We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location for winter visit to YNP”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We have visited Yellowstone NP many times over the years during summers, having camped in the park a few times and stayed in many of the park lodges.  Early January was our first winter visit to Yellowstone and we thoroughly enjoyed it.  We stayed 2 nights at the Mammoth Hotel followed by 2 nights at Old Faithful Snow Lodge (separate review) then back to the Mammoth Hotel again.  This was also our first stay at both lodges.  Mammoth Hotel is close to 100 years old but is well maintained.  This is the only lodge that can be driven to in the winter, as Mammoth is the only entrance open to cars in the winter.  The road is open to cars along the northern part of the park to the turn off to the NE park entrance (Beartooth Hwy is closed beyond that however) but is closed to cars just beyond Tower and closed just a few miles south of Mammoth.  There is plenty of opportunity to see lots of wildlife along the northern road because they tend to move here in the winter because of the lower elevation.  The terraced hot springs near the hotel are great to visit too but unfortunately aren't really spectacular enough to fill a day of sightseeing.  The Old Faithful area has much more to see and do.  Our room in the hotel was comfortable and had a nice view of the visitors center across the street.  Being an older hotel we could hear lots of stuff through the walls and above us.  Each room has a radiator and most people we talked to complained that their rooms were hot like ours.  We had ours turned off but apparently the gage wasn't working.  Our radiator made a lot of clunky noises too in the first room we stayed in.  The bathroom was small and the shower was definitely something out of the 70's, but everything was clean and worked fine.  The main part of the hotel is very nice.  The large common area has a huge beautiful map of the United States made out of all kinds of wood.  The dining hall is across the street and is well maintained and elegant looking, and the food is good too.  Be sure to dress for the outdoors when heading over for a meal.  Everyone working in the hotel and dining hall were friendly and helpful.  We were even able to check in early.  As mentioned in the review for Old Faithful Snow Lodge, Xanterra does a great job with their Yellowstone operations.  We would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 2windsurfandski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,037)
There are newer reviews for Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

711 - 717 of 2,037 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

Accommodation is a problem in Yellowstone, but we found the Mammoth Hot Springs hotel to be quite adequate and not badly priced. We even got a small refund because the price had apparently fallen after we booked.

Food options in the area were OK (we just had burgers), and the rooms were old but comfortable. All in all, not a bad place to stay considering.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeithJenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I looooove Yellowstone. Once I visited it, I felt so connected to it and now wish I could live there. We stayed at Mammoth back in May on our first visit here. The price was good and I think at the time we booked, it was the only lodging available. The area that its in, I consider to sort of be in the middle of the park- in the sense that you will either go in 2 directions. We had a queen bed and shared bath option. Sharing a bathroom was not that bad, not as bad as we thought it could be, but we are the camping type. The room is small, and has a sink inside. Its really neat to look out your window and see all of the bison out roaming along the lawn.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

The information center sent us up to the hotel to book some tours and suggested that we ask about staying there although warned that the rooms were not equipped with bathrooms and we would have to share. That was not really what we wanted and were suprised to find that they do have rooms available with large bathrooms and old fashion tubs. We decided to stay and as I was finalizing the reservation my husband happened to ask about WiFi and they replied that it was only available in the dining room and very unpredictable at that and was pay as you go. So ok no WiFi, laughingly we said, you do have TV and that was a big NO. Right away I thought we were in trouble, how would the husband live without TV for four nights well guess what, we had the best time at the inn and never missed the Tv or really the wifi. The wild life that we saw and the beautiful suuroundings were so impressive, I'm so happy that we had the chance to stay.
We took two full day tours and one half day tour and loved every minute of the snow, cold and all the bison we saw as well as elk, wolves, sheep and coyotes. The snow track vans were great for touring in small groups.
We didn't want to leave but had to head back to Florida to get back to work.
All we can tell everyone is, if you haven't been you need to go! Best trip ever.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheryl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights prior to and 4 nights on our Winter in Wonderland tour (the tour was fabulous). We stayed in 3 rooms during the trip, see room tips. Definitely try to get either of the first two floors as the fourth is like a sauna and we had to keep the window wide open even when the outside temp was below zero. We did not stay on the third floor. The hotel was clean, the beds very comfortable. None of the rooms had much storage, just a couple drawers and a few hooks. The food was good, especially the breakfasts. We found the dinners to be so-so. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed in 422 the first night. It was quite cramped and very hot so we asked if we could move to an...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LTT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Make sure to get room private bat and if possible 2 queen beds . Room 213 very basic but good.
Feels like 1950's . However the location great especially in winter since a lot of winter tours leaves from lobby. Restaurant food VG.

Room Tip: Get private bathroom and 2 queen rooms
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PSU64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

In spite of the age of this hotel, we really enjoyed our stay. All of the staff were very helpful and we had the best snow coach tours from this location. The guides are a little older and more experienced than those at the Snow Lodge at Old Faithful (and have a lot of stories). It is also significantly less expensive than the Snow Lodge, though the Snow Lodge is much newer. That said, there was no closet in our room and we had limited space, i.e. a chest with 2 drawers and some hangars and hooks, to put things away. I noticed, some rooms had chests with 3 drawers. To control the heat, we turned the heat to zero and opened the window to cool it off. A little strange considering it was pretty cold outside. We had a room with a bathroom (some do not), which had a footed tub. Not the most convenient, but it worked fine and was in keeping with the hotel.

Even though I have explained the downfalls of this hotel, we still would recommend the hotel because of the wonderful staff at the desk and the restaurant. We booked the "Frosty Fun" package which saved us some money on the snow coach tours and transfers and gave us 10% off in the restaurant and gift shop. I would highly recommend that. And by the way, the Lamar Valley Wildlife tour was outstanding. Ours was led by Woody. You have to get up early but it was well worth it. He wanted to make sure we saw everything we could and kept us out later. Plus there were bison on the road a lot. Avoid booking other tours or reservations right after your tour, since the coaches often get in late. But it is well worth it! And Yellowstone in the winter is SPECTACULAR!

I want to comment here about the Xanterra tours since I did read the review about the bad Xanterra tour to the canyon from Mammoth. We took 6 Xanterra tours, 2 at Mammoth and 4 at the Snow Lodge, and 5 of them were very good or excellent. Our drivers were always prepared and knowledgeable, and they were good about seeing and doing things that were good for the group. For example, on the Fire Hole tour, everyone in our coach was leaving the park through Flag Ranch from the Snow Lodge rather than going back to Mammoth. So our guide, William, did something that we would not have seen otherwise. It was great! Our last day, our driver, Matt, went through a blizzard to get to the canyon, and took us on another wildlife visit after visiting the canyon since we had a 5th grader that had seen a bobcat along the Madison River the day before (and the guide did not stop). We saw the bobcat, elks, bald eagles, coyotes, ducks, swans, and of course bison. So I think it is a little bit luck of the draw with the guides. We did not enjoy the Steam and Stars tour because there were no stars that night, it was extremely cold, and our guide did not engage the group much at all. She was nice enough and pretty knowledgeable. From the Snow Lodge, most of the coaches are bombardiers, like tanks, see the photo. Some of the guides use ear plugs because of the noise. Our guides/drivers at Mammoth all used a microphone and talked to us most of the time. It does help get the group talking, and asking questions. But the tours were still worthwhile from the Snow Lodge, just a little different.

I do want to mention that there is limited WiFi at this location and the Snow lodge. And you must pay for it, $5 an hour, or $12 per day. In Mammoth you need to go over to the restaurant building to use it and at the Snow Lodge, it is just off of the lobby. Everyone said that Verizon had the best service. ATT was OK at the Snow Lodge but otherwise very spotty around the park. With T-mobile, we could make calls and text at the hotels, but no data service at all.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top (4th) floor facing the street and some mountains. I don't think any of...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golfslw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
32.9 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,175 reviews
41.1 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,003 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
761 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
36.3 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins

Address: 1 Grand Loop, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range: $281 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel And Cabins
Hotel Mammoth Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing