We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canyon Village Campground
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Dunraven Lodge(Yellowstone National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Cascade Lodge(Yellowstone National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins(Yellowstone National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins(Yellowstone National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
130
118
28
8
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
118
28
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanyon villagedishwashing areagas stationfire pittent campingcentral locationbear boxfree showersvisitor centershower facilitieswash disheshayden valleyflush toiletsmain officeper dayrunning waterlodgepole pine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 292 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We moved here after camping one night in Madison (which was terrible! Don't camp there!). For accommodating so many people, they do a pretty good job spacing out sites and making you feel at least a little bit secluded. We camped in Loop A on the outer ring in a tent. It's a mixed RV/tent loop (as opposed to tents only) which means the sites are bigger but they limit the size of RV's on that loop so there were no behemoth RV's and no generators are allowed past 8pm anyway. The location is great -- right in the middle of the park.

The grocery store (the same as all the other grocery stores in Yellowstone) is pretty poor -- there is no produce and only meat that is totally frozen solid so stock up at a real grocery store outside the park before you camp here.

Room Tip: Our site on Loop A on the outer ring was nice and quiet and pretty secluded.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spacemantiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was a great campground except for you can't take a shower before 8:00 AM. We are usually gone sightseeing by 7:30 and sure don't want to waste valuable time waiting till 8. One night there was a bulldozer running until 10.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in July 2012, 2 adults, in Canyon Lodge Western Cabin. The cabin had 2 beds, a table and chairs, coffee maker, window facing the woods, modern bathroom. We loved this cabin so
much! It was quiet, spacious and just brilliant. We were very close to a walk through the woods to the Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone. Ice facilities nearby. Parking right outside the cabin. In the main village there were all the facilities you could need. A visitor centre, the general store (including great diner inside), gift shop, restaurant and cafeteria. A great place to stay when exploring the parks and we very much enjoyed our 3 nights here.

Thank travelhols11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at the lodge in Canyon Village. The room was comfortable, quiet and clean. The housekeeping was adequate. Being close to the amenities was key - easy to line up tours and eat meals at both the restaurant and cafeteria for breakfast and dinner after amazing days of hiking, touring, etc.

I highly recommend staying in this part of the park.

2  Thank Lon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed in Loop A. Overall it was a very good location. We did have a couple of nights with a screaming child a few spaces down, and some idiot used an old fashioned air raid siren in the middle of the night, but stuff like that happens.
Its a very convenient location, and we had our showers about 8 am while the showers were neither crowded nor dirty.
The sites had a good many trees and a couple of spots for a tent.
The one complaint I have and again I know its just bad luck but we were awoken 2 of our 3 nights by latecomers setting up thier tents in the middle of the night beside us(and not very quietly). We finally yelled at one of them to be quiet. Perhaps they could remind campers coming in late to respect the fact that others are trying to sleep. (They were both after 11PM).

We prepared most of our food except for the last morning. I really like the fact that you can forge for your own wood and don't have to buy it. We went down the main road 5 minutes and gathered enough wood in 10 minutes. Bring an axe or a saw there is lots of wood around. Why pay $7 for wood when you can get it for free.
If you don't feel like cooking on your last morning like us ,they have a great buffet breakfast at the Canyon Lodge for $12.50 and even includes 2 beverages.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews