We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent federal campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indian Creek Campground
ND
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent federal campground”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We camped in an 5th wheel so we were limited, there are only a few sites made to handle our camper. No generators, which is great because it is quiet. All the sites we saw and the one we used were fairly level, asphalt pads. There were bear boxes, picnic table, and fire ring in each site which is nice. This campground is first come, so we got there very early and it filled early every day. The campground hosts were all very friendly and helpful, we saw them driving through the grounds several times throughout the day and night.

Room Tip: Get there very early because the first come campgrounds fill up quick. No generator so be prepared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank highmarked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have found some of the most private campsites at Indian Creek.

The hiking out the proverbial back door is magnificent. There are a number of beautiful trails along the creek and around the campground. The wetlands along the creek are a birder's paradise. But the gem of a hike is Big Horn trail which opens into amazing views of the Gallatin range and goes along the meandering Indian Creek through meadows.

During my last visit, I was surprised to wake in to the full moon howling of wolves right outside the campground!

Indian Creek is away from all the major centers in the park, which I love.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank denalicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We camped at this little gem with our grand-daughters for a week last summer and we all fell in love with this place. The camp ground is perfectly suited for tent and small pop-up camper type camping. It has 71 sites and is primitive. That means vault toilets and drinking water only. Showers (along with stores and other amenities) can be found at Mammoth Hot Spring about 8 miles away. Best of all Indian Creek is GENERATOR FREE! That means that most of the annoying folks who feel it necessary to impose their brand of noise pollution on the great outdoors and their neighbors around them can congregate together else where.

Indian Creek campground is located mid-way between Mammoth and Norris, near Sheepeater Cliff, in the northwest quadrant of the Park. It is a remote and beautiful section of the park away from the crazy and chaotic "Disneyland" atmosphere surrounding Old Faithful. It is quiet and peaceful.

It is nestled near the junction of Obsidian and Indian Creeks where they join to form the Gardiner River. This area provides excellent fishing opportunities. There are numerous hiking trails around the campground and we went on daily wildlife watching bicycle trips with the grand-daughters along the near by Winter Creek.

Like every where in bear country there are important bear safeguard measures in place regarding food storage. Be prepared to read, understand, and follow these required measures for your safety and peace of mind.

This CG is first come first served and takes no reservations so plan accordingly. We had no trouble getting a place during prime July season but we did get there in the morning. There are some CG hosts to check you in and help with general questions. There is also firewood sales. The vault toilets were kept immaculately clean while we were there.

This campground seems to embody the spirit of the National Park to me. If you are looking to get away from the crowds and would rather experience beauty, solitude, and nature this is a great place to camp. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
32 Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed three nights in campground- we heard wolves or coyotes in the night, amazing view of stars, quiet- no loud rvs and close to beautiful creek. Really a special place.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Trailmamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

I first found this campground as an escaped college student in 1966- fantastic setting with large and small wildlife all around, also a sense of former people who lived in the area- the Shoshone tribe and mid-1800's railroad camps. The hiking around the area is relaxing and fun, for example, on the north side of the Gardiner River around the famous Sheepeater Cliff site, The best part awaits you at the end of the day- no RV generators allowed, a nice campfire and warm sleeping bag for that well exercised body! This is my favorite campground of all time- fantastic!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
17 Thank KeysSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

With the exception of Slough Creek Campground, Indian Creek is the 2nd best campground in Yellowstone and a very close 2nd at that. It was quiet and your neighbors aren't stacked up right next to you. Indian Creek is a primitive campground so only water faucets, vault toilets and no showers but we dont mind. We showered at the Mammoth Inn which is only about 10 minutes max north of the campground. Norris, Madison and Old Faithful arent too far to the south and Mammoth-Hot Springs is just to the north. Swan Lake Flats is very close by where we got to see a mama Grizzly with 4 cubs. Bison and Elk are abundant and close by. The rangers working were friendly, courteous and very helpful. We were startled to hear gun shots from close by though. A ranger came to warn us that they were hazzing a Grizzly that had ventured a little too close to the campground so remember bear safety and awareness when staying here. Enjoyed our stay at Indian Creek and I think from now on, our annaul trips to Yellowstone will be spent at Indian Creek & Slough Creek Campgrounds.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank jcz1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

The campground was so nice and quiet and not even close to close even on the weekends. almost every site offered great privacy as the whole campground is wooded. Camp Host was friendly and informative. ***Great campground for tent campers.*** We heard coyotes every night but on the second night we were there we also got to hear a small group of wolves there was near by. Several campers even got up before day break and were able to spot them and watch them from a distance before they moved off again. Showers are a mere 10 min drive to Mammoth, and while you are close to Mammoth Hot Springs you are also close to Norris Geyser Basin, tons of hiking, plenty of fishing, wildlife spotting and photographic opportunities. The best deal in America to see North Yellowstone for $12 a night. Of course with the cheaper fees means only pit toilets but at least they were clean and every other day the staff would come around and add some chemicals in them which would help the smell always associated with pit toilets. We will returning this is nice camp spot in the future, because of the economy we were unsure whether we could afford a camping trip anywhere this year - but this nice quiet inexpensive primitive campground saved our wedding anniversary - thank you Yellowstone!

I don't recommend this site for RVs there was only realistically 3 or 4 spots where a camper/rv would fit and be easy to park well and they were taken and generators are not allowed at all. We have a camper at home and if we would've brought it instead we would've stayed at Mammoth Campground as it is much more well suited for RVs. If you do happen to have a truck camper and have no need to run your generator this would be an ideal campground though.

Also I wish the "Ranger Talks" were offered at this campground - but we were told because of budget cuts Indian no longer hosts the evening Ranger Talks. Because of this most folks with kids stayed at other campgrounds that offered them. However I rather enjoyed the lack of children.

Also it is important to note that if you are tent camping all of your food will need to be stored in your car or a bear box. If it is warm outside it will be hot in your car, if you store your food in a hot car - you will need to plan trips to Mammoth or another area of the park to get ice daily.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank Lostfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
0.1 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,973 reviews
32.9 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,042 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
735 reviews
41.1 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
936 reviews
14.6 mi away
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
#2 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Creek Campground

Property: Indian Creek Campground
Address: Norris-Mammoth Road, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Indian Creek Campground Hotel Yellowstone National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing