We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canyon Village Campground
Nearby Hotels
Al's Westward Ho Motel(West Yellowstone)
$129
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dude/Round Up Motel(West Yellowstone)
$211
$205
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
$309
$295
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
$745
$494
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
$310
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Desert Inn(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
$431
$300
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Historic Madison Hotel(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellowstone Park Hotel(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
$398
$304
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$329
$296
Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stage Coach Inn(West Yellowstone)
$344
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
130
118
28
8
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
118
28
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanyon villagedishwashing areagas stationfire pittent campingcentral locationbear boxfree showersvisitor centershower facilitieswash disheshayden valleyflush toiletsmain officeper dayrunning waterlodgepole pine
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 292 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is the largest campground in the park with approximately 280 spots. We spent 5 nights here in August with out tent trailer. We has heard some negative reviews but none of them held true. The sites are nice and in wooded areas which gives one a little more privacy than most other campgrounds in the park. The washrooms were kept clean and there are showers available in the main centre.
There are no hookups but we didn't find that a problem. Water was near by and there was a dump station.
We were surprised at how quiet the campground is. I think people were too exhausted from their day exploring the park no one had much energy to stay up late at night. We found that by 10pm most people were tucked in or on their way to sleep.
The location is in the middle of the park and therefor central to all major sites.
Remember to reserve in advance or you won't be staying here. The sign always said it was full but it never felt that way.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DJost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a very large campground with lots of visitors but with that being said not all camp sites are o. Top of one another. Sure, the sites are near to one another and there is a lot of lodge pole pines separating most sites. My only problem is that the restrooms need some updating and the shower situation is ridiculous. There only 1 shower area and that shower will cost you $3.75.
There is nice large laundry facility, 3 restaurants, a grocery store with somewhat limited and over priced groceries (some produce, canned goods,breads and dairy) and of course souvenir shops.
There's a lot to do in this area.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We visited Yellowstone the first week of August of 2013. The park itself was amazing! The campground did not disappoint either. I booked a site back in April. There are restrictions to tent size and vehicle sizes. The only thing I saw that was odd was that there were multiple sites where people did not adhere to the restrictions. Some had tents larger than the maximum size (one 12X12 or two 8X8 tents) or some had 3 tents. I made sure I had the right size since they stressed the importance of it. That aside, the campground was amazing! All of the staff were VERY helpful and courteous. The bathrooms were well stocked and maintained daily. The bathrooms all have an indoor dish washing station. The showers and laundry facilities were nice for a campground too. We were told of bear activity in the campground the past few nights when we checked in, but I was more excited than afraid. Ranger patrolled the park in the evening and on the third night at about 2 am we awoke to a ranger scaring a bear off, but he was up in one of the upper loops, where we were in loop C. TIP: If you purchase firewood then do so from the gas station right down the road. They sell bundles with tinder and matches for 5.99. The campground sells JUST firewood for 7.00 and tinder costs extra. If I make a return trip to Yellowstone I will DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice place to stay. Cozy! It is close to many attractions and a nice place to grab lunch. The girls in the gift shop were extremely helpful with recommending where to get the best views in the park. One warning: don't try to find it at night! There was a lot of construction and we had a very difficult time finding the place!

    • Value
Thank RileyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in a Frontier Cabin which was quite basic. Basically a fancy garden shed connected to some others. It was a wood box and had very thin walls. We had a connecting door to the next room, so we had quite a lot of noise coming from the family next door shouting and screaming, so in the end had to ask to be moved, though there was no availability. They did say they would send someone round at 10pm to tell them to be quiet and this worked a treat. No more problems with that family for the two nights they were there. The room was a nice size, we had a double bed, small desk, hanging rail and sink in the room, and a toilet and shower in the bathroom. They provide towels, soap, hand lotion, shower gel, shampoo and, unusually, conditioner. There was a smell coming from the toilet which you could smell in the room when we entered every day, but keeping the bathroom door closed this was OK. Ice was available with a 5 minute walk. The shower was nice and hot, but my one issue was that the shower head had been put at the wrong height and angle, and there was no adjustment in it, so you had no choice but to get your face and hair wet. I found myself wishing I had picked up a complementary shower cap at one of the hotels we stayed in on the way to Canyon. The shower also leaked a little onto the bathroom floor, but nothing major. The bed and pillow were not as comfortable as others on our stay, but it was OK, I still slept. Our major shock was the fact that there was no insulation in the cabin. We went to bed on the first night with 22°C in the room. It was quite warm, it was the end of July. We kept only a small blanket on the bed. Freezing cold in the night I had to get up and put another blanket on which still didn’t keep us warm. In the morning it was only 13°C in the room – we lost 9 degrees in the night! The only solution to this was to use the heating system (on checking in I thought a woman was mad who complained that her heating wasn’t working as it was July – now I know why it was an issue!) On reading the information about Canyon Village, it would seem these cabins are the original 1950s ones. They could really do with some renovations to make them more insulated which would save using the heating all year round. I have stayed in quite a few mountain places and with proper insulation we wouldn’t have needed to put the heating on at this time of year. Once we figured out the perfect setting on the thermostat we were OK for the rest of the trip.

As far as facilities go – at Canyon there was a big visitor centre, a souvenir shop, general store, cafeteria, deli shop, post office and grill. We ate at the cafeteria and had breakfast there every day. The reception staff were very friendly and did offer to move our things for the second night due to the noise in the room. As it was our honeymoon they also left a box of chocolates in our room with a note wishing us a happy marriage. That was really thoughtful of them. Please note that you will get charged a ‘utilities fee’ of a few dollars per night. You get the room charge, tax and utilities.

Thank SamB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews