We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room, but no bathroom nearby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice Room, but no bathroom nearby”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed at this lodge in August. while travelling alone in Yellowstone. I was very late booking, so I had to take what I could get and this was the only room available. I stayed in one of the budget cabins in the back for 1 night, one with a "shared bath." Unfortunately, the shower & toilet were about 20 yards down the road. The shower & toilets were OK, a little better than a nice state park. My room was excellent, especially the bed. No AC, no TV and no phone, but a lot of nice people around outside. The walls were thin, so I could hear everything going on around me. It got quiet early, so no real problems with noise. There was also a sink in the room, which made it a bit easier not having to go down the street to brush my teeth, etc. My price for the room was less than $100. per night, so it was good value for what I received.
The lodge itself was very nice, and the staff was excellent. I requested extra towels when checking in, but forgot to pick them up. A staff member showed up at my room later with the towels, which was impressive! The restaurant & lounge (with TV) were also very nice. There is also a snack bar on the property, but I was not so impressed with it.
My only complaint, besides the shared bath which I knew about going in, was the lack of free WiFi in the main lodge building. Wifi is available, but you have to pay for it. I'd like to see all the park lodges make free Wifi available in the public area. Verizon cell service was good in this location though. I can certainly recommend this place as one of the better Yellowstone park lodges. It is within walking distance of the terraces, which are stunning and worth the trip!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thestanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    815
    527
    172
    56
See reviews for
726
851
55
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed in one of the cabins for a couple of days while visiting the park. The location is well situated for visiting the thermal features of the park. The rooms, while small, were very clean and comfortable. It was nice to be able to sit on the porch and watch the ground squirrels play.THe setting is very quaint. There are several dining options in the park or you can easily venture into Gardiner for dinner.

Room Tip: Try to get a cabin vs. staying in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyday1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed in the main building in a room with two queen beds and shared bath. After reading reviews and tour books, got pretty much what we expected. Not a fan of shared bathrooms, but at least these were very clean and I never had to wait. Room at least has a sink, so it's doable. It was warm for Yellowstone and a little stuffy but fortunately cooled off at night. Common rooms are rather attractive. Main complaint would be parking - they should have some reserved specifically for the hotel - the parking lot is filled with people sightseeing and especially in the afternoon parking is very difficult to come by. Otherwise it's fine, and the location makes it very convenient to visit the hot springs, the Lamar Valley, the Roosevelt Cookout, and other areas in the northern part of the park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, NY
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I was traveling with my parents (ages 81 and 75) and my twin daughters age 15. We had 2 separate "cabins". My parents had a Queen bed, bathroom and hot tub. Very nice. We had a double unit - two adjoining rooms. One had one Queen and the other had 2 Queens. Everyone had their own bed. We had a nice sink in each of the rooms, but we had to use a common bathroom/shower. It happened to be right next to our unit so it was a very short walk. There were no noise problems and we never even saw anyone else in the bathroom! We had a burned out light bulb that was replaced immediately when requested.

Room Tip: Tip: bring a flashlight in case you do have to walk. Elk are often in the area; you don't want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We (my husband, 2 children [5 and 7], and I) stayed in one of the small frontier cabins behind the hotel. It was clean and basic which was fine, but it was really too small for four people and their luggage, even if two of them were kids. The location was great for visiting the hot springs and that area of the Park, and we saw elk on the hill behind our cabin, but I'd try for something a bit bigger next time. The frontier cabins at Lake Hotel were bigger and fine, and the western cabins at Canyon were great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndeaU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed in a cabin at the MHSL at the northern part of Yellowstone. Very basic but perfect. Comfortable and a good spot for that night of our tour of Yellowstone. Very good dining room; elk roaming on the lawn. Interesting to learn the history of that area. Lots of families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank GSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

As some of the other reviewers have said, the cabins are a bit spartan but they are very clean and this is a great place to stay in the park. We had a cabin in the back up against the hill and there were elk grazing outside our window every morning. There is plenty of wildlife here. There were elk and bison grazing on the grounds of the hotel. Be sure to do the ranger led tour of the old fort. It was very interesting and we learned a lot about the early formation of the park. At the back of the hotel by the cabins there is the old gravel road going to Gardiner, Montana. It is one way from Mammoth to Gardiner and is something you should do. It winds through the mountains and comes out at the north gate. Drive slow and enjoy the wildlife and beautiful views. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If staying in a cabin, try to get one in the back against the hill for the wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
32.9 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,051 reviews
41.1 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
944 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
740 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
36.3 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins

Property: Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Address: 1 Grand Loop, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel And Cabins
Hotel Mammoth Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing