We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Nearby Hotels
Al's Westward Ho Motel(West Yellowstone)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
$269
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
$648
$369
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Desert Inn(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
$245
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellowstone Lodge(West Yellowstone)
$289
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Historic Madison Hotel(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellowstone Park Hotel(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
$309
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hadley's Motel(West Yellowstone)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$279
$251
Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canyon Lodge and Cabins(Yellowstone National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,097)
Filter reviews
2,097 results
Traveler rating
430
866
556
181
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
866
556
181
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmammoth hot springsmap roomterrace grilldining roomfort yellowstoneboiling riverground squirrelsherd of elkfront porchprivate bathnorthern parthotel lobbygeneral storetwo double bedswestern cabinshared bathroomthe main hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,397 - 1,402 of 2,097 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Well, this is where you have to stay if visiting the Canyon area. Very 1960's feeling and we had bad luck with food. Didn't really love any of the food in YS, but Canyon was my least favorite. Tried cafeteria and dining room. Cafeteria was filled with Asian tourists who piled up the unhealthy American junk food. Not a good value if you want healthy food, but the only option for lunch. Had very bad buffalo quesadillas for dinner-mushy and flavorless.

Room was comfortable and spacious. Modern-style clusered cabins (pods). Be warned, it was August and it cold. The canyon can be chilly. We needed hats and light gloves. It was worth it to endure the beautiful sight of the Grand Canyon of the YS. Saw herds of elk and heard bugling, which was cool, saw moose and a grizzly climbing a hill. Did Mary Mountain Trail, which was very flat and open- we didn't have time to make it to the falls, which we understand made the flatlands worthwhile.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_and_Jocelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed at the cabins in Mammoth Springs, and it was great. They were spotlessly clean and comfortable. Also within walking distance of everything. We would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutch0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We did the Trail of the Wolf tour with Xanterra, staying at Mammoth two nights. Both nights were pleasant, but it was obvious, especially when compared to the Old Faithful Snow Lodge, the hotel is in dire need of updating. The beds were small (full/double), but relatively comfortable. The steam radiators in the room did the job, but were a bit noisy (no way to avoid that with that technology). The bathrooms were adequate at best. One room we stayed in had a small shower only. The other had a claw foot tub retrofitted with a shower.

There is high-speed Internet available, but only in the resturant.

The staff was nice and cordial. The only complaint staff-wise was the long wait on luggage being transferred back from Old Faithful... it took them 11 hours to get the bags from Old Faithful.

The food at the dining room was good and reasonably priced, but it is the only option and got old after a couple of days. In particular, the offerings using local game meat were quite good. The service at the resturant was good.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OurWander-FilledLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

I have travelled to many US National Parks and have stayed at many of the lodges. the problem with these lodges is that Congress keeps the rates down so that the lodge cannot make all the improvements that they need to make. But the benefit is that unlike a ski resort there will be no other lodging nearby and it will seem remote.

I went with my son in the middle of January 2011. I flew into Bozeman. I originally rented a full size car but got chicken and rented a full size SUV. Probably because of that I did not have to use any snow capabilities of the vehicle.

Here is the winter setup. You drive to the hotel and park nearby. There were not many people there. Check in was very easy. My priorities for a room are first that it have a nice bed. I was quite suprised at how nice it was. Second there were black out curtains. Third it was silent. The walls were very thin but the people staying here at this time of year are the opposite of rowdy. Absolute silence.

They also had free coffee at the base of the stairs starting at 5:30 AM. The "Map Room" is very nice. They also had lectures in there at night.

This is a five star National Park Hotel not a five star hotel.

We had a great time. I also liked the fact that the dining room was a different building so there were no smells or noises from cooking.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jpradonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

By the time we booked in Yellowstone, many lodges were closed or closing within a few days as the season was late...this was the only location available for length of time we wished to stay. The rooms are clean, a bit bare and are reminiscent of prefab housing, but quiet and roomy enough to handle all the extra outdoor gear we were hauling. No TV. No phones. We did get a microwave and WiFi is available in the lobby (very slow). There was enough hot water. Our "cabin" was within easy walking distance of Yellowstone Falls, but did require a drive up to the lodge for dinner (pretty good for a national park, where the food can often resemble airline quality). Driving also lessened the chance of a night time encounter with the local wildlife. ALL the laundries had closed this late in the season.
Centrally located, as noted, which means it was at least a 30-60 minute drive to any other attraction in the park. So if you are a photographer, it is a cold dark drive in the am to your shooting site.
Of course, the scenery is spectacular, the wildlife abundant and the hiking is good, which makes any minor (or even major) discomfort worth it.
AND...its greatly improved since my last visit in the 70's.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phototype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews