We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great home base when visiting Yellowstone NP”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Faithful Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Faithful Inn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great home base when visiting Yellowstone NP”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

The charm of the renovated inn is wonderful. It was as beautiful as we had anticipated. Our room (we booked 1 year in advance) was on the first floor, east side. If it weren't for the tree, we would have been able to see Old Faithful geyser beautifully just from our room. But, hey, just walk 50 yards and there it was. We had 2 firm queen beds, an armoire, and an oscillating fan (no air conditioning). The room was small, but how much time are you going to spend in it? The bathroom was very clean, although the exhaust fan didn't work, and it was small, too. The sink was outside the bathroom; a feature we really appreciate when several people are trying to get ready. The employees were mostly very pleasant; many international college students working the summer; housekeeping responded very quickly to any request. The restaurant needs intervention. The menu (mostly dinner) is boring and overpriced. And don't be in any hurry - to get in or to get served. Even with reservations, we had a long wait. It's also very noisy. The buffet (breakfast or dinner) is way overpriced unless you're a bottomless pit, teenage boy. Our orders were not prepared to our requests (i.e. how do you want your eggs?) and they are soooooo slow, there's no reason to request they do it right. Since there are limited eating establishments within the park, you're at their mercy. Hamilton's General Store was OK - they serve on paper plates. Didn't get over to the Old Faithful Lodge cafeteria. Definitely an interesting place to stay. I'm glad we did.

Room Tip: Book as early as you can; request restaurant reservations and tours at the same time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M.A.55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    906
    794
    406
    185
    95
See reviews for
827
1,082
60
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yellowstone Nat. Park
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

There may be no building like this one anywhere in the world. Certainly there is no place like the Old Faithful area or Yellowstone National Park. Every face you see has a smile. About the only shortcoming is the well-intentioned but sometimes uneven service in the dining room.

Room Tip: If you appreciate the history of the building, ask about a room in the original building, not a wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed two nights here on a recent family vacation to Yellowstone and Grand Tetons National Parks. This was a unanimous choice for least favorite property.

Pros
1. Location - how can you beat watching Old Faithful erupt from a second floor deck? You can't. Fantastic walks through a thermal area, elk and bison on the grounds.
2. History - a beautiful building with an amazing lobby and deck.
3. Guests- no TV, no wireless - people have to come out of their rooms to interact, which gives the inn a very-old fashioned, refreshing vibe at night.

Cons
1. Service - bad across the board. The staff seem to think that they are doing you a favor by allowing you to stay there.
2. Restaurants - generally overpriced, mediocre food with incredibly slow service. For example, one morning they didn't seat anyone for breakfast for 20 minutes despite the dining room being 80% empty. Apparently the staff had partied too hard the night before and they couldn't get anyone to come over to work. Thanks to the manager and assistant manager who had a huge argument about it in front of all the waiting guests. On the other hand, a surprising exception was the short-order grill in the general store - excellent breakfast and burgers and great staff.
3. Crowds - around Old Faithful, of course, but also non-guests traipsing through the hotel all day long.

I'd stay here again in a cheap room in the old part - shared bathrooms, etc. - but not in the overpriced new wings. It's beautiful,it's historic, but overall a slight disappointment. The management company desperately needs to retrain the staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolinasNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, tn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed in a few different places in the park with OF Inn being our favorite. Most expensive rooms are not the best rooms (motel style-sheet rock walls) but the least expensive in the oldest part of the Inn is the best!! It's called the Old House. Only $96/night, has sink in room but no toilet or shower in room. There's a bath house down the hall with toilets and showers. The entire Old House remodeled in '06 so bath house and rooms are beautiful and nice. Bath houses were never crowded (day or night). No big deal taking shower here. The Old House has all wood walls, ceilings, and floors. The walls were pain stakingly removed in '06, special cleaned, and put back. So, all the walls are original from 1904. These rooms are the quickest to go so have to book early. Booked year ahead. We stayed 1st 3 days here and then our last night switched from Roosevelt back to OF. Was very lucky to get back into the Old House again!! Kept checking at every front desk at every hotel in the park for 2 days before we got this opening. Love the atmosphere at Old Faithful Inn, too. Very beautiful and much to do. No wifi or tv's in the park so need something to do at night. OF always had something... beautiful, new visitor center next door where we listened to park ranger talks (3 diff nights), you can get ice cream from the deli, sit and people watch from the balcony, shop in the gift store, walk around all the geysers/hot pools right outside the door. Never got tired of watching Old Faithful geyser. Passed on the dining room since so many negative reviews. Ate at the grille at the Hamilton Inn store (if you're facing the front of OF Inn, the Hamilton General Store is on the right). Great breakfast and great dinners and super nice staff. Inexpensive and yummy!! Also, the Bear Paw Deli in Old Faithful Inn has the BEST italian sandwich ever!! Threw one of these in our backpack before hiking Mount Washburn. Glad we did. Do yourself a favor and stay in the Old House of OF Inn. You won't regret it and your pocketbook won't either. FYI- they do have 10 rooms in the Old House that have private bathrooms (sink, toilet, and bathtub- no shower or shower curtain but does have handheld shower head). These are $129/night. Then they have 1 private bathroom with 2 adjoining rooms so if you have big family, could get this 2 bedroom w/ shared bath for $213/night. They start taking reservations May 1st for the following summer and these go 1st. Book early!!

Room Tip: Try to avoid Old House rooms on the bottom level. Much smaller and walls not as nice (log instead of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank blueraiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, OH
Level Contributor
163 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

This is the first time in our travels that the higher priced room in a hotel did not mean a nicer room. We stayed 4 nights in the Old Faithful Inn - loved the location and the ambience of the hotel - but the room itself was amazingly "dorm like". It was clean, there was a bathroom, and there were basic furnishings. However, it was very small and the bed that was suppose to be a queen seemed more like a double. The bathroom was one of the smallest we have ever seen. .One day we took the tour of the inn (which was really interesting) and discovered many rooms much larger (and much cheaper). If we were to stay in the future, we would request a 2-bed room which would give both a bigger room and room to stretch out to sleep. We'd also stongly consider a room with the shared baths which were $96/night (one third the cost of our tiny accomoations). In our opinion, we did not 'get what we paid for.'

Room Tip: Ask for a room with 2 beds (even if only 2 people are going to be in the room). You'll get a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ohio Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

We debated long and hard where to stay in Yellowstone and we made the right decision. There is a big difference in "personality" between lodgings surrounding Old Faithful. We stayed in the west wing of the Old Faithful Inn at the end of the 2nd floor where we had 2 huge windows where we were able to watch buffalo right outside our window. Pay the $$ for the private bathroom which was very adequate, and in the 1900 decor! We still enjoyed plenty of historic character of staying in the Inn without staying in one of the log historic rooms where you have community bathrooms and showers. Be aware of no A/C anywhere at Yellowstone! We where there during a record heat wave and were very appreciative of the windows and cool temperatures at night. 1 bar, if you are lucky, with Verizon service in your rooms. We were able to get adaquate cell service on the observation deck where we were able to tether-in with the lobby's wi-fi service. The observation deck was my husband favorite place to hang out in the late afternoon which allowed him a comfortable shaded place to check on sports scores waiting for the geyser to blow, and while I shopped. The desk staff were so friendly and helpful even with the heavy traffic. They offered us secret places to get great wildlife opportunities in the Tetons. Bell staff were fast, and friendly. Never saw a staff member without a smile and asking if there was anything that they could do for you. Tip: Yellowstone is totally committed to their eco-stewardship. If you buy a coffee in their heavy cardboard cup; you can rinse it out and get free refills of coffee for your whole stay (except in the formal dining room). Make sure that you spend time at the new Visitor's Center. Interactive and the Yellowstone Association has the best book store in the National Park Service, which is located in the Visitor's Center. Be prepared for the masses of people that come for Old Faithful "show" between 10 AM - 4:30 PM. When staying at the Inn, you get a much more personal experience after the crowds leave.

Room Tip: Rooms with private bathroom is well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christinemamaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

This is a great old inn. The staff is very friendly and helpful. If you are staying in the park you are at their mercy for meals. Breakfast buffett at the Inn is just average and if you order off the menu for breakfast we were told by the waitress is would be about 15 minutes, this turned into 35 for a simple eggs over easy , bacon and potatos breakfast the dining room was at about 50 % capacity. We ate the prime rib buffett one night the prime rib was tasty but it was all very well done and just warm. I was concerned about staying in the old part of the Inn with shared bathrooms and showers, We where very happy with the cleanliness of them, they are spotless 24/7. We never had to wait on an empty shower.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MISSOURI64772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
22.2 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
36.3 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
19.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
19.0 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
19.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Faithful Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Faithful Inn

Property: Old Faithful Inn
Address: Old Faithful, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Faithful Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Faithful Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Faithful Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Old Faithful Inn Yellowstone
Old Faithful Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing