We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant and fun enviroment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Lamont, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very pleasant and fun enviroment”
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Old hotel but very interesting. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. We were on the first floor with a hugh window. They have no air conditioning so we had the window open. Just outside our window was a family of american Pika. After a rain they were all outside their den trying to get dry. they were wo neat to watch. Each evening the Elk came down from the hills and wandered around the grounds, then they bedded down on the front lawn. We sat on the porch drinking coffee and watching them. The hotel had a very nice gift shop. Each evening they had an interesting speaker. The night we were there they spoke on the history of the hotel. There was no in room coffee but they do have a coffee bar in the lobby. The staff was very helpful in response to any questions we had on the area. We loved our stay and would like to go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dobroplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    803
    523
    172
    53
See reviews for
716
835
55
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Had a free standing cabin with bath. Very clean, neat, comfortable, convenient. Think it was room 129. Great views, quiet, felt quite safe.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaraSuung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We couldn't find anywhere else to stay in yellowstone so we went with the ONLY place available at a hefty $439/night. We had NO idea this was 3 hours from the south entrance before I booked it, by then they had my deposit. We stayed in room 300 and talk about "no frills". It was like the hotel in "The Shining". We stayed in what they called a 2 bedroom suite:a bedroom with 2 queens plus a living room with nice furniture of which a chaise has a trundle bed that pulls out. Linens & bedding was very nice, toiletry items nice & generous, nice robes but very small shower & liner was molded. Now COME ON, how much could that cost to replace? We had a wonderful goodie bag that was a nice touch. Staff very friendly/helpful. Other option on site was a 20x20 building you walk outside to use community restroom for all "cabins" quoted $111/night. Elk come down & munch on bushes/grass. Don't get buffet in restaurant. $11+ & lame!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momofthe3Cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox River Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
339 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We spent two nights at the Canyon Lodge pioneer cabins. The location can't be beat: it's in the middle of Yellowstone, giving excellent access to the upper and lower portions of the figure eight loop. Note that these are very basic, no frills accomodations; its pretty much one step up from camping. Rooms were clean, though ours smelled a little musty, and beds were comfortable. At just $70/night, we thought the rate could not be beat unless one camps. The biggest down side is that walls are thin so you hear your neighbors, especially if they do not follow the common courtesy of quiet hours from 10 p - 6 am at least. The cabins have a "tired" appearance, especially from the outside. I am usually into a bit more luxury but chose this because of location & to save a few $$ to splurge elsewhere on the trip. I would do it again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

If you are staying in Yellowstone NP, don't expect luxury, but the Canyon Lodge is among the nicer places to stay. The rooms are basic - a bed, a desk and a chair. No TV, air conditioning or other luxurious trappings. This is fine - after all, you are trying to get away from it all. If you are like most, you will be out and about in the park all day long anyway. It was a very welcome change not knowing what was going on in the world for the 5 days that we were in the park. No TV, no Internet, no radio, no cellphones, are all things that take some getting used to, but I really enjoyed not being "tuned in" for close to a week..

The Canyon Lodge, as are most accomodations in the park, are overpriced. While the Canyon Lodge was nice, I don't think it was worth $180+ per night. But you don't have much of a choice. On one of the nights we were there in late June, there was a 12 hour blackout, which apparantly is not that unusual. As a result, the hot water for the shower was limited. This was my only major complaint.

The Canyon location is convenient to most areas of the park, although Old Faithful is a bit far given the road closures in the Madison area. I think the East side of the park, where Canyon is located, is the better on the two halves. Mt. Washburn is a short drive and the Lamar Valley (the pretiset section in my opinion) is just beyond that to the northeast. The Lake district and Hayden Valley, in the other direction, are also close by. Of course Canyon is right next to the Grand Canyon area..

We ate at the cafetria one day in Canyon, but I do not recommend it. The food was salty and tasteless. We shopped before we arrived and used a styrofoam cooler to keep coldcuts cool for sanwiches. This is defintely the way to go. Also consider going on the cookout in Roosevelt. This is a lot of fun.

If you have time, I suggest taking a ranger tour from the lower falls area at 9am. Its a bit long at 2.5 hrs, but very enjoyable. Also, consider waking up before dawn at least once and getting out into the park at sunrise. You'll have the place mostly to yourself and the wildlife are often active. We did this one day in Slough Valley, where we saw wolves in the distance.

In my opinion, to fully appreciate Yellowstone, you need to stay a minimum of 5 days. Even at that, you will still struggle to see everything at a lesurely pace - that would take more than one week. Enjoy your adventure!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We stayed in a Canyon Western Cabin for the first night of a four night vacation in Yellowstone.
The Canyon area was one of my favorite areas, along with the Lake area because it was much less crowded and there is an abundance of wildlife. Our cabin was an end unit that was part of a 6 unit block. It was very spacious and clean with 2 queen beds and a full bath. We had a view of the woods leading to the meadow. I really liked the fact that the unit had a regular coffee maker(not a Keurig) with choices of coffee, tea, and spice tea. It was chilly in the morning, so I turned on the heater and the roomed warmed up quickly.
The only problems were the abundance of mosquitos in the area that swarmed us as we unloaded our car, and the power being out for about 2 1/2 hours after our arrival. Eating in the Cafeteria in the dark with no heaters warming the food was a concern. Even so I would stay at Canyon again if i visited Yellowstone. I might try to book enough in advance to get one of the less expensive cabins though.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank micki4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Althought the location is the reason that we intially decided to stay at the inn, the facilities themselves look and feel like something out of the brady bunch. The rooms had no tv, while not a concern for me, but I think my two small children would disagree. The bugs almost carried us away and it was unbearable to go outside after dusk. The food in the restuarant was less than memorable and the power went out during the dinner service. I know, I know we were in the middle of Yellowstone National Park surrounded by some of the natural beauty, but I wasn't taken away. They also changed the rate on us after we prepaid. Not a problem if they had only told us when we checked in.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jshetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
32.9 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
41.1 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
36.3 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins

Property: Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Address: 1 Grand Loop, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel And Cabins
Hotel Mammoth Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing