We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and clean cabin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant and clean cabin”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My unit was clean, everything worked, and the price was remarkably fair (especially compared to the cabin I stayed at the night before in Grand Teton National Park). Oddly, the "bathroom" sink/mirror is in the main part of the unit, around the corner and about 20 feet from the bathroom door. The cabins are nothing to look at on the outside, very institutional actually; and there's nothing to see from the cabin (except trees, underbrush, and other cabins). The only real drawback is there's no place for grilling or campfires in the cabin area; in fact, no where to even sit outside and enjoy the fresh mountain air. I did have trouble finding the Registration Building, but that was due to a lot of construction in the parking lot (which should be done before they reopen next season). I'd definitely stay here again if I ever have the chance to return to Yellowstone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awcolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    409
    220
    82
    27
See reviews for
425
403
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We reserved a Frontier cabin for two nights in June and loved it! I don't understand the negative reviews for these cabins. People, they're called Frontier cabins for a reason so do your homework before staying here if you don't want rustic accommodations. We were in the F section, a cluster of four units a few minutes from the amenities but very peaceful. We saw elk (with a baby) in the morning and a bison a few feet from our car. The room was large and spotless. OK, it's a little basic but that's what makes it adventurous. When do you get to see a sink next to your bed? And those cute bear soaps!!! The shower is minuscule but it serves the purpose. The only thing we didn't appreciate is that housekeeping had forgotten to turn down the heat (it gets pretty cold during the night) so it was 90 degrees when we walked into the room. Since there's no A/C, we opened all the windows, put on the fan, and left for a few hours. Fortunately, when we came back around 9:00 p.m., it was fine. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent our 36th wedding anniversary in Yellowstone Aug. 2013. Our four days in a Queen cabin in Canyon Village was wonderful!. The staff at registration were very professional and went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. I made three seperate reservations for the Queen cabin by following trip advisor recommendations to keep checking for cancellations. When I told the staff they made sure we were in the same cabin for our entire stay and did not have to move. In our conversation at check-in, we told them it was our first visit and that we were going to celebrate our anniversay. Shortly after entering our cabin a messenger brought a beautiful box of Chocolate Huckleberry Cordials with a lovely hand-written note congratuling us on our anniversary and thanking us for staying with them. The food at the Canyon facilities was great all times of the day, and the convenience of the general store and sporting goods store was greatly appreciated. I would definitely recommend staying at this location, it is centrally located in the park and makes day trips to all other parts of the park very easy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10pigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We recently stayed in a Frontier cabin for 5 nights commencing on Sunday, September 15. Let me start off by saying, my wife & I love Yellowstone. We both work at jobs that are very demanding & squeeze every ounce of mental energy out of us.Yellowstone has become our haven/refuge from the rat race of the 21st century. We have vacationed here 3 times in the past 6 years. Previously, we stayed outside the park, first in West Yellowstone & then in Gardiner. The accommodations were ok, but we spent much of the day just coming & going to & from the park. This year we decided to stay inside, which I hadn't done since I was there camping as a kid. Accommodations aren't easy to come by, even far in advance. We settled upon staying for 5 nights in a Frontier cabin. First of all, it's not the Ritz & doesn't pretend to be. My wife insisted upon getting a room that had its own bathroom & shower. These cabins fit the bill, whereas in numerous lodge locations this was communal down the hall. Secondly, the primary function of the room is a quiet, clean, & comfortable place to sleep at night. Once again, it fit the bill perfectly. There was also daily housekeeping service that made the beds & distributed clean towels.Thirdly, at just under $100 per night, it wasn't a budget breaker. Next, it is centrally located in the middle of the park. Finally, there are numerous eating choices, including a restaurant, cafeteria, deli & grill all within walking distance. Side note: we have never been disappointed with food served at any location inside the park, It is always fresh,tasty & reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WilburCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

WE stayed at Dunraven which is a newer area ( within past 10 yrs or so). Had elevator and large quiet room. Still had the awful bedspreads. For what xanterra charges, there is no excuse they can't upgrade slightly. The reception area was nice and is being improved . The staff at reception was really nice and helpful. We enjoyed the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ct782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
223 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The cabins look pretty basic, we were told they were built 60 years ago and were then supposed to be replaced in 10 years. Anyway, we stayed in the lodge which is like a hotel, but with no front desk. one must drive to the front desk. especially at night. there is no cell signal and only one house phone on each floor of the lodge. also there are 2 buildings, one has ice, one has a vending machine. There was construction in the parking lot, so we always asked for a shuttle to take us to the food/store area. those guys were great. The front desk was ok or terrible depending on who you spoke to. If it was early in the season I could understand an employee not knowing any thing, but by September she should not be just making stuff up. The housekeeping was poor. They have a whole different foreign worker situation than the "illegal aliens" who work hard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faye57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our agent had booked this accommodation and we thought we were in a cabin ( not what we really wanted) so were delighted to find it was a room in the cascade lodge. Room was spacious if a little sparsely furnished. Beds comfy. We were there for 4 nights and found it a good central base in the Park rather than having to move round. Ate in the main restaurant every night ( usually a 20 minute wait in the bar) - food ok but would have appreciated some slightly different options. Also one of the soups on the buffet seemed to be the same every night ( as were the " potatoes of the day")
It was dark walking round the site in the evening but the shuttle bus was useful if you wanted to avoid this.
Would certainly consider staying here again if we returned

Room Tip: Make sure you know what type of accomodation you are booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElisabethBSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
13.1 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
989 reviews
19.9 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,962 reviews
23.8 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
23.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
723 reviews
23.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lodge and Cabins

Property: Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Address: 5700 Norris Canyon Rd, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Lodge and Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 520
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Canyon Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Lodge And Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Canyon Lodge Cabins
Canyon Lodge Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing