We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel But Dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here in February of 2013. Very beautiful on the outside. However, the rooms are dated and the room was very hot. The only way to control the temperature was to open the window. The shower temperature was very difficult to regulate. Glad I only spent one night here.Hallways Look like "The Shining".

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mejustme90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,065)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

784 - 790 of 2,065 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just returned from a trip to Yellowstone and spent one night in a "frontier cabin" in the park at Mammoth Hot Springs. The "village" is nestled in a valley below the hot spring terraces with lovely green lawns that the elk graze on. There are some interesting buildings left from when the army barracked there when they were protecting the park in it's early years. There is a dining room (we did not eat there) and a cafeteria with the usual fast food - we enjoyed the BBQ pork sandwich. The cabins are lovely outside and inside but rather cramped space-wise. It had 2 queen beds so my husband and I were able to use a bed for our suitcases - otherwise I have no idea where we would have put them! As advertized, there is no TV, no phone, no coffeemaker (the cabins in the other Yellowstone villages had coffeemakers but there was NO counter-space for them at Mammoth) and no internet so take note if you like your creature comforts! It was clean and the bed was comfy. We were there during the elk rut (breeding season) so it was fun watching (from a safe distance!) the antics of the resident bull elk trying to keep his harem of females from a younger male elk! The poor park rangers had their hands full keeping the traffic moving (or the bull would charge at the cars) and the people back a safe distance. Try to get a cabin that faces the little grassy area if you can, because the real highlight was waking up in the morning with 2 elk eating breakfast on our front lawn!

Room Tip: Get there early for check-in and ask for a cabin facing the lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

ok so we know its the park and all that and location counts, and for that great!
the restaurant was good as was the bar
the cabins basic, but ok albeit small
its more than ok for 2 days as we had, anymore and i think you would go mad!, for longer stays try one of the more luxury hotels in the park

Room Tip: any i assume would be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seasick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Me and my boyfriend were spending a week in Yellowstone for my birthday - the first few days we spent in west Yellowstone and the rest of the week up at Mammoth. The hotel staff were very friendly and they even acknowledged my birthday by sending some chocolates to our cabin! As it was september it was the start of the Elk rutting season. We had a cabin just at the back of the green at the side of the hotel & it was perfect. Like many people have mentioned the cabins are clean but fairly basic for example no T.V or free wi fi but we certainly didn't miss them in fact we found it added to the experience, rather that watching T.V on an evening we watched the Elk from our porch! Lots of walks/hikes on our doorstep. We would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: If you want to see the Elk up try and get a cabin :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beccajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We only stayed here for 1 night but had a lovely cabin. The hotel is situated in a great location if you are visiting the north part of the park. Would recommend staying here but the food is not great. We ate at the Dining Room for dinner and the Terrace Grill for breakfast both were just ok.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I visited the area in May 2013 and wanted a little more privacy than the main hotel would allow for. I was pleased with the budget cabin - mine was in the back, so nice and quiet. I appreciated being able to park next to the cabin and that I had a choice of trails to stroll just behind the cabin. The scenery, as expected, is gorgeous - and this is one of my favorite areas of the park to stay. I love the park, but I hate the crowds, and these cabins allow me a little of the best of both options. One thing to note is that while the bedding is nice and comfy, these cabins were built during another time - so most of them only have a sink, and share a bathroom (either in the duplex cabin type or via a separate bathhouse). The bathhouses, again, are dated, but functional and clean with plenty of hot water. It's a step up from camping, but in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Desk personnel do try to push an up-sell (when there is availability).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dotty_Comma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The location of hotel is great and seeing the elk at night was awesome. The room had one queen bed with private bath, and not much more. Keep in mind it is an old hotel, so lighting is poor, hardly any plugs for recharging your electronics, and no free wi fi. The lobby is nice and restaurants are close by.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
32.9 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,211 reviews
41.1 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,013 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
764 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
19.5 mi away
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
#2 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins

Address: 1 Grand Loop, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range: $50 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel And Cabins
Hotel Mammoth Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing