We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elk in the Fall is a draw, but bring ear plugs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Livermore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Elk in the Fall is a draw, but bring ear plugs”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We had a 3rd floor room with the parade grounds view (to see the elk). Of course they were nowhere to be seen the first 2 rainy days. Then they showed up, day and night. The males were calling( a high pitched bleat which can be very annoying for light sleepers) to gather the females and there were Park Rangers and security personel on duty to keep people back from getting too close to the elk. They need at least 25 yards space before feeling threatened enough to charge. Cars were not exempt. You knew where the elk were by the number of cars or people there were congregating. The room was fine, clean. Use of bathroom water either toilet or shower could be heard as well as people going down the halls or walking on the floor above. The floors are wood, so they squeek when you walk. The radiator provided heat, and rattled and woke my husband up. You could open a window for fresh air. So quiet it isn't! Our room (313) had a bathroom and 2 queen beds. But the shared bathrooms and showers were directly across from our room and we heard the kids running up and down the hall, too. A curving staircase went to the ground floor lobby area and the elevator was down the hall around the corner and was located just outside the Map Room. The Map Room is a beautiful room just off the lobby for meetings, or just to sit and play board games or talk. A grand piano is in the corner and we were fortunate to hear some good playing in the evenings we were in there. It is called the Map Room because of a gigantic map of the United States made of different types of wood on one of the walls. It lists the capitals and significant large cities for each state, and shows major national parks inlaid. A peaceful place to relax and listen to piano or get together with friends to chat. Wine is allowed in there (BYOB) and is available in the gift shop. Close to the terraces, within waking or driving distance depending on weather. Closest to north entrance of YNP.

Room Tip: If you get a 4th floor room you won't hear the people above you as you will be on the highest fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daynawess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    810
    523
    172
    56
See reviews for
722
844
55
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
137 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed in the cabins. Having no toilet facilities was a pain. It is ok for a quick stay no more. Restaurant in Mammoth was very poor. If going again I would cross 5miles over the border to Gardner in Montana where you have plenty of choice for food and accomodation

Room Tip: I would go to Gardner in Montana. The availability is much better for accomodation and food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarzangav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yellowstone National Park hotels

Jasper, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

My husband and I recently visited Yellowstone National Park and chose this hotel as one of the places that we wanted to stay. I originally had us booked in a hotel room/no bath. But after reading the reviews online about the hall bathrooms in the hotel, I decided when we checked in to ask if there were any cabins available that had bathrooms. As luck would have it, they had just had a cancellation for one of their 2 bed cabins with a bath. We found the cabin to be charming! Much larger and with more space than I had anticipated. The beds weren't great, not as comfortable as I would have liked, but about what I had expected. After taking a stroll through the hotel and seeing the hall bathrooms, I was glad we were able to switch to one of the cabins. I would definitely recommend this hotel/cabins. However, I would suggest that you book a room/cabin with a bathrom. The cost is only slightly more and it's well worth it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snicho21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We expected something old and dated. The facility is new and just perfect. Spacious rooms and bath with every possible need accounted for. The location was ideal---centrally located in the park making it easy to see all areas in two days if that is all the time you have in this beautiful part of the USA. There were multiple options for meals making whre to eat an easy decision also. The staff were all most helpful when we were debating hikes and which points of interest to visit.

Room Tip: I belive this is the most convenient place to stay in Yellwostone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed one night in the Canyon Lodge - Hotel Room (listed on reservation confirmation as 'high end room' - website was 'standard hotel room'.) Note this was NOT one of the cabins, which are a different thing altogether.

The room was a very pleasant surprise. The Canyon Lodge is relatively small - in a good sense - room faced the back and was totally private overlooking trees. Room had good size, looked fresh and clean, beds comfortable. Did not hear any noise from other rooms. And late in the evening (Sept.), we heard the unique sound of a bugling elk outside.

Canyon Village was also a nice place, with the dining room, cafeteria, ranger station, and misc. stores. Variety and choice in convenient location. Plus close to the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone, a really interesting area.

We also spent several nights at Old Faithful Lodge - east wing; I preferred both the room and the location within Yellowstone of the Canyon Lodge, and wished we had spent more time here.

Only one minor change I would make - the bedside lamp was a short, tiny thing that did not lend itself to reading in bed, which I like to do for a few minutes to gear down at night.

Room Tip: you want the Lodge HOTEL ROOM, not a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MichiganB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Canyon Lodge was the second place we stayed during our visit to Yellowstone National Park. We stayed here for 3 nights in September 2011 in Weston Style Cabins.
We found the rooms large, spacious and clean with 2 Double Beds, our own bathroom, a coffee maker and hairdryer but no other luxuries such as TV or fridge. This was fine though as we barely spent anytime in the room.
I enjoyed the location in the middle of the park making many of the main wildlife attractions in Yellowstone accessible such as Hayden & Lama Valley's and Mount Washburn not to mention the Canyon itself. During our stay here we saw lots of wildlife on trips around the park incuding wolves close to the road, a grisley in the distance (far far far in the distance though), A bison sleeping in the carpark and a dear outside our room.
The dining room is worked on a first come first serve basis, if you want to eat before 9pm you should get your name down before 7pm and take your buzzer to the lounge. We usually found we waited no longer than 45 mins as long as we got there early-ish. The menu was very similar to that of Old Faithful Inn, however the people working in the kitchen at Canyon could cook. On different evenings I enjoyed a very nice burger, vegetarian pasta and some beautifully cooked beef. We always experienced good service from everyone working in the dining room, bar and reception.
It was basic, clean and in an amazing location. I would definately return.

Room Tip: Weston Cabins very nice and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JojoCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

The room was OK, but the wash basin in the fairly small room, not the bathroom was not good. We were on the ground floor and the corridor with the housekeeping room and offices just up the hall was drab and institutional - I have included a photo. Noise echoed around the building. Unfortunately there was a lot of noise transfer from people walking around in the room above us. They went to bed late and were up early (4.00am) and again at about 7.00am? We stayed 14th September, we were at the dining room for 8.00 and the queue was already building up. Never good to queue for breakfast. If we went to Mammoth again we would stay in Gardiner.

Room Tip: Advise a top floor room to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherryClift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
32.9 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
989 reviews
41.1 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
920 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
723 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
36.3 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins

Property: Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Address: 1 Grand Loop, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel And Cabins
Hotel Mammoth Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing