We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out if it's early in the season!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canyon Village Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We reserved a space in the Canyon campground for mid-June, ten days after scheduled opening. Driving into the park we encountered avalanche warnings and, indeed, the access road we came in on was closed the next day due to an avalanche. Upon arrival at the campground we found that there was still anywhere between two to ten (in drifts) feet of snow on the ground. The roads had been cleared, but many of the campsites were completely inaccessible. We were fortunate...someone had cleared our site's tent pad, table, and fire ring, but there was a long line of arriving guests complaining that their sites were buried under six feet or more of snow. All the front desk was doing was lending them a snow shovel...two shovels for 272 spaces. There was quite a waiting list. Many guests resorted to pitching their tents in the (cleared) roadway.

Also, due to bear restrictions, you are not allowed to clean your cooking pots and utensils at your campsite; you must do so in deep sinks located at the restrooms. So far so good, but...there is no hot (or even lukewarm) water! The water was ice cold...so cold that my dishwashing liquid would not dissolve; it just solidified into a plastic ribbon.

We stuck it out for two nights in the icebox, then bailed for a motel in Montana.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank steamsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 292 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2011

Our tent site was in amongst the trees with enough space between sites that we didn't feel squished. Bathrooms were clean national park standard. This is one of the best campgrounds in yellowstone that takes reservations. But the most tent friendly campgrounds are the ones with pit toilets and are first come first served.

Thank TravelerWithFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I was very impressed with Canyon Village. We stayed two nights this late August in our 23 foot motorhome. The check in process was well organized and the campsites were well maintained. Of course there were no hookups. The campsites all had a restroom and dish cleaning sink. Everything was clean and in working order. The laundromat was the best one we every used. The machines were all new looking and worked perfectly. We were able to use four machines at the same time. There were so many machines and my wife took a shower in the same site while she was waiting for the clothes to dry. The grocery store was very well stocked and had a much bigger selection that all the other stores in yellowstone. Believe me we went to almost all of them. I wouldn't have had to dive out the park if I would have known this. The general store had loads of great merchandise and even had a soda fountain and restaurant. We also stayed at Madison, Mammoth & Grant. Xanterra reservation service is well organized and very helpful as well.

4  Thank lsobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Our family of four stayed four nights at Canyon Village Campground.

This is a popular area of the park, due to its central location and proximity to Grand Canyon of Yellowstone. As a result, this is a big, busy campground with many loops, roads, and speedbumps.

We stayed in Loop K, which feels relatively private but is at least 1/2 mile from most campground facilities. As a result, we had to drive to evening ranger talks, showers, and so on. That was inconvenient.

Our campsite was nice - larger than expected and with no one on back side. The bathroom was decent, and seemed to be cleaned more often than most campground bathrooms.

If you are looking for a convenient location with access to amenities, Canyon Village is a good choice. If you want a private, nature-filled atmosphere, you'll be happier somewhere else.

Be sure to make reservations early if you want to stay here. Back in April, I tried to adjust my reservation by one day, and was unable to do so because every site was filled all summer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brewbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We stayed at Canyon Campground in site 82 of the I loop. Our site was huge and totally shaded. Although this is a huge campground with over 350 sites, it was very quiet. It was nice having the showers and laundry available-- showers were $3.25 for unlimited time, very clean. They have a really nice Visitor Center with info about the history of Yellowstone. There was cute bunny that hung out near our campsite.
Word of caution- they heavily enforce the "bear" rules. This was our first time camping in bear country. We did our very best with the obvious-- keeping food, grill and coolers in the car. We got back to our campsite one day to find a "warning note" on the door of our tent trailer. We had left a broom outside our tent, as well as the tablecloth on our picnic table. Whoever came by also had looked INSIDE our tent trailer, and noted that we had a wash basin out. Without a bear box on our site, we had no room in our car to put all this stuff-- ie pots, pans, cooking utensils, etc. I understand the necessity to prevent bear encounters, but it gets down to a practical standpoint.... they need to put a bear box on every site if they want people to follow all the rules.
Only thing I was a bit dissapointed in is that, with the campground being so large, there was really no place in reasonable distance to walk to with kids... even the showers were almost 3/4 mile from our site. There are gorgeous hiking trails in the canyon area, but you have to drive to get there.
We checked in early afternoon and had no line. The staff were very friendly.
If I ever return to Yellowstone, I would definitely camp here again, but would not mind trying out the smaller campgrounds and sacrificing some of the amenities. Oh, by the way, our Sprint cell phones worked fine in the campground.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mkelch10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We spent two nights tent camping at Canyon Village in Yellowstone earlier this month. Despite nighttime temperatures in the mid-30's and some rain at night, we had a fantastic time. The tent site we had was very nice, lots of trees around and fairly spacious (except you can only have a maximum 12'x12' tent). The bathroom was clean and more than adequate. The park ranger was very nice, advising us to be sure and follow bear-safe camping techniques as there was a grizzly spotted within 1/4 mile the first evening! The amenities of the campground included laundry and a pay shower facility ($3), both of which were very large and well kept. They had a mini market, a little restaurant, and several shops nearby, too.

Yellowstone itself is amazing, what a gorgeous display of God's handiwork! The spectacular landscapes and abundant wildlife were unforgettable. My only regret is that we did not have another several days to spend there. Oh well, that gives us a reason to go back someday!

2  Thank Crusader55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We rented a Canyon Village Frontier cabin June 15, 2010---I have to admit they do look pretty sad. ( I called it the Homeless Shelter) But to my suprise the cabin was very clean. The heater worked great, plenty of hot water for shower. Clean towels every day if needed. Great central location we had black bear, buffalos,and anteolpes just around or cabin----to see Yellowstone and stay in the park---was just perfect.

3  Thank SHORTIE001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
13.3 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,200 reviews
23.9 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,011 reviews
19.7 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
23.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
763 reviews
23.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Village Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Village Campground

Address: Canyon Village, Yellowstone National Park, WY
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Number of rooms: 273
Also Known As:
Canyon Village Campground Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Canyon Campground Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing