We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable accommodation at great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grant Village Lodge
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here three nights. We were assigned a room on the second floor of unit A. This unit was closest to the Dining Room. Other units that are close are B and F. Our room had two comfortable double beds. The shower space very tight even for one person. We had to make reservation for dinner at the Dining Room each night. The location was central to touring the Old Faithful and Jackson Lake. It was also close to Grand Teton where we went next for visit. Staff was friendly. We had a great stay!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJB4041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Traveled with two adults and kids ages 10 and 5. We spent a week at Yellowstone in mid-June and debated about where to stay. We didn't want to camp for a full week. Driving distances from attractions can be long, especially after being in the car for a couple of days getting there. But we decided it was better to stay in one place rather than check in and out of hotels/lodges/cabins every couple of days.

ROOMS - We stayed in Grant Village, Lodge C. It's very quiet there. None of the lodges there are on Yellowstone lake or have lake views. There are trees between the lodges and the restaurant and visitor center which are close to the lake. Overall the lodge feels like a Motel 6. Nothing fancy, just a small room with a couple of fairly comfortable queen beds and a small bathroom with a shower. No internet or TV so you really get to experience life unconnected. The room was $183/night with tax, but it's the only option besides camping.

There is a small, sparsely furnished lounge on the first floor with a table and chairs and a sofa. It's not a very comfortable place to hang out but there's little space in the rooms and after a few days of togetherness, we needed a break during rainy periods. There's only so much souvenir shopping you can do. The bathrooms come with soap, shampoo and body wash in large (attached) refillable containers. There's also a cute bear soap on the wash basin.

Beware of the unpaid gift on your bed when you arrive - a stuffed bear and advertisement for the Yellowstone Foundation. We put it up on the coat rack and hoped the kids didn't see it (they did and begged to have it). There was a coat rack and a place to put two suitcases. The other luggage went on the floor. There is a fan and hairdryer as well and a Keurig with 6 single servings of coffee, decaf and tea.

We thought of something we could have used - a set of strong magnets to hang wet items in front of the metal heater vents to dry. The bathroom has a couple of hooks for towels in addition to the towel bar, but not nearly enough drying space for four towels, swimsuits and wet clothes. We used the hangers on the coat rack for additional drying space. The toilet top is the only place for toiletries, not even a hanging hook. The bathrooms could use a shelf and some hooks there.

The lodge and entire campus could use some benches near each lodge and by the water. There aren't many places to linger outside and take in the beauty of the place. Bring camp chairs and you'll be set. The general store was about a third-mile away and serves meals and has groceries and camping supplies.

DINING in the cafeteria was OK. Lots of fried items, burgers, sandwiches. Entrees were $8-14. We opted out of breakfast there and went to the general store. We saved about $5 per meal since the cafeteria was buffet only for $12/adults. They could use some noodle bowls or similar dishes for variety. We got sandwiches and fruit at the store for some meals. There's a decent variety of deli and fresh items at all the stores.

WEATHER - bring warm clothes! It gets cold at night and takes a while to warm up in the morning. The forecast was for 70s before we left and was only in the 50s some days. The wind blows constantly and it's usually chilly. Rains come and go.

BRING - clothing layers, hiking boots, binoculars/spotting scope, rain gear, warm clothing, coats, life jackets for swimming, rainy day activities

THINGS TO DO
--Firehole swimming area south of Madison (info on the Ystone website). A wonderful adventure. Water is 15 ft. deep in the fairly swift channel. Wear life jackets and enjoy the ride. The area is just off the main road but it's a one-way. You need to drive two miles south on Firehole Canyon Drive to get to it. It doesn't say that on the website.
--Old Faithful lodge is beautiful and very busy. Lots of traffic and people around if you like that sort of thing. There's also a snack/ice cream shop and other amenities at the lodge and very close by. Upstairs the deck faces Old Faithful. We sat in the front bench, gave the kids their electronic toys and some ice cream and enjoyed a two-hour vacation for mom and dad.
--Wildlife encounter tour. We did the evening tour (who wants to leave for a tour at 6 AM?) Our guide Rob was fabulous. We enjoyed his stories, the ride in the antique yellow bus and the fantastic range of animals we saw: two grizzlies, two black bears, eagles and their chicks in the nest, osprey nest, coyote and pups outside their den, pronghorn, deer, elk and bison. We would not have seen most of it outside of the tour. Totally worth the money. Didn't get back to our room until nearly 10 PM.
--Stagecoach ride and chuck wagon feed at Roosevelt. Great entertainment and a great steak dinner. Fun for the kids but another late night. Maybe a room at the cabins there would have been better.
--Old Faithful Inn dinner. The decor is quaint even though the view is of the parking lot. Food was good. Entrees are $15-30 and a better variety than other restaurants. We had the buffet ($28/adults, $12/kids). Prime rib, veggies, salad. Skip the trout. It's dry and not terribly tasty.
--And the usual stuff: mudpots, geysers, Grand Canyon, etc. There were no moose in the park but we saw a cow and calf just outside the east entrance. We were told most were south in Teton. Maybe the grass is better there.

We made the reservation a year in advance. Rooms, meal and activity reservations fill up early. All the staff we met at the dining halls, stores and visitor centers were very helpful and considerate. Good job, Yellowstone! It was a refreshing change from other vacations.

Room Tip: Grant Village is quiet and close to West Thumb geysers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank travelingwithkidd0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is the second worst room I have ever stayed in. The bathroom had mold on the ceiling, toilet had hairline cracks, smelled like urine, and fan didn't work properly due to dust and dirt. The room had a curry funk to it and the light fixtures needed some serious dusting. Beds were clean and were okay to sleep on, but my husband complained of back aches. If you have gadgets to plug in, there are ONLY 5 outlets. There is no A/C, yet they furnish you with a dusty fan, so beware if you have allergies. They say you cannot cook in your rooms, yet the floor we stayed in smell of curry. We named it curry alley! There's NOT enough parking at lodge A, so just park where the buses are supposed to park. I figure with the $200 you're spending, the buses can find some other place to park. They use keys for their rooms, NOT cards..which doesn't make me feel too safe. No cards or keys needed to enter the buildings..not safe. Pros-decent soaps and shampoos for your stay. Not impressed for what we spent..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moomoo_mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had seen some surprisingly poor reviews for this lodge before traveling there, and all I can say is that we had the opposite experience. From the reservation people who responded quickly, cheerfully and helpfully to our emails verifying dates to the housekeeping and check-in staff who were professional and polite, we had nothing but great interactions with all of the folks working there.
The rooms are rooms, nothing special and not historic like in the old part of the Old Faithful lodge, for instance, but bright, clean, airy and comfortable. We never heard our neighbors through the walls or floor, though we know that the lodge was full.
The location was good for being able to get to the various parts of the park, though it has to be understood that Yellowstone is larger than some states and there will be a good deal of driving to see its sights no matter what you do.
All in all, we would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Lksegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Not as central as venues in Canyon village, not historic as classic lodges in the Park.
But, Grant Village has full services. Buildings are "modern" but clean and very well maintained.
The front desk ( a separate building deserving the 6 X 50 Rooms buildings) is very efficient: they had both our room and restaurant reservation although we made them on separate time and through different access.
The dining room is a real surprise. Really busy even early june. Great choices, everything is perfectly cooked even through the large room is fully packed. We we're quite impress to eat crunchy and warm vegetables with probably an hundred persons having dinner. Fishes and meat plates are sure values. Gluten free choices are available.
The small bar is pleasant.
Honestly, you can't find services as good as these in many "remote" national Parks. Don't hesitate to choose it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pierre d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Would not have stayed here except we wanted to stay in Yellowstone and this was the only lodging available inside the park. I think this property might work well for young people who are used to a dorm experience, not expecting any extra amenities, and it's probably affordable if splitting room cost among 3-4 people. Otherwise, for everyone else, this is not a good choice - the property is dated, doesn't look well maintained, and the rooms are very stark. Not even very rustic, just extremely basic. (except for the Keurig coffee maker which seemed out of place). Also, not really much to do in this village compared to the other villages in the park, so as it turns out we would have been better off staying outside the park in a different location. The restaurants were okay - the service was spotty and the food was just average, nothing horrible, but not memorable. Having stayed in lodging in 6 other NPs on this trip, Grant Village Lodge was clearly the worst choice for us, but having said that, it was also the cheapest choice - so if you are on a limited budget and don't mind just having the basics, this could work for you. The star of the show is Yellowstone itself, and everyone gets to enjoy that treasure regardless of where you're staying!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromlandwherepigsfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

The location is great but unfortunately that is the best thing about the property. Very dirty rooms and bathroom and the beds are like sleeping on concrete. Maybe I just expected more since paying over $200 a night

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wvuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
13.4 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,215 reviews
41.1 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,082 reviews
20.5 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Fla...
#7 of 16 in Grand Teton National Park
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Lake Lodge Cabins
Lake Lodge Cabins
#6 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
775 reviews
36.7 mi away
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
#1 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
371 reviews
14.6 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Village Lodge

Address: Old Faithful Bypass Road, Yellowstone Lake, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range: $386 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grant Village Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grant Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Village Hotel Yellowstone National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing