We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Modern / Nostalgic Experience is a MUST!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed one night in a two room cabin. The cabin was absolutely charming - straight out of the 1950's - yet clean and well kept. From the original windows, the wooden shingled roof, the sconces on the wall, the hard wood floors, and the sink in each room - it was a great place to stay. The shared bathroom, just up the street from our cabin, was the only negative; however, it brought back great memories of summer camp! The dining room was a short walk up the street and was equally charming, where we enjoyed both breakfast and dinner. The general store, located next door to the dining room, was also a great place to visit, keeping with the historic theme. Overall, the location was great for hikes, historical tours, wildlife watching (lots of resident elk and buffalo), and day trips to Old Faithful, Lower Falls, and all the sites in northern / western Yellowstone. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The two room cabins are roomy and very comfortable for 2-4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,054)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

952 - 958 of 2,054 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel is an old beauty with a warm charm and a great staff. Our fourth floor room was quiet,airy, and very clean, but lacked a private bath which is not bad for men, but ladies did some waiting. The room was small, but neat and rustic. Parking can be challenging. The northern location is ideal for visiting Lamar Valley and of course, the beautiful terraces,pools and features of Mammoth Springs. Another must is a short trip out the north gate to the Arch.

Room Tip: The hotel dining room is next door, as is the Mammoth Grill, a gas station,post office,etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a lovely room in the Northernmost hotel in the Yellowstone Park, an old hotel with great staff and a nice dining facility. We watched Elk and mule deer right next to our windows, quite exciting. The nicest of the three hotels we utilized in the park. It's a must stay!

Room Tip: Try the Northwest corner with windows on two sides to watch the wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wileyneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the cabins in Mammoth Springs during the elk rut. Not only did we get a nice comfortable cabin with views of the Mammoth Terrace, we got to hear the elk bugling and see the bulls in action so to speak.

The cabins are cozy with a porch complete with chairs and a table - a lovely spot for a glass of wine as you watch the elk or view the terraces.

The staff is very friendly and love to hear about your day or give advice.

If you go to the dining room, try the bison and elk meatballs - delicious!

If you do stay, there are three levels of cabins - hot tub cabins, cabins with bathrooms and cabins without bathrooms that have a shower room close by. Make sure you know which type you are getting into when you register

Room Tip: Cabin C54 has a great view of the terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Athough the rooms are small and dated, the central location in northwest yellowstone to see the hot springs and wildlife cannot be beat. The restaurant was a big disappointment:rather mediocre food and spotty service since the season quickly winds down after Labor Day. Many guided tours already ended. At least the crowds were small and traffic was light.

Room Tip: Most rooms have an old style tub, but some have shower stalls. Also being on the first floor better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnpvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My mother, sister, and I traveled to Yellowstone on vacation this past August. We stayed in cabin that had its own hot tub. It was amazing! We knew going into this part of the trip that the cabin only had a queen size bed, but the staff was great about giving extra blankets and sheets to set up on the floor for the third person to sleep. From check-in to check-out, every staff member I dealt with was wonderful. If we had to call to get something (more towels, extra glass, etc.), everyone was so nice to deal with. It was like another world. The second night we stayed in the cabin, my mom came down with the stomach flu. I ran to the general store on the property to get some 7-up and saltines. I got there about 8 minutes before they were closing. Not one dirty look for walking in so late, and everyone was willing to help me find what I needed. When checking out, the credit card machine wasn't working at first. I joked that even the machine was quiting for the night. The clerk responded, "Yes, but the difference with working here is I love coming to work in the morning. It's not like a real job." We called the front desk to see if we could stay a bit longer so she could rest. Not only was that not a problem but then asked how she was doing when we checked out. I think I work in the wrong place. :)

My only complaint would be that it is very crowded. Parking can be a challenge, but if you are creative, you'll be fine. And usually a bit before sunset, the day lookers clear out. That is the best time to really go see things because the wildlife is out without the crowds. Or you know, a herd of elk just come running down the middle of the grounds. Lots of signs saying not to approach the wildlife, but what do you do if they approach you? LOL.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdvntrGrl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in the cabins. It was very comfortable and exceeded our exceptions. The location is nice. Plus it has a great dining room. We had dinner and lunch there. They were both good. I particularly enjoyed one of the sampler with pita and a few dipping sauces including the hummus.

In case you are curious which is the best in my opinion in the park, I think old faithful snow lodge is. Just because it's at a more "center" location in the park.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank paramyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
32.9 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,200 reviews
41.1 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,011 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
763 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
19.5 mi away
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
#2 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins

Address: 1 Grand Loop, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range: $260 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel And Cabins
Hotel Mammoth Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing