We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but clean. Biggest issue are thin walls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
200 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Basic but clean. Biggest issue are thin walls”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed in a Frontier Cabin for 2 nights (one of 3 places we stayed in yellowstone). Unlike Grant Village and Old Faithful Inn, you park right in front of your cabin, so loading and unloading is a breeze. Accommodations are basic, but most importantly, clean and fresh smelling rooms.

No A/C, telephone or TV. Heat provided by propane heaters. Heat works REALLY well! The only potential issue is that the walls are really thin, and you can hear conversations from your neighbors. Fortunately, we had quiet neighbors. Despite trying to be quiet, I feel guilty that we may have disturbed our neighbors when we got left our cabin at 5AM every morning.

For $100 a night, the cabins are some of the best "bargains" in Yellowstone. The reason to stay here? LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. The wildlife here is exceptional, with elk and bison plenty around. Rumor has it that a bear was roaming through the village the night we were there.

In summary, great location, basic (perhaps more rustic) accommodations, but also a relative bargain compared to other lodging options at Yellowstone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank adventuretravelernc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    810
    523
    172
    56
See reviews for
722
844
55
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

My thoughts are pretty consistent with others. The hotel is a little old but it fits in the park so nicely. We stayed at Grant Village the night before so this was a much nicer and way more pleasant stay. The hotel folks were wonderful, the room was large and the bed was comfortable. Our won private bathroom was large as well. We didn't miss the TV as some might. We were on the first floor, first room off the lobby. A little apprehensive with the lobby noise, hallway traffic and the piano player in the large room off the lobby but at 9 pm, the place was very quiet. The restaurant next door was very good too. Are there things that the hotel ownership, Xanterra, could do.... of course but this hotel has the charm of the park and was the least expensive of the three we stayed in Yellowstone and Grand Teton Parks. Where else can you go and have a bull moose outside your bedroom window? It was a wonderful experience for us! We would gladly return!

Room Tip: If it's warm whether, ask about A/C units. Our room did not have a unit, we were on the first fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toots03225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
220 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I'm not sure it's worth spending the extra money to stay inside the park at this particular hotel. It's expensive for what you get, and prices in Gardiner (15 min drive) seemed more reasonable. If you are looking for a functional, somewhat quaint place to stay in the north end of the park, this is it. It's an easy walk to some cool thermal features. Otherwise, you are right in the in-park "town," which means lots of people, cars, etc. Not much of a park feel, although there were many elk grazing on the hotel grass at night.

I'd advise booking in person and asking specific questions about your room. There are some cabins. There are also hotel rooms with and without bathrooms. The rooms without bathrooms have shared bathrooms down the hall. I stayed in Room 217, which had a spacious, if outdated bathroom. I guess you usually don't need A/C at Mammoth, but it was almost 90 degrees the day I arrived, so it was stuffy in the room until it cooled down after dark. They did provide a desktop fan, which helped. There are no TVs and no internet connections in the room. The restaurant and small bar are across the street. There's also a fast food restaurant very nearby, plus a general store. The hotel has a decent gift shop. There werw a few nighttime ranger programs, but most of them were not at the hotel... they were at a campground that wasn't to far away. The biggest problem for me was noise from other rooms. I could hear everything going on in the bathroom next door, the steps of the people above me, and most of the sounds from the hallway. There is one elevator that's used primarily for luggage, but I really didn't mind taking the stairs most of the time.

Room Tip: Be sure to confirm that you have a bathroom in your room, unless you want to share one down the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kleetampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwerkerk aan den Ijssel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
138 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed in a frontier cabin for two days. The location of the cabins, right inside Yellowstone NP is very convenient. No need to drive a while before you can start hiking and exploring the park. The cabin itself is quite poor, it really needs some paint, a new carpet and some more general updating.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jethroborsje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Fairfield, Ct
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I you need a tv, telephone or air conditioning this is not the place for you....however, it is clean and the staff is good....central location in Yellowstone allows for a good jumping off point to tour the two loops of the park...friendly service in the restaurant

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magnet1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed in the cabin for two nights. The location is perfect as a half way point in the park. The cabin was clean, water pressure in the shower was great. There is no TV or Internet access. Heating was provided by a propane heater. The beds were comfortable and it was very quiet at night. However, the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything in the adjacent cabin. We were lucky our neighbors were very quiet. If you are thinking romance - forget about it! These are Spartan conditions. The price of $100 per night is a good value. I did not enjoy the cabin but it served the purpose. It is not someplace that I would necessarily stay again

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanderneucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

My review is pretty consistent with all the other reviews. Room was very basic. Be warned there is no tv in the room. Doesnt seem bad but when it gets dark early there isn't much else to do. The elk walking around town were cool to see but the sights didn't cover the high cost to stay there. The restaurant across the street was crowded and over priced. The bar area had a tv but good luck getting a table. If I were to do this again I would probably look to stay in Gardiner just a few miles north. Mammoth was just not worth the price for one night.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudytennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
32.9 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
989 reviews
41.1 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
921 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
723 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
36.3 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins

Property: Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Address: 1 Grand Loop, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel And Cabins
Hotel Mammoth Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing