We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early September 2013 stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grant Village Lodge
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed for two nights in early September as part of a four night visit to YNP.

£352.00 for 2 x Double room, this was all that was available to reserve when I was booking accomodation even though there were only 2 of us staying.

Think we stayed in Lodge F

Not as nice or as new as Canyon Village Lodges but you are paying for the convenience of staying within the park. Room was ok, lets be honest you only want a room to sleep and shower in whilst at YNP and the beds were comfortable.

Staff at the main Visitor Centre were helpful and we enjoyed our stay, dining options are limited to the Lakehouse Pub / Cafe style, the Grocery Store and the Grant Village Dining Room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AHWBeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,013)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

Sure this place has the feel and character of a glorified motel but we were glad to be staying within the park and not outside.
The room was clean and comfortable and an ok value all around.
The meals at the restaurant right on the lake were reasonably priced and more than decent quality. The close proximity to the visitors center, the lake, and various othere sites and amenities all contributed to our happiness at staying here. Our room was also quite quiet despite more than a few car horns beeping their confirmation that the car doors were locked!!
The lodge location allowed us to walk with a flashlight in 5 minutes to the shore of the lake one evening and on a clear night delight in the breathtaking views of the stars and heavens!
WOW! What a memory!

Room Tip: For a quiet room ask for a lodge that doesn't face the car parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Not as bad as other reviews suggest. Yes, it's expensive and has no internet or TV, but you are staying in Yellowstone. The room was clean and similar to our cabin in Canyon, other than having double beds and being in a two-storey complex with more rooms. Grant Village is further from the main Yellowstone sights than other park accomodation, but is convenient if you travel through Grand Teton NP the day before or after your overnight stay. There's not much at Grant Village other than the store and restaurant. Be sure to make a reservation for dinner, or you could be stuck with food and drink from the vending machine.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank mifinkeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour group and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean and adequately comfortable. There is no air conditioning but there was a circulating fan in the room which helped with the musty smell in the room. We had a visit from a now deceased spider and also from a now deceased flying thing but otherwise the wildlife was outside and beautiful to see. The restaurant nearby is very good and the food is very nice. We were served by a trainee, McKenzie, who is probably a whole lot better by now, but we are still waiting for our change from the bill (only a small amount thankfully). Make sure you make a reservation otherwise you may be waiting a while and the bar is small and reasonably expensive. Enjoy a walk down to the lake which is wonderful though quite steep. We enjoyed the time without TV or phone and would recommend this if it back to nature that you are after.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank longtimetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I wanted to stay in the park, and by the time we made reservations, the only rooms left were in Grant Village. I did not hear great things about this site, but decided I was only there to sleep. While it is pretty basic, the room was a reasonable size and it is one of the few places in the park with cell and internet service (BIG PLUS). Linens were acceptable and room was cleaned each day. All the dining facilites in Grant Village (each lodge area has several restaurants) were fine. General store had good gift shop, grocery and grill. There was a gas station and post office as well. While the Old Faithful Inn certainly has more appeal, it also has more in the way of crowds and noise. If you're okay with a basic motel atmosphere, I would certainly recommend Grant Village.

Room Tip: Grant Village is one of the few places in the park that has cell service and offers internet access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shiloh62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a very basic government run (that should give you an idea) "lodge". The room are less than Spartan, just short of austere. My USAF barracks has more amenities. For get no TV in the room (cell) there was not even a dresser to place your clothes into. The main restaurant was over priced and the food less than average. MRE's would be better. At $170 for a room (cell) is was beyond overpriced.

Room Tip: Don't skip this place or camp out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RollsBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We,d read such bad things about this place that it was a nice surprise to find that the rooms are quite good......not wonderful, but adequate, and everything is clean and pleasant. Can,t see why this accommodation rates last in Yellowstone...the other five must be great, because this was OK! Don,t be put off, because the location is good, and the views from the lakeside cafe are sensational too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jandghubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
13.4 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,211 reviews
41.1 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,065 reviews
24.0 mi away
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
#2 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Fla...
#8 of 16 in Grand Teton National Park
577 reviews
36.7 mi away
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
#1 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
368 reviews
14.5 mi away
Lake Lodge Cabins
Lake Lodge Cabins
#6 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Village Lodge

Address: Old Faithful Bypass Road, Yellowstone Lake, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range: $385 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grant Village Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grant Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Village Hotel Yellowstone National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing