We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Economy cabins: a step above camping” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Economy cabins: a step above camping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a wonderful visit in June of this year. The weather was wonderful, and the wildlife was abundant. We stayed in the cabins for 2 nights, which are convienently located relatively near the north entrance in Mammoth Hot Springs. The town offers shops and dining options within walking distance from the cabins. The cabins themselves are minimalist with only a few pieces of furniture (no nightstands), very dim wall lighting, and no ceiling fan. We found an electric fan in the closet, but there were only 2 outlets in the room and not conveniently located. There was a sink in the room but the restroom/shower building is detached and is shared between all the guests. Parking is limited, but sufficient. Keeping in mind that these are economy cabins, cheaply priced, I would say that they are about average on most counts, excelling in cleanliness and friendliness of the front desk staff. However if you are looking for more of a typical hotel type of experience I would suggest you book elsewhere, well ahead of time, and expect to pay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piedoll706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    798
    520
    172
    53
See reviews for
715
828
55
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

When my husband and I landed up in the YSNP, this was the first place we were supposed to spend night at. Mammoth hot springs is at stone's throw distance from many scenic places (walkable, joggable and bikable for more fit people), others can enjoy driving through many places, especially if time is a limitation. This place is comfortable and offers shared bath, which is hygienic in spite of being shared one. However, if you are with kids or old people, this would be not as comfortable as one with attached restroom and bath! Overall, good for travelers who wish to economize their trip.

Room Tip: Rooms on the floors above the ground ones are better quieter, as the service people keep moving on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psychdeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My family and I stayed in cabin A-15 in Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins for 2 nights in late August 2013. Here is my personal experience:

ROOMS- The cabins are small but pretty good. A small bathroom with shower, two beds, a sink, and a pull-up parking space available in a cabin.

SERVICE- Service was friendly and attentive.

ENVIRONMENT/ATMOSPHERE- In the main hotel, there is a fancy room for card playing, light snacking, games, etc. Piano playing in the evenings.

SLEEP QUALITY- Beds are small but comfortable.

GIFT SHOP- The gift shop has all sorts of Yellowstone items to look through.

RESTAURANT- The restaurant in the main hotel has amazing food. Try the lasagna roll-ups; they're awesome.

LOCATION- Good location near hot springs, trails and multiple gift shops.

CLEANLINESS- Room and premises were clean.

Overall, a very good stay. When in Mammoth, stay in this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Cabins are kind of small; inquire at check-in for a hotel room which may be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank opti14977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed in the main hotel- the room was large & bright. The bathroom was a delight after the spartan accommodations at the other Yellowstone Park lodgings! We walked to the Geyser Terrace in the morning & watched a herd of elk come down from the hills to drink from the Terrace. Perfect location! Dining room was excellent - best food we had in the park. A smoked salmon BLT for lunch was delicious!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the lawn & an elk came across the lawn in the late afternoon- perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janeliz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom "suite" in the main hotel building. The main hotel building was built quite a long time ago, and the rooms are what you would expect from an old building. Check in/out was easy with no waiting. Everyone seemed friendly. We had bedroom with two double beds and a sitting area with a pull-out bed. Nothing fancy -- just a basic place to sleep, which was fine. The bathroom had only a small shower, but plenty of hot water, so that was fine as well. It was quite hot while we were there, and the room has no air conditioning (you need to open the windows and turn on a provided fan). It's not a luxury place by any means, but it is a solid choice in the Park close to absolutely wonderful hiking. Mammoth Hot Springs are just wonderful to visit and walk around as is the Boiling River which is nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

My family and I stayed in the Mammoth Hot Springs Cabins and we were very happy with the experience. The cabin isn't fancy but it was very comfortable and clean. The best part is the front porch that has a couple of chairs where you can sit and relax. On our first night there we had several elk that we on the lawn in front of our cabin and the porch allowed us to sit and watch them which was very nice. I would definitely recommend the cabins if you are staying in Mammoth.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed in the Mammoth Hot Springs Cabins, behind the hotel. We had two cabins, which were actually one building divided into two cabins. Our cabins each had a private bath and two queen beds. There was a desk, night stand, sink, and extra chair in the cabin. They had a large front porch where we sat and talked. Some of the neighbors stopped by to chat. The atmosphere was quite friendly.

The cabins were spacious and freshly updated. They were very bright with windows on both sides so you would get a cross breeze. No air conditioning, but it wasn' needed. The nights were very cool.

Mammoth Hot Springs, two restaurants, the park offices, post office, the general store, andt the Hotel & hotel gift shop are all within walking distance. We saw several elk eating grass in the town square when you pull into town.

This is centrally located to the wildlife viewing area we were interested in - primarily the Lamar and Hayden Valleys . . . where we saw 1 grizzly and 4 black bears in two days . . . as well as herds of elk and buffalo.

On our next visit, we will definitely stay here again, but for a longer period of time.

Our only criticism is that some of the windows didn't have screens. We mentioned it when we checked out, and they said they would take care of it. It wasn't an issue for us (or we would have mentioned it earlier), as the nights were cool enough that we only needed the two with screens open.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
32.8 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
36.5 mi away
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
41.2 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
4.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
36.3 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins

Property: Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Address: 1 Grand Loop, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel And Cabins
Hotel Mammoth Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing