We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good But Small and Old”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grant Village Lodge
GreenLeadersGold level
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good But Small and Old”
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We booked 2 nights back in June. The grounds are very nice, with walking access to site resturants store and gift shop. Also it is central, so it is great base camp. The area and hotel felt like I was in the 70's. I was traveling with my wife and 2 girls (late teens). The room was small with a very small bathroom. No TV or internet, and my cell didnt work. But to me that is a good thing! If this room was anywhere else you would pay $60 a night but here it is $160 a night. But supply and demand. If I was to go back I would stay here again as it is just a place to sleep. Just don't expect much.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bedsand price for small room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank teltim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    245
    409
    153
    72
See reviews for
340
382
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tiptree, England
Level Contributor
165 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

I had booked this stay first of all of our Yellowstone accomodation just to have at least one night in the park. I am really glad it wasn't our only stay in the park.

The check in staff were very friendly. The room was a mid priced room and I would not like to see a basic one. It had 2 queens, a hanging area for clothes, a quite tiny bathroom with only a shower and a kind of box shelf on the wall opposite the beds.

I think the location in the park is about all it has going for it here.

  • Liked — location in the park
  • Disliked — The very basic room at not a basic price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yellowstone National Park hotels

Reno NV
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

We stayed here after three nights in Canyon - so compared to the Pioneer cabins the motel accomodations at this site are good. If we had to do it over again we would of just stayed one more night at Canyon or continued on to the Grand Tetons considering the price difference.

We stayed in the high range room - and for the $5.00 difference I think it was well worth it because the other party we were traveling with stayed in the mid range and the difference was our room was slightly updated and the bathroom had a full tub and a new sink. The room was clean and had a fan in it. We never heard any of our neighbors and slept pretty soundly. Check in was friendly and fast - we ate at the restaurant that served pizza - I was very surprised but the pizza was actually pretty good considering you are in a national park and the price was reasonable.

The bugs were crazy when we were there so bring bug spray!!

All in all this would of been an o.k location but we had already done the activities that were close by and this location did not offer any water activites so our time would of been better spent elswhere - I preferred the location of Canyon.

  • Liked — The fan
  • Disliked — Rooms were small
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DakotaNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We had a great stay at Grant Village. We were in building F. The room was very nice. The only thing we did not like was that the beds were doubles-we prefer queens or kings. But the beds were comfortable. The room was well laid out and had great lighting. It was clean-which is important to us-especially after our last stay in Gardiner. There was a desk area built into the wall next to the window that our daughter loved and claimed for herself. There was a long bench along the wall to sit on or put suitcases on. We had 2 double beds and a night stand in between them. There was also a fan to use if the room was too warm. We loved it and would definitely stay there again!

  • Liked — The layout of the room with the long bench and the built in desk
  • Disliked — Double beds as opposed to queen or king beds
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragon28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

Cramped for 4 people (2 adults, 2 adult-sized teens). Bathroom too small. Beds were HARD. Decor screams 1980's. I brought my own coffee to use in the coffee maker provided. After the first day, the cleaning staff had the nerve to put their coffee products into the filter portion of the coffee maker--a hint, perhaps? Small children could be heard running up and down the hallways, though they generally stopped after about 9:00pm. There are few options in the park. Beware when making reservations. Family & I did not sleep much for 3 nights, due to the hard beds. Not recommended, unless you like dorm-like accommodations at a premium price.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hard beds. Cramped room.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2008

My family recently stayed here on a trip to Yellowstone. We were travelling by car and planning to enter the park from the south, so this was an ideal location for us.

The best attribute of this property is its location inside the park. The room was a comfortable (note - no TV or Internet) and very clean motor-lodge like room. The bathroom was very small - we only had a shower, no tub.

We paid around $175 for a "hi-range" room. If you encountered this room at a roadside motel along an interstate, it would go for at least $100 less, but like I said, location and time of year here is key.

Bottom line is that it beat having to drive out of the park for a one-night stay, plus the two nearby restaurants have good food and good views, so for us it was money well-spent.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markw89311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2008

After several wonderful days elsewhere in Yellowstone, we wanted to stay one more day, so took the only room available - at Grant Village. In hindsite, we should have kept going.

The building was built in the 80's and remodeled in 2004 - but you can't tell. The decor is still dated and the hallways dirty. The walls were thin enough to hear the tourbus party going on several doors down.

We ate at the Lake House - the pizza was adequate but the building had odd acoustics. Each time the pizza fan went on it shook the building, almost feeling like we were on a ship that was docking.

Construction was going on, and walking paths were blocked so we ended up taking long detours through bug infested woods. All in all, we would have been better to leave Yellowstone and skip this spot.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cubcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yellowstone National Park hotels
13.4 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
989 reviews
41.1 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,962 reviews
14.6 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
#1 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
964 reviews
14.5 mi away
Lake Lodge Cabins
Lake Lodge Cabins
#6 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
723 reviews
14.3 mi away
Old Faithful Lodge Cabins
Old Faithful Lodge Cabins
#7 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Village Lodge

Property: Grant Village Lodge
Address: Old Faithful Bypass Road, Yellowstone Lake, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grant Village Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Grant Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Village Hotel Yellowstone National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing