We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stark accommodations inside, Incredible beauty outside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
south lake tahoe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stark accommodations inside, Incredible beauty outside”
Reviewed February 16, 2006

Don't let the accommodations of Mammoth Hot Springs in Yellowstone stop you from travelling to Yellowstone National Park in the winter.
They have introduced some incredible programs that allow you to experience the wildlife of the park even through cruel cold conditions.
Snowcoach rides through the park provide comfy views of spectacular ice crusted bison and majestic bull elk. Cross country skiing provides breath-taking views of half-frozen Yellowstone Falls. You may even catch glimpses like I did of otters and beavers.
Mammoth needs some little extras like alarm clocks and TVs. I know they want to keep it rustic, but little items like weather reports and time, are important in keeping guests prepared for daily activities.

Helpful?
16 Thank jill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    822
    532
    175
    57
See reviews for
732
864
56
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dalton,
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2005

we stayed in a very expensive suite that had once been used by Predistent Roosevelt, Theodore. Not much had changed since his visit.
the food was very good.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank giddyupgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 15, 2005

If you want to stay in a hotel in the lap of luxury, then you might find the hotel a little far from your expectations. If however, you want something a bit more down to earth and feel part of the national park experience, then you may love it. The hotel was clean and warm, but basic. No TV, no shower (just a beautiful old bath) and the heating system woke us up during the night with knocking noises in the pipes. However, this was one of the most enjoyable experiences - having bison and deer wandering past our bedroom window. Its a beautiful old hotel and you feel the history staying here. The staff were very helpful, funny and friendly. The best way of describing this place - especially the dimly lit corridors, is that it has the feeling of an 'institution' (hospital, old school etc) rather than the modern and smaller hotels most people are used to. I've read poor reviews about the restaurant - my experience was fine - good food, and speedy service.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2005

These "cabins" are like junky sheds. The bathrooms are terrible and the accomadations are worse than "rustic". The food service at the surrounding restaurants is below average and the service is worse than that.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank zim1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yellowstone National Park hotels

York, PA
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2005

We stayed in a cabin at Canyon Village in July of 2002. We were expecting something very rustic and not very nice. Our cabin was very basic (no AC, TV, or alarm clock) but clean and satisfactory for our stay of only one night. We were also not sure what to expect of the food in the cafeteria. Everyone we talked to on our trip our west said that the food in Yellowstone is deplorable. We thought the food was pretty good for a cafeteria. I don't know where everyone else ate that was so bad. The location of the cabins is excellent if you are interesting in hiking. It was just a short walk to the road that leads to an overlook of one of the falls. Overall, this place is nothing to write home about, but is fine if you are only going to be the in cabin to sleep. Surprisingly,this was not the worst place that we stayed at on our trip. I do find that many reviewers are unhappy with the outfit that runs the Yellowstone lodging facilities, Xanterra. I don't think that is who operated the lodging within the park when we were there. Anyway, don't expect much here and you will be fine.

  • Stayed July 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ScottyDoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
32.9 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,105 reviews
41.1 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
975 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
751 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
36.3 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins

Property: Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Address: 1 Grand Loop, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel And Cabins
Hotel Mammoth Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing