We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic with a Capital "B"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grant Village Lodge
GreenLeadersGold level
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Basic with a Capital "B"”
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Staying here was like church camp or a retreat. Very basic. No TV, only double beds, very little insulation between floors, need I say more. I would not stay here again but it was the only option when we made our reservations. The saving grace was that we had 8 female elk and a bull elk come right through our lodge area the first night we were there. I stood no further than 2 car lengths from the bull elk. That was awesome.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idimport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    245
    409
    153
    72
See reviews for
340
382
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

There's a store and a restaurant nearby. Also, the lodge is not very far from the Old Faithful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ubck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We stayed one night. Thought it was just fine. Pricey, but so is everything else in Yellowstone. The room was very clean and comfortable, easy walking distance to restaurant and stores. Nicely stocked bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happiness4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

The location of this facility is fantastic if you want to cover both Yellowstone and Grand Teton. The rooms are fairly OK with basic amenities like coffee maker, bath tub. The facility also has an adjacent Laundry facility which is quite useful if you are on a week's holiday. There are 2 restaurants and a grill nearby. Being vegetarians we did not have many options besides the mandatory burger !! The shopping 'centre' is quite good and seemed to be one of the biggest ones within the Yellowstone park.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostwithoutGPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

Take a run down college dorm-type building, insert a "lobby" which consists of two old couches, an ice machine, and two vending machines, hang bad 1970s era art in the rooms, add a funky smell that follows you everywhere, charge $150 per night and voila! you have the Grant Village Lodge. This place is a nightmare, pure and simple. If it were located anywhere else it would be half empty if rooms were $19 a night.

Its saving grace is, of course, its location and that plus cannot be ignored. Grant Village served as a great base to explore southern Yellowstone and all of Grand Teton. If you're up to the challenge and decide to stay here then start your days early and make them long because you won't want to be at the Grant Village Lodge any longer than you absolutely need to be. As for me, next time I'll stay further away and drive a little longer just to avoid ever seeing this monstrosity again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirby3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yellowstone National Park hotels

West Windsor, NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

The Grant Village is the blandest, most uninspiring place to stay in Yellowstone Park (we stayed in the D building). It's also expensive (paid over 150/night) for a ho-hum motel-style room. It's got a coffee maker and a bath with a shower. Having said that, there aren't alot of choices inside the Park, so if this is enroute for you and you don't want to camp, it's pretty convenient. Considering that we were out hiking all day and used it as primarily as a place to crash, it was fine.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N&YinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

The rooms are just beds and a bathroom/shower. They are clean but there is nothing else available for you. No TV, no internet, no other furniture or service. Location is pretty good but after a long day at yellowstone you would expect some comfort. I would recommend if you want clean, good location and fairly Ok price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franciscain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yellowstone National Park hotels
13.4 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
989 reviews
41.1 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,962 reviews
14.6 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
#1 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
964 reviews
14.5 mi away
Lake Lodge Cabins
Lake Lodge Cabins
#6 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
723 reviews
14.3 mi away
Old Faithful Lodge Cabins
Old Faithful Lodge Cabins
#7 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Village Lodge

Property: Grant Village Lodge
Address: Old Faithful Bypass Road, Yellowstone Lake, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grant Village Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grant Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Village Hotel Yellowstone National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing