We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the lodge.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Try the lodge.”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I certainly feel I earned my camping merit badge after staying in these cabins! Pretty close to sleeping in a tent. Hot during the day and freezing at night. Teeny tiny bathroom and shower. Very, very vintage decor. We cut our stay 2 days early. Next time I go to Yellowstone I will do my homework and stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHDonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    409
    220
    82
    27
See reviews for
425
403
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed for three days at Canyon Lodge in Yellowstone in July 2013.

Pluses:

-Location, location, location (2 miles from the incredible canyon and 10 miles from the Hayden Valley -- great evening wildlife viewing)
-Modern room (in the Cascade Lodge)
-Close to the amazing Norris Geyser Basin

Minuses:

-Marginal food in the restaurants (and servers that were not very motivated)
-No cell coverage (Verizon or AT&T)
-Incredibly slow and expensive Internet (only available in main building area -- not in our room)
-In July a relative zoo of traffic and people (it felt like a shopping mall experience)

We moved after three nights to Grant Village -- farther from wildlife but MUCH better food and actual cell coverage.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
174 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here three nights because it is in the middle of the park and Hayden Valley is right down the road for great wildlife watching. We were in the basic frontier cabins near the road (could hear road noise). The room had two double beds and bathroom (no frills). We had no power one whole day due to nearby construction severing a power line and storms that went through the area, all we were given was a glow stick for our trouble.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckeye02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in P39 a Western Cabin in Beaver Meadows. We shared a half wall with P40 - I think it was bathroom to bathroom. It was a completely unexpectedly wonderful experience! We had a fairly new interior, wood post beds, decent linens (not awesome but good), great toiletries, and Keurig coffee!!!!!!!!There was ample air with the fan they provided and windows open....needed to close them in the AM! Heat lamp in bath/toilet area a bonus :). There was no real porch but you could go out front or back (as we did) and play around. SUPER close to the Grand View canyon area and we hiked to that one afternoon(2 blocks?) .... it is HIGHLY recommended. Ice close to our cabin. Everyone at check in greatly helpful. Am currently recommending this to everyone wanting to go on a trip like this!!!

Room Tip: P39 was quiet and close to ice but not close to the village center. But who cares about being with p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The unit was just like any old lodge. Had no tv or air conditioning like many lodges (which isn't really needed). The bed was comfy the room was ok size and the bathroom quite small (especially the shower). But it had everything camping doesn't. A nice bed, shower, toilet and toiletries.

Room Tip: If you are looking for something grand with cable and air conditioning, this lodge is not for you. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sla69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a basic cabin. Although the cabins were renovated recently, do not expect much. Poorly installed/fragile hardware in the room is one irritation, i.e. parts fall off easily. Hot water for the cabin is limited. After being out all day, we came back to the room at 9 p.m. ready for a hot shower. Apparently some other people in the cabins nearby also came back after dinner. So there was no more hot water! The beds were really uncomfortable. The bedsheets were rough and you are provided with a thin, rough blanket. Also, you would need to drive (as it's too far to walk) to the Canyon Village center for breakfast (which by the way is not included in the overpriced room rate).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimlk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a Frontier Cabin, it was not upscale, but plan, simple and clean. The check in was fast, even though we did during a thunder shower along with 25 or 30 other guests. The cabins are very basic, bed, shower, heater and a sink. That was not a problem and it was what was expected. The only thing that we found amiss was the "queen size" bed was not a queen size bed, an extra wide double yes, but not queen size. We ask the staff about it and they agreed the beds were small but that was the way Xanterra choice to advertize the cabins. The cleaning staff and front desk staff were both great and did a wonderful job. We would stay at Canyon again but would most likely upgrade to the standard hotel room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmdanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
13.1 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
989 reviews
19.9 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,962 reviews
23.8 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
23.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
723 reviews
23.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lodge and Cabins

Property: Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Address: 5700 Norris Canyon Rd, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Lodge and Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 520
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Canyon Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Lodge And Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Canyon Lodge Cabins
Canyon Lodge Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing