We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok Stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Morton, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Ok Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed in one of the cabins and, while a little small, it was bright and pretty clean. It seemed much more so after we stayed in one of the Old Faithful Lodge Cabins the next night. Good value is not to be found here ($160 per night for a pretty small space). There are elk that stay right around the hotel and it's a fun hike to the hot springs. The whole park is stingy about small things - you must pay for ice even if it's only for your water bottle. The gift store was small but had a nice selection and the prices were not horrible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    798
    520
    172
    53
See reviews for
715
828
55
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We liked our little Frontier cabin. It was clean, you can park right next to your cabin, you have a porch and chairs, walking distance to eat, get coffee, etc. Quiet (as long as your neighbors are quiet). The electric heater in the wall was hard to regulate, we got cold and then too warm at night. Our room had a sink area in the room, and a small toilet and shower in a small separate room. There is a little desk, someone said there was no table, but there is a desk with drawers. The windows open.

Room Tip: Some cabins are singles and some are duplexes where you share a wall with the neighboring cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwdtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed in a Frontier Cabin. It was very small. It was clean and quiet and had a comfortable bed. But it was so small there was no place to put things. No table, shelf, counter, drawers...nothing. It was fine for one night, but I would want a bigger room if I was staying longer. The staff was great!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Book76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I wouldn't consider the hotel nice but it's better than staying in a small cabin. The hotel has no radio,TV or Air conditioner which is a bit uncomfortable. THey have faulty heaters. When I went inside my room the heater was broken and we had someone come and fix it. It took a few hours for it to be fully operational. However when my father turned on the heater, the heater made the entire room extremely hot. The room was so hot my cheeks turned red, we had to turn on a fan and I constantly had to drink cold water every 10-15 minutes. Despite these disadvantages the hotel itself is alright. They also have a interesting gift shop. A 9:00 p.m. I saw a large female deer standing right next the hotel and it was 30 feet away from our room! Honestly I wouldn't mind staying here one more time. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukeTrailwalker2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Was surprised how nice this place was. The hotel portion was nice, I stayed in one of the cabins are really enjoyed it. The cabin was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. There were a few options for lunch/dinner and having the lounge area was a fun experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed in a cabin with a private bathroom. The room was fine, it had a tiny shower and no bathtub, but it was very comfortable and had a porch with two chairs that had a grass area in front of it.
The walls were thin enough that when a car parked next to us and closed their door it shook our cabin. But no one was really out driving late or early so it didn't impact us really. And being a cabin meant that we could park right next to the door which was great for unloading all of the things that come with traveling with a baby.
We got a crib and the guy brought it (a packnplay) and set it up, with cover, and sterilized it in front of us. And he was super polite. It was very nice.
No TV and no cell service or 3G/Edge service. You're basically off the grid which is kind of nice and makes you relax and appreciate the scenery.
We tried the dining room and the grill. The grill had bad food, but it wasn't very expensive. The dining room wasn't very good, but the staff was nice. Big perk of this location is that Gardiner Montana is only 5 miles away so you can go there to eat.
The grill did have an ice cream scooper and they had amazing ice cream - huckleberry delicious and they had chocolate peanut butter which we didn't see other locations in the park. Maybe they rotate? Either way, nice. Also good location for getting to see wildlife. Close to the Lamar Valley (buffalo) and the mountain road down to Canyon (black bears and the curly horned sheep)
The store is pretty good and they actually have a green store here as well, the only place in the park.
You can also walk to the thermal features - the Terraces - which are right by the town.

All in all, great location to spend a night or two in Yellowstone - I would stay here again, even at $163 per night (ouch)

Room Tip: If you book a cabin, make sure you get a private bathroom - some have to share!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvladdictsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night in the Frontier cabin. Simple and clean. No TV, but that is ok. So much to do outside. Zero phone or Internet signal.
The little "town" of Mammoth is sweet. I did appreciate the espresso cart in the main lobby! The dining room was great and very accommodating to special diet requests. Everyone was friendly everywhere we went on the property.
Saw several elk hanging out in the property. The upper and lower terrace drive and walks are a must. Beautiful!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deannamb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
32.8 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
36.5 mi away
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
41.2 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
4.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
36.3 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins

Property: Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Address: 1 Grand Loop, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel And Cabins
Hotel Mammoth Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing