We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Canyon Village Cascade Lodge” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canyon Village Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canyon Village Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Canyon Village Cascade Lodge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

We didnt stay in the campground. Canyon Village has a mix of housing options. Cabins that look a bit scary and a campground, and then 6 individual lodge buildings that are 2 stories--seem to hold about 20 or so on each floor. THis was out escape from the horros of Grant Village--a much much nicer place to stay. Cleaner, newer, better beds. Only complaint is they have a giant pole light in the parking lot, and it shines in through the wood slat blinds like a searchlight. Quiet at night, but not the best room to room insulation. We could hear our neighbors loud conversations, word for word until about 10pm, then snoring through most of the night as well. But compared to Grant, it was 5 stars! The dining room was fine--about what we expected. Very pleasant hostess and server. I had the bison raviloi--it was just fine. Hubby had the massive prime rib--hey, we had climbed a mountain that day and were famished--and he enjoyed it. A better cut than we expected, and prices seemd reasonable for the captive market. Cafeteria was closed--maybe becuase it is late in their season.
Great location in the park--pretty central and waaay less frenetic and crowded than Old Faithful. I would stay here again, or try the Lake Hotel, which is on Lake Yellowstone and has the best restaurant in the park.

Room Tip: Cabins accept pets and seemed to have lots of smokers milling around outside. And they look a bit n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank peggyandpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    111
    26
    8
    8
See reviews for
109
81
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed here for two nights of a two week camping trip. While I would say that Madison campground is much more beautiful, this was a nice campground as well, and well located for the Eastern side of the park. The sites are wooded, and we had a nice site in one of the only tent only loops. One night was our only night camping for two weeks where the neighbors were loud, but they did quiet down after 10. The showers were nice, clean, and untimed. It was nice to be camping right in a village, so that we even went out for breakfast one morning!
Yellowstone is VAST and, if you don't want to spend all your time driving, you will want to stay in multiple places as we did.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ncmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Great camping at Canyon Village. neighbors were quiet for the most part, and the shower facilities were great: $3.39 for unlimited-length shower. Hot water in the sink faucets. electrical receptacles that don't blow when a blow dryer is plugged in.

Campground has trees, no sun, and no view (except trees and other campers). Neighbors are close, but, if one is really upset about that, get a backcountry camping permit and leave the neighbors behind!

Only a "4" because no view; a bunch of lodgepole pines for "scenery" just isn't a 5 in my book.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank trappist99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights on our North American tour. We arrived on a Sunday night to a long queue at check in. However the staff were working as quickly as possible. We were assigned a pitch on Loop F which had tents and RVs on it. Being used to European campsites we were surprised at the large size of our pitch contrary to what the US/Canadian reviewers say! We also thought it was more private than we were used to since you are much further away from your neighbours than in Europe.

The showers are at check in meaning we drove to them most days and cost $3.50. You get unlimited hot water and we only queued once in the week and this was good considering the campsite was full. The showers were also very clean.

Each loop has toilets and 1 washing sink meaning we had to queue to wash our pans in ice cold water.

Firewood was $8 per box and the nights are cold so we got through at least 1 box per night. Luckily we found some downed wood which we were able to use. Later in the trip on Canadian campsites there was unlimited wood for the same price which we found to be a much better situation.

Location was excellent for exploring the park. The Canyon Village has good facilities and whilst the Canteen was slagged off in my guidebook we found it to be excellent value with large portion sizes. Admittedly it is not fine dining but the value for money makes it a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kv_wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

This isn't my favorite campground but for YNP, it's not a bad choice. We stayed in one of the a tent-only loop (D I think). The good things are its central location to other parts of YNP (distances are long and you cannot go over 40 mph on the roads and are usually going slower) and proximity to several interesting sites in the canyon area, access to hot showers, nice bathrooms and good ranger programs at night. I also thought the store at Canyon Village was pretty decent for a campground -- they even had fresh fruit available along with all the usual items, gifts, ice cream etc.

At the same time, it's not particularly private or secluded. Although there's plenty of shade, the fact that most of the vegetation is in the form of lodgepole pine means that there isn't a lot of privacy between sites. We could clearly see our neighborhoods in every direction. However, because most people are out at YNP's various sites, it was never noisy or felt crowded. However, sites near the road can hear traffic within the campground. As others have mentioned, the nights and early mornings are cold! Be sure to bring plenty of warm layers as the days can also get very warm.

The staff are also very strict about keeping a clean camp (for good reason). Twice we came back to our tent to find the tarp we had put across the front to protect against possible rain was thrown back -- I'm assuming it was from staff looking for food in our tent (there was none). However, they didn't replace the tarp and if it had rained, we would have had water in our tent and not been at all happy!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank foodie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

We just came home from a great trip in Yellowstone Park. The first 2 nights we stayed in the Canyon Cabins which were ok but it is in need of some updating. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean, but the bathroom shower stall needs replacement. The sides and bottom of the stall were peeling and very unsightly. The surrounding area is beautiful. We took 3 tours from Canyon-
The "Roosevelt Old West Cookout" -you could go by horseback or wagon to the cookout. The food was very good and they had a campfire and a cowboy singing.
The "Circle of Fire" tour was also very good and highlighted the lower loop of the park.
The last tour we took was "The Wake Up to Wildlife" which was outstanding. Our guide was Eric and he new the park well and he knew where to find wildlife. We saw bear, bison, a black wolf, elk, marmots, long horn sheep, and many more animals.
Going to Yellowstone at the end of August was a good time to go because there aren't the crowds that you would encounter in July and early Aug. All in All this trip was fantastic and highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Travel6girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed at the Canyon Village Campground last week for 4 nights. Our group was comprised of 3 families traveling together in 3 RVs. When we made reservations last March we did so for two of the families and then the third family made later reservations that the park staff said they would try to link. When we checked in, the third family was booked in a different loop but then the staff looked at the size of the other 2 sites we were given and thought we could combine- they were right and this made our stay so much nicer!
As others have said, the campground is heavily wooded (we could hear the trees clacking together in the wind) but there is not much undergrowth so you can see into other sites. Our sites were nicely sized, however some sites- for those in tents, it seems- look very exposed. We were in F-loop which included RVs and tents. If I were car camping with a tent I would definitely ask for a tent-only loop.
The Canyon Village area has a lot to offer. Besides the showers and laundry facility just down the hill from the campground there are also a number of restaurants, stores, and a very nice visitor center. The location is central to the park being on the east side of the middle portion of the figure 8 of main roads. We liked being close to the Hayden and the Lamar Valleys for wildlife viewing (the drive to the Lamar Valley takes about 40 minutes but it's gorgeous). On the day we checked in, there was a large male Mule deer in the woods across from the turn-in to our loop- he apparently liked the spot and was there all day.
Campfire wood is available at the store- expensive at $7 a box. Ice is also for sale at $3 per bag of cubed or block ice. The bathrooms were always clean. I used the shared dishwashing sink twice- bring gloves the water is ice-cold. While the weather was in the 70's during the day- we scored on the sunshine- it does get cold at night. One morning it was 34 degrees and I was grateful for the extra wool blanket we brought along.
When we return to YNP- which I am sure we will- I plan to again stay in the Canyon Village area and recommend it to all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank kmpancake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yellowstone National Park hotels
13.2 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
23.9 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
19.8 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
#1 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
25.3 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Village Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Village Campground

Property: Canyon Village Campground
Address: Canyon Village, Yellowstone National Park, WY
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Number of rooms: 273
Also Known As:
Canyon Village Campground Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Canyon Campground Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing