We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cabins is the way forward” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Cabins is the way forward”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Staying in Yellowstone is pretty expensive no matter what. We selected the cabins as it was the cheapest option to still spend few days inside the park and close to Lamar valley.
Noise was a bit concern on arrival as there was a door separating the 2 cabins, but not to worry so quiet.
If you do not mind sharing a shower and toilet (there is a sink in the room), which are further down the cabins, then this place is for you.
There is a shop and also the restaurant nearby.
Deers are all around the park and you even got the smell of sulphur... Did not mind what a wonderful experience it was

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank habs_68_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    798
    520
    172
    53
See reviews for
715
828
55
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here in June. It was 80 degrees in the room and there was no A/C and no TV. The rooms were large, clean and nice otherwise. We had to sleep w/ the windows open because there was no A/C. We heard horns, car alarms, traffic and people talking outside all night. The Elk on the front lawn were kind of cool. For $150 a night I expected to have A/C. Should have read the fine print I guess.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhamthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week in early May 2013. It's in a good location and it wasn't unusual to see wild animals wandering through the grounds as if they owned the place (they probably thought they did)!
Hotel quality was good (nice big room and bathroom) but there were numerous minor niggles and, because of these, I'm giving a rating of only three stars.
Firstly, even before our check-in was complete, the clerk asked if we would like to contribute $2 per day to the Yellowstone Park upkeep. We didn't appreciate being put under such pressure right at the start of our stay and thus declined. Anyway, we had already paid a Park entrance fee and later spent a fair amount of money in the gift shop, so they made enough out of us!
Other niggles? Yes, well, I understand they want to maintain the culture of the park but not having TVs and WiFi in the rooms smells of pure meanness in this day and age! We tried to use the WiFi in the lounge (for which you have to pay) but it wouldn't accept my credit card for some unknown reason. When I complained about this at the desk I was brusquely told the WiFi was provided by another company and was nothing to do with the hotel. Definitely NOT the response I was hoping for!
The built-in "wardrobe" in the room was a joke, being about 6" deep and thus virtually useless! The heating was on in our room when we arrived... and it was stifling! We turned the radiators off but, as they were the old cast iron type, they took ages to cool down. We eventually managed to open one of the windows in our room (the other two were painted in and stuck closed solid) but, even so, our first night was uncomfortably hot.
The shower, although and quaint antique looking, was rather tricky to use. Getting the right baalance between hot and cold water wasn't easy and we would have preferred something a bit more modern.
That's it - a decent though somewhat dated hotel, spoiled by a few irritations!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 187514John_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed in one of the cabins and, while a little small, it was bright and pretty clean. It seemed much more so after we stayed in one of the Old Faithful Lodge Cabins the next night. Good value is not to be found here ($160 per night for a pretty small space). There are elk that stay right around the hotel and it's a fun hike to the hot springs. The whole park is stingy about small things - you must pay for ice even if it's only for your water bottle. The gift store was small but had a nice selection and the prices were not horrible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We liked our little Frontier cabin. It was clean, you can park right next to your cabin, you have a porch and chairs, walking distance to eat, get coffee, etc. Quiet (as long as your neighbors are quiet). The electric heater in the wall was hard to regulate, we got cold and then too warm at night. Our room had a sink area in the room, and a small toilet and shower in a small separate room. There is a little desk, someone said there was no table, but there is a desk with drawers. The windows open.

Room Tip: Some cabins are singles and some are duplexes where you share a wall with the neighboring cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwdtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed in a Frontier Cabin. It was very small. It was clean and quiet and had a comfortable bed. But it was so small there was no place to put things. No table, shelf, counter, drawers...nothing. It was fine for one night, but I would want a bigger room if I was staying longer. The staff was great!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Book76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I wouldn't consider the hotel nice but it's better than staying in a small cabin. The hotel has no radio,TV or Air conditioner which is a bit uncomfortable. THey have faulty heaters. When I went inside my room the heater was broken and we had someone come and fix it. It took a few hours for it to be fully operational. However when my father turned on the heater, the heater made the entire room extremely hot. The room was so hot my cheeks turned red, we had to turn on a fan and I constantly had to drink cold water every 10-15 minutes. Despite these disadvantages the hotel itself is alright. They also have a interesting gift shop. A 9:00 p.m. I saw a large female deer standing right next the hotel and it was 30 feet away from our room! Honestly I wouldn't mind staying here one more time. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukeTrailwalker2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
32.8 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
36.5 mi away
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
41.2 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
4.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
36.3 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins

Property: Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Address: 1 Grand Loop, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel And Cabins
Hotel Mammoth Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing