. It is a must to understand that when you stay here many modern conveniences are traded for staying in this classic property. Additionally, its location near Old Faithful and many other geysers makes it a great spot for touring Yellowstone. My only complaint was that as a tourist attraction itself, the hotel often has non-guests roaming the halls. However, this generally ends after 6 pm or so. I look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: If you choose a private bath you will not be staying in the "log" portion of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElGuru71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpharetta
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Have stayed in several park lodges and know that you pay more for that location so was not expecting a luxurious room but they could spend a little on some upgrades so that the rooms are not so utilitarian. Was not impressed with the meals in the dining room and the elk steak was too tough to eat. All that said, the architecture is impressive and the location spectacular and it is the best option available so would stay here again.

Room Tip: With a view of Old Faithful geyser
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyancey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This inn is a beautiful old lodge with breathtaking architecture right next to Old Faithful and it is such a shame that the management company will not upgrade the guest rooms from their current motel-like state. With plain one star guestrooms, I'm giving the inn 3.5 stars because of its lobby, its bar and location. The inn's parking lot is open to all visitors of Old Faithful so you may find yourself circling the lot 25 times before finding a spot. And, let me tell you, after a long day's drive, the last thing you want to do is spend 30 minutes looking for parking before checking into a $250 room that reminds you of a Motel 6. If you care about value or want something that hints at upscale comfort, stay in The Grand Tetons. Do you hear me? Stay in the Grand Tetons (like Jackson Lake Lodge). You get more for your money and may even find yourself blown away by the Tetons' majestic beauty. So, if you find yourself at the Geyser, my recommendation is to enjoy the best of what the Old Faithful Inn has to offer- definitely its lobby (which is free) and the "Bear Pit" if you're in the mood for some regional bar food. Spending your time and money on anything else is a waste.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

You really cannot miss seeing this beautiful old place, but be prepared if you plan to stay here. The lobby is stunning and the gift shop is worth a walk through. You can borrow a wheelchair at the front desk and take a walk out front to Old Faithful and the other geysers accessible from the boardwalk. We had a lovely dinner in the dining room, good food and attentive waitstaff.
One night in the little, old, noisy east wing room....was plenty ;) We got what we paid $249 for, which was a geyser view! Watching Old Faithful erupt out our window until dark, and again the next morning while we had our coffee was worth the one night stay.
Don't be afraid to ask for help with luggage and such. The altitude here will throw you for a loop.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Footloose39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I am ambivalent about this hotel. Undoubtedly the location is magnificent, deep in the Yellowstone National Park and just yards from Old Faithful. The main building is historic and interesting but my first impression was of long lines of fellow tourists (many arriving in coaches) queueing to check in or enter the restaurant.

Our room was in one of the newer wings. The corridor leading to it gave a poor impression as it was scruffy, unattractively decorated and with scuffed paint . I am ambivalent about our accommodation. The bedroom was dull and unattractive with dated fittings and poor lighting. On the other hand the bathroom was modern with excellent fittings and lovely soaps. The room was too hot with a heater but no air conditioner or fan or fridge/mini bar We were able to open the windows and there were bug guards. There are no TVs in the rooms and no wifi within the entire hotel.

I am not in a position to fully understand the reasons for the aspects of this hotel which I found less than attractive. I suspect that at times the quest for 'rustic' is being used as a justification for poor maintenance and lack of investment . I understand that the absence of TV is believed by some to enhance visitors' experience of isolation and beauty of the National Park but this is the subject of debate. I appreciate these sentiments and personally dont feel strongly one way or the other.

By contrast I do feel that this hotel should offer its guests wifi - vital for overseas visitors who want to access email and the Internet. The fact that wifi is available in an adjacent store - at the massive cost of $4.95 for 30 minutes- negates all the 'back to nature' arguments

The food in the hotel was surpringky good considering the large number of people eating at one time.

Room Tip: If you don't want to share a bathroom, make sure your bedroom has an ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JJRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

By now you know about the lobby, one of a kind. The whole hotel is historic, we wished we had had the time to take the tour they give several times a day. This grand old hotel is like stepping into the past. The long wide halls reminded us of the hotel in "The Shining", but no kid on a trike mumbling redrum. Anyway, I'd recommend you stay here if you can, or at least one night. We paid for a geyser side room, and I have to say that is probably not money well spent as the trees block your room (see photo), you won't even hear the noise. Some folks complain about no tv, etc. but if you have some extra hours, go walk around the board walks in the upper basin (right outside your door), we found the many geysers and thermal vents were behaving very differently each time we went out! What was an empty or steamy hole was now splashing everyone that walked by, or you might get lucky and see Beehive or one of the other less predictable geysers go off. Watch Old Faithful go off from that hill on the far side (see photo).

Room Tip: Probably won't really have a good view even if you pay the extra for "geyser side" roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwdtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
22.2 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,045 reviews
36.3 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,974 reviews
19.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
743 reviews
14.6 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
938 reviews
19.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Faithful Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Faithful Inn

Property: Old Faithful Inn
Address: Old Faithful, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Faithful Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Old Faithful Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Faithful Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Old Faithful Inn Yellowstone
Old Faithful Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing