We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in the park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canyon Village Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Canyon Campground in late June. This is by far the best full service camping location in the entire park. Everything is about an hour away by car (or less), and it is perfectly situated for access to both Hayden Valley and Lamar Valley (which means bison, pronghorns, elk.... need I go on?!). Bison are hanging out right near the road for your enjoyment. You will not find a better location if you are trying to check out every corner of the park while staying in one spot.

The village is not the most charming in the park, but the lodge has good ice cream, there is a well stocked general store, and ice and the gas station are conveniently located. Showers are laundry are convenient and clean, as are the bathrooms. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but it seemed okay. The Xanterra employees were very friendly, and we were able to schedule our activities for our stay in the park from the desk at the village.

The only reason I am giving this campground 4/5 stars is because our campsite had no room for our tent. No really- no room. We set up our tent on the asphalt next to our car as there was no flat area for the tent. We found this odd as when you make the reservation you specify your tent size, and had assumed our (5 person size) tent would be accommodated. Our site seemed to be the only one with this issue however, and everyone else seemed to have lots of room for all their tents, etc.

We will definitely stay in the Canyon Village Campground again in the future. It's great to have a spot where you spend less of your day driving and more of the day enjoying the park.

Room Tip: A loop is walking distance to the village, but tents share the area with RVs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kasey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 292 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here in a 28 ft. RV - no hookups. In hindsight I should have stayed a Fishing Bridge with full hookups. The sight they put us on in row K was backed right up to another tent. Very little room - hope you like your neighbors. Showers are a very long walk away. Location within Yellowstone can't be beat. Right in the middle. Rangers were friendly. Hint: bring stuff to stay warm - got down to 32 degrees at night there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gatorphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Canyon Campground in mid-late June. We found it to be a quiet campground, centrally located to explore the park from. It would have been even better if there had not been the nightly road closure between Tower and Canyon due to construction.

The desk clerk who checked us in was very friendly and went over everything with us. We were in the E Loop of campsites. Although every site was occupied while we were there it was quiet. The restroom was close, which included a dishwashing station. The only drawback was no hot water. The areas were always clean and well stocked with supplies.

The showers at the main office were clean as well as the laundry area. The only drawback was having to pay for showers, if you went over the allotment for your stay, and planning your day around thier hours. This was minor, really.

I would like to see more water refill stations. They are all over the place in the Grand Tetons park and easy to find.

If you enjoy wildlife watching, Hayden Valley is not far from Canyon.

We would stay here again, but I think next time we will split our time in the park between this campground and the Lamar Valley area. Due to the road closure it was difficult to get up to Lamar Valley for wildlife viewing in the morning.

There is no electricity at the campsites, so one night we went to the lounge area by the Canyon Lodge to warm up and charge our camera batteries, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zookyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I wanted to stay in the park so i chose the Frontier Cabins at Canyon Village. When we arrived it was about 83 degrees outside. Inside the cabin...it was 95 im sure. Heard other cabins complaining about this too. There was a fan provided and the cabin does have 3 little windows. Couldn't leave the door open because of the mosquitoes. Fan helped mildly with the temp. Room was clean, bathroom clean, and beds were fine. Only stayed one night and was happy about that with the next day being even hotter. If you are staying here, maybe bring and extra fan or some other way to stay cool, because the room will be a hot when you arrive.

1  Thank NatlParkTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid-June 2013. We were in a pop up camper and were assigned to loop I (like ice cream). I can't remember the site number but we were almost all the way around the loop on the inside. It was a nice site. Sort of small compared to our state park sites in SC, but enough room you don't feel like you are on top of the neighbors. There is no electric in Canyon. We were a fair distance to the restrooms so we didn't have some of the noise/lights problems that other have had. Be sure to be specific about the size of your vehicle(s) when making your reservations. Ours fit just barely due to the tree in the back of the driveway. We did have close neighbors with small kids behind us but that was no problem. We didn't expect quiet backcountry camping here. They were nice as are most camping people. We did not have enough room on the site due to trees to put up an awning, but that was fine with us since we were there to see Yellowstone and didn't really hang out at the campsite like usual. The water was a good ways from our site. We had a jug and would just fill it up every once in a while. The bathrooms were clean. The dishwashing station does not have hot water. It is hard to wash sticky marshmellow sticks with cold water. We were very careful with the bear rules. I did not want to see a bear in my camper. We also carried bear spray anywhere we went. The park had to put a bear down the week we were there as it was coming to Canyon campground for food. We went to the ranger program one night at 9:30pm. It is nightly during the summer. It was very informative and interesting. It was cold though. Take a sweater. On our trip we had a couple really nice warm days and then some nights were in the low 30's. Take a variety of clothes and layer up. We had snow twice while there....flurries.

They also have a water fill up and sewer dump in one area of the campground. We filled up the pop up with water on our way out as we were just headed to Bridge Bay. We forgot to do it on the way in.

The showers at Canyon are nice. You have a stall and a small changing area that is private. The dirty water from other bathers will drain into your shower if you pick the one with the drain. Yuck. One lady flung a dirty sock on my mid-shower. Yuck. You get 2 free showers per day. We had 4 people so we had to buy some. They are $3.64 per day. You pay at the front and then they let you in. You get a card at check in with your free showers so you can use them anytime. They do close the shower/laundry at 9pm or so. Make sure you get there in time to get in. They won't chase you out if you make it in. The showers are unlimited in time and hot. You can also rent a towel and bathmat if needed. We used the laundry facilities there too. I think it was about $1.75 a load? They have a change machine. They also have some snacks and drinks and firewood for sale there.

The restaurant will sell sandwiches that you can take with you while touring the park. 4 sandwiches were $33. Not cheap. They were good though and they will heat them up for you if you want. They have a large gift shop at Canyon also.

Overall, this is a excellent campground with a great location. The showers were much nicer here than at Fishing Bridge. We will stay here during our entire stay next time we go to Yellowstone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MurfeeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I was there camping in the last week of May when the campsite just opened. It was not very busy at the campsite and it was still fairly cold at night. There's a quiet period between 10pm to 6am. There's shower and laundry facility. There's supermarket and restaurant closed by. It's about 40 minutes drive to Old Faithful. I will definitely go back!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed three nights in a Canyon Lodge Frontier Cabin. As the name implies, it was quite rustic with minimal amenities. However, it was very clean, and staff responded quickly to a small maintenance request. If you're planning to spend lots of time relaxing in your room, you'll probably want to cough up the money to stay in a nicer place. If, however, you'll be out from sunrise to sunset enjoying the park, this is a nice place to sleep at night. Canyon Village, itself, is wonderfully positioned in the heart of the best wildlife viewing (adjacent to Hayden Valley, and not far from Lamar Valley). We'll likely stay here again for our next visit.

Thank bdroth01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
13.3 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,205 reviews
23.9 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,012 reviews
19.7 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
23.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
764 reviews
23.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Village Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Village Campground

Address: Canyon Village, Yellowstone National Park, WY
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Number of rooms: 273
Also Known As:
Canyon Village Campground Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Canyon Campground Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing