We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Dunraven Lodge(Yellowstone National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Cascade Lodge(Yellowstone National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins(Yellowstone National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins(Yellowstone National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,216)
Filter reviews
1,216 results
Traveler rating
285
499
288
108
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
499
288
108
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanyon lodgehayden valleywestern cabinbisongeneral storesuperior roomtwo queen bedscoffee makercentral locationshort drivefood optionspost officeold faithfulvisitor centercabin areagift shopmini fridge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
876 - 881 of 1,216 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here three nights because it is in the middle of the park and Hayden Valley is right down the road for great wildlife watching. We were in the basic frontier cabins near the road (could hear road noise). The room had two double beds and bathroom (no frills). We had no power one whole day due to nearby construction severing a power line and storms that went through the area, all we were given was a glow stick for our trouble.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckeye02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in P39 a Western Cabin in Beaver Meadows. We shared a half wall with P40 - I think it was bathroom to bathroom. It was a completely unexpectedly wonderful experience! We had a fairly new interior, wood post beds, decent linens (not awesome but good), great toiletries, and Keurig coffee!!!!!!!!There was ample air with the fan they provided and windows open....needed to close them in the AM! Heat lamp in bath/toilet area a bonus :). There was no real porch but you could go out front or back (as we did) and play around. SUPER close to the Grand View canyon area and we hiked to that one afternoon(2 blocks?) .... it is HIGHLY recommended. Ice close to our cabin. Everyone at check in greatly helpful. Am currently recommending this to everyone wanting to go on a trip like this!!!

Room Tip: P39 was quiet and close to ice but not close to the village center. But who cares about being with people really- you're in bear country!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The unit was just like any old lodge. Had no tv or air conditioning like many lodges (which isn't really needed). The bed was comfy the room was ok size and the bathroom quite small (especially the shower). But it had everything camping doesn't. A nice bed, shower, toilet and toiletries.

Room Tip: If you are looking for something grand with cable and air conditioning, this lodge is not for you. If you are more down to earth and see it as just a lodge and a nice place to sleep that has a little more than camping then this will be a good stay for you.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sla69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a basic cabin. Although the cabins were renovated recently, do not expect much. Poorly installed/fragile hardware in the room is one irritation, i.e. parts fall off easily. Hot water for the cabin is limited. After being out all day, we came back to the room at 9 p.m. ready for a hot shower. Apparently some other people in the cabins nearby also came back after dinner. So there was no more hot water! The beds were really uncomfortable. The bedsheets were rough and you are provided with a thin, rough blanket. Also, you would need to drive (as it's too far to walk) to the Canyon Village center for breakfast (which by the way is not included in the overpriced room rate).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimlk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a Frontier Cabin, it was not upscale, but plan, simple and clean. The check in was fast, even though we did during a thunder shower along with 25 or 30 other guests. The cabins are very basic, bed, shower, heater and a sink. That was not a problem and it was what was expected. The only thing that we found amiss was the "queen size" bed was not a queen size bed, an extra wide double yes, but not queen size. We ask the staff about it and they agreed the beds were small but that was the way Xanterra choice to advertize the cabins. The cleaning staff and front desk staff were both great and did a wonderful job. We would stay at Canyon again but would most likely upgrade to the standard hotel room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmdanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews