We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic hotel and plumbing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel was clean and adequate. It was cheaper than the other motels in the park and, as with all the Yellowstone Xanterra Hotels, there was no in-room safe, fridge, TV or air-conditioning.

The building is old so expect to hear noise (footsteps, voices, showers, toilets) from other rooms. The shower temperature repeatedly fluctuated from scalding hot to cold. We reported this to reception who acknowledged it was an ongoing issue, but did not have a solution.

Given the proximity of Mammoth Hotel to Gardener, it is worth considering staying outside of the park, if only to have the peace of mind of a safe shower.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Hataitans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,025)
There are newer reviews for Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

903 - 909 of 2,025 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was the "budget" stay for us in the park, for a room for 2 around $100, for for 4 of us, $200. It was just behind the main building. The showers are shared with other guests. The room was clean & nice. There was a sink in our room.

Room Tip: Let them know if you need a handicapped room for assistance.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MihirMeghani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed in a cabin. Great little cabin fits in well with the location. Ok it is a little basic but how long are you going to spend actually in there? Get out and about. The choice of restraunts here is good you have the take away/diner style or the more up market one in the hotel we did both and enjoyed both. Sat on our porch in the evening you often see ground squirrels running around and on a larger scale the Elk! Wonderful. You are also only 5 minutes walk from the Hot Sprng terraces which are a must view, superb colours and smells!

Room Tip: I was happy with the Cabin although rooms in the hotel are a lttle more luxurious make sure you go f...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Traveling lesson from this stay: Always bring your own extension cord. The Mammoth Hotel provides a fan for each room, but what they don’t tell you is that there is absolutely NO practical place to put the fan… unless you bring an extension cord. There were two electrical sockets in our room: one behind the night stand between the beds – the lamp and clock were plugged into it – and one next to the sink. Even with the window wide open 24/7 the room grew stuffy during the day and without the fan there’d have been no air circulation at all.

Cell signal was nonexistent most of the time. Housekeeping staff short-sheeted our bed with maddening consistency. Seriously, every single night we spent in park lodges this year, at every hotel or lodge – 8 nights total - housekeeping made the bed with the bottom sheet stretched across at least six inches ABOVE the foot of the mattress. Xanterra doesn’t use fitted sheets, so the bottom sheet also spilled out when you pulled the top sheet & blanket back. It’s not right when you have to remake your own bed every day while paying $100 to $200 per night for the privilege. Just saying.

After cabins at Roosevelt close for the season, Mammoth lodging is the nearest to Tower/Roosevelt and Lamar Valley areas. We stayed away from our room as much as possible and in fact spent more time AWAY from the hotel while at Mammoth than during our stay in any other lodging inside the Park. The room itself was not unpleasant, exactly, but it wasn’t enjoyable to be there, either. We didn’t find the décor attractive in any particular way, and the room was stuffy. The hotel is old and loud. People walking upstairs or down the hallway sound like elephants. Walls are thin and you can hear snorers in the adjacent rooms at night.

Bathroom layout may not work for claustrophobes. The shared bath down the hall from our room consisted of two toilet stalls. A sink for washing was provided along the hall just outside the restroom. You’re standing there washing your hands after and there are people in the hallway and it’s like announcing, “Hey everybody, I just got off the toilet!” Charming. For showering, we had the use of a windowless box of a room with no fan and a locking door. To be fair, we did not look at any further-away bathroom arrangements to see how they compared to our own.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nobodysmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a great stay at Mammoth as we stayed in a frontier cabin which was really comfortable and one of the best Xanterra cabins we have stayed in and we have tried a few. Check in and out was efficient and trouble free we were in our cabin within minutes of arriving and could park by the side of the cabin which was a bonus. The room itself could have been better arranged since while a case stand was provided the only place you could use it blocked the front door so you had to keep moving it if you wanted to get in and out of the door. All the same the accommodations were clean, very comfortable and everything worked as it should including the heating and we had no problems with noise etc so we were more than happy,

Another plus was that it was the end of September which meant there were Elk in the grounds for much of the day and each morning we woke to a group of elk cutting the lawn out front which gave us some brilliant photographs but a word of warning as they can decide to block the entry to your cabin and will happily chase you away since at that time of the year they 'own' the place and will actively object to you getting in their way.

The only downside to the stay was the service we got at both the dining room and the terrace grill which was less than ideal but I will review those separately. I only mention it here because if you stay here you only have two choices for meals you either eat onsite in one of the Xanterra facilities or drive out of the park and if we stayed at Mammoth again it would have to off site because we have tried the onsite provisions two years running and been disappointed both times which is a shame so my service score is for the accommodation only.

If you stay here and enjoy a ramble I would highly recommend the Beaver ponds trail which runs from the side of the hot springs terraces to the back of the hotel, it was a great walk with wonderful scenery and we saw a good variety of animals on the way including Beaver, White tailed deer, Mule deer, Elk, Squirrels, Chipmunks and Ducks excellent.

Room Tip: For a couple the Frontier cabins are great, but the hotel might be better if you need more room for...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rita_and_Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spend our last night in Yellowstone at the Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel. It's within walking distance of Mammoth Hot Springs. The room (two double beds) was quite big and clean. As usual in the park it doesn't have TV or phone.
The most amazing thing was that there was a herd of Elk grazing over night right in front of our window. In the morning we had a perfect view to watch them. Really a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We found the staff delightful but our room stunk. by the time we got up there with our stuff we couldnt be bothered trying to change. Id heard that the hotel was totally full anyway from front desk personnel.
Although it looked clean it smelt as if someone threw up coffee in our room and the carpet needed shampooing. It wasnt tolerable and we decided to cancel our remaining 4 nights. Staff were most obliging, and we were not charged for the cancellation.
We spent one night at the Snow Lodge Cabins which was fine.

Really Xanterra needs to invest some money into renovating these ancient hotels, which are full most of the season, but are not really livable any longer. When you have a monopoly ,its probably not gonna happen until patrons vote with their feet.

Room Tip: choose a cabin not a room
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dr_ruthSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
32.9 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,161 reviews
41.1 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
998 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
761 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
36.3 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins

Address: 1 Grand Loop, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range: $278 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel And Cabins
Hotel Mammoth Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing