We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice National Park Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Just returned from 3 nights at Mammoth Hotel. Very nice accommodations for National Park. Our room had a queen bed but looked more like an XL full. Enough room to move about the room although we were not in it much. Sink in bedroom and toilet and shower in bath portion. Rooms were spotless and bed comfy. Liked the common areas of the hotel especially the Map Room. Beautiful. Dining room is a bout 15th feet from hotel door. No big deal even in the winter. However I thought the dining room lacked atmosphere. It just looked like a banquet room in any hotel across the country. I was expecting a more rustic look and feel like Yellowstone's Snow Lodge. Would stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKtravelers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,065)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 752 of 2,065 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

My first winter visit to Yellowstone--cozy, comfort at Mammoth Hot Springs. Helpful, friendly staff.
Beautiful scenery made new with its covering of snow. Comfortable rooms. No ATT cell phone service at this location. Have been told Wifi is available. Classic charms and comforts of a simpler time abound. Fans available in every room.
At times, it is so-o-o quiet, and peaceful, and then a bison or an elk wanders by. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms with private baths available, or with baths down the hall. No television sets. At least, some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Comfortable beds, sink in room, long hall to bathroom, 2 stall bathroom, 1 shared shower. I thought there would be a line for the shower but there never was. Old fashioned heating pipes clang occasionally but always bring earplugs so not a problem. No ATT cell service at all, except outside on top of the MHS Terraces. Great way to get exercise and call home at the same time! Really good food at the dining hall next door. Bought the breakfast plan, worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FLLadydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We live in mt and have traveled all over the world. But, even though Mammoth is only a few hours away, we had never been there. Could not have been more pleased. The hotel was built in the mid 30's and has that old school park service charm. Older carpet, curtains, awesome wood stairs and railings....it is not supposed to be a four seasons in Chamonix. Rooms are smaller, they didn't put walk in closets and double sinks in the 30's. I'm always amazed at the complaints in some of the other posts..mammoth hot springs isn't supposed to be like living in the suburbs with starbucks on every corner. GREAT skating rink, we brought our own but they have huge selection. We skied the uper terrace one am, bring your skate ski's , its fun. BIGHORN loop was beautiful at the indian creek trailhead..but...be prepared to break trail and navigate. Great hut there to build a fire and warm up. As far as food, when in mt/wyo eat beef or bison. The bison hash at bkfst was very good. Visit in the Winter and Yellowstone is Magic with the snow, thermals, bison ... leave all the summer crowds behind.

Room Tip: Stay on the highest floor you can. Less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank forzavecchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel is old and the heating still steam. I did a winter package and the heat is turned off during the day. Takes a while for room to reheat! (hints in choosing room area.) BUT, the location is great, the staff helpful and friendly, the restaurant a cut above most "park food concessions" and the ski/snowshoe rental staff is excellent! All staff, (restaurant, hotel, equipment rental), were knowledgeable and freindly. The tour guide for the Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone trip was down to earth and casual. None of the canned jokes and standard presentation.

Gardiner is 5 miles away and probably would be less expensive. Especially for food.

Room Tip: The heat in winter works from the front of the hotel to the back. Turned on at 5:00 and takes a cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dayhiker3458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Of course by YS standards (old faithful, roosevelt, canyon) this place is luxurious but by world standards its an old, plain place. This is our 2d stay here and we love it. The room is roomy, ours with shared bath down the hall. #109 is right across from the housekeeping station so at 6ish every a.m. they start making noise, good we are early risers. I would suggest a room past the bathrooms to cut down on noise. The scene here is definitely 40+ somethings here to xc ski. though there was a couple with small kids but that is rare. We were there with 5 other couples and the best thing is they let us set up a smorgasbord of food/wine right in the map room, a lovely soaring, huge windowed all purpose room. Once when there was a presentation on we moved to the fireplace lobby and they were cool with that, even joking they would have to confiscate our wine. The Frosty Fun package is definitely worth upgrading to just for the buffet breakfast in the very nice restaurant across the road. On Sunday the buffet is over the top, otherwise its just good. One other bummer is the place actually has radiator heat and it sometimes clangs at nite. One other plus is they are very serious about recycling and being 'green'. If you're looking for modern/amenities forget it, but if you're looking for unique, comfortable,

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamstir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We got our first kick out of this place, when we learned that we had been upgraded to a room on the front, looking out over the Bison grazing by the steam vents, in front of the Hotel. Sounds good, I am all for a great view.

Ours actually looked straight down at the Park Rangers Office to the side. Heck it was busy, so we just giggled and got on with it.

Comfortable spacious room. Fully functional. No issues. We had an en-suite bathroom. Quite a few did not, so around peak times there was a bit of a wait - NB.

Bar was a pleasant surprise as there were friendly knowledgeable staff and a few folks having an Aperitif before diner chatting to one another. Very civilised.

Diner was again a surprise as we had a pleasant meal (not great, but pleasant) served by a charming attentive Server. Food was good, fresh cooked, decent portions and hot. Not too demanding are we ?

Breakfast comprised Coffee in the foyer (we were intent on getting to the Lamar Valley ASAP) and we left.

The Staff's attitude and Service made all the difference.

Price was still high, but we did NOT mind here.

Xanterra shop - same Tat, but again charming, helpful and willing staff. We bought some Yellowstone stoneware Mugs - Expensive but quality. Use them everyday.

Still no Hat, T-shirt or other souvenir(s).

Room Tip: Rooms on higher Floors should afford a better view (see above). There are Lifts. Room with Bath o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Safariholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
32.9 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,211 reviews
41.1 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,013 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
764 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
19.5 mi away
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
#2 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins

Address: 1 Grand Loop, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range: $50 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel And Cabins
Hotel Mammoth Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing