We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dunraven,nicer place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
GreenLeadersSilver level
Monroe, New York
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Dunraven,nicer place”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

WE stayed at Dunraven which is a newer area ( within past 10 yrs or so). Had elevator and large quiet room. Still had the awful bedspreads. For what xanterra charges, there is no excuse they can't upgrade slightly. The reception area was nice and is being improved . The staff at reception was really nice and helpful. We enjoyed the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ct782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    425
    236
    85
    29
See reviews for
456
414
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The cabins look pretty basic, we were told they were built 60 years ago and were then supposed to be replaced in 10 years. Anyway, we stayed in the lodge which is like a hotel, but with no front desk. one must drive to the front desk. especially at night. there is no cell signal and only one house phone on each floor of the lodge. also there are 2 buildings, one has ice, one has a vending machine. There was construction in the parking lot, so we always asked for a shuttle to take us to the food/store area. those guys were great. The front desk was ok or terrible depending on who you spoke to. If it was early in the season I could understand an employee not knowing any thing, but by September she should not be just making stuff up. The housekeeping was poor. They have a whole different foreign worker situation than the "illegal aliens" who work hard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faye57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our agent had booked this accommodation and we thought we were in a cabin ( not what we really wanted) so were delighted to find it was a room in the cascade lodge. Room was spacious if a little sparsely furnished. Beds comfy. We were there for 4 nights and found it a good central base in the Park rather than having to move round. Ate in the main restaurant every night ( usually a 20 minute wait in the bar) - food ok but would have appreciated some slightly different options. Also one of the soups on the buffet seemed to be the same every night ( as were the " potatoes of the day")
It was dark walking round the site in the evening but the shuttle bus was useful if you wanted to avoid this.
Would certainly consider staying here again if we returned

Room Tip: Make sure you know what type of accomodation you are booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElisabethBSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We knew that the Frontier cabin in Canyon was always going to be basic and we booked it to split our stay up within the park (stayed for 2 nights at Old Faithful and 3 nights here). Originally I'd wanted to book Roosevelt but they closed for the season before we got there, so Canyon it was. The check in desk service was good but lacked a little on cheerfulness (ok, I know it's getting towards the end of the season!) The road to the cabin was dire! And when we saw the exterior of the cabin, we shrugged our shoulders and said 'oh well'.

As with Old Faithful cabins, sound proofing isn't wonderful, but our neighbours weren't a problem. The room itself was suprisingly spacious (especially after the small size of OF Frontier cabin), however, it did remind me of an old school dormitory in many respects!

You still can't beat the fact that it was located very centrally in the park, and that alone was worth staying there for, especially as we liked to wildlife watch in the Hayden Valley, early morning and evening!

We used the Cafeteria for dinner twice (I enjoyed my meals) and used the diner for breakfast once. The diner's buttermilk pancakes and syrup were the best we've ever had! The bar in the evening was chaotic, and I must say that the bartender did a magnificent job in coping with it all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island Lake, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a "western cabin" at Canyon Village recently in Yellowstone. The only negative thing I have to say was the ice machine outside our door which kept my husband from sleeping soundly the first night. The second night we turned the fan on low in our room for some background noise and he slept much better as we frequently have a fan on at night at home. The cabin (in groups of 4 with each having 1 wall in common), though not much to look at outside, was very nice inside. There were 2 queen beds with a woodsy theme bedspread that were quite comfortable. The bathroom was clean with what seemed to be new chrome fixtures and towel holders made of fake rusty metal with deer adornments. The bed's headboard was made of logs and matched the 6 drawer dresser and large table. The 2 chairs at the table were also made of logs with woodsy upholstery. The cabin was very well lit and had 2 windows which brought in plenty of sunshine even though we were back in the woods. There was a Keurig coffeemaker so we brought some hot chocolate K-cups which were great for our chillier days. Canyon is a nice convenient location for the waterfalls at Yellowstone's grand canyon and also for the Lamar Valley when Roosevelt Lodge is closed.

Room Tip: Be sure to pay a little more and get the western cabin not the frontier. And don't get stuck by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenville, PA
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Canyon Lodge in Yellowstone proved to be a great location at a reasonable cost of $116.00 per night. The design includes rooms and cabins. We stayed in the cabins which are more of a collection of room units in blocks of 4 to 6 than actual cabins. Each room included two queen-sized beds and a bathroom. The property also had a convenience store, visitor's center, laundrette and showers for campers and visitors, a restaurant, cafeteria and deli.
The location was great from the east entrance with easy access to sites in that area. We found the cafeteria to be to our liking, serving an array of salads, desserts, soup, drinks, sandwiches, fast food and meal entrees including prime rib for $19.25. My wife selected that choice for both nights and was not disappointed at all. Food was more like home cooking and fresh vegetables were cooked to perfection retaining an appropriate crunch. Entrees came in two sizes and both were ample for the price charged. Drinks including wine and beer were also reasonably priced at around $3.50 per serving. This was a Xanterra-managed facility and managed quite well. We were pleased with both accommodations, location and dining choices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAAbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

First, there is no comparison between this cabin type and the Frontier Cabin also rented here at Canyon. This cabin though slightly more expensive is well worth the difference in cost. Far more spacious and better appointed in all ways. Each still have but one sink outside the bathroom which is annoying if you have someone in your party who needs to wash up after having used the toilet in the middle of the night. The light goes on in the main room and everyone is awake. This arrangement does however enable two people to attend to their morning ablutions simultaneously which is a benefit.

This particular room is an assistance equipped room which provides an enormous shower with a pull down sauna style wooden seating platform where one can relax and ease their tired hiking muscles with hot water! Practically decadent after a day on the trails. It's not the Ritz but it feels like it at the end of a long day.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Little-Tupper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
13.1 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,045 reviews
19.9 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,974 reviews
23.8 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
737 reviews
23.8 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
23.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lodge and Cabins

Property: Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Address: 5700 Norris Canyon Rd, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Lodge and Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 520
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canyon Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Lodge And Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Canyon Lodge Cabins
Canyon Lodge Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing