We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canyon Lodge and Cabins

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Misleading”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

One of the most disappointing vacation spots on our 2 week vacation. First of all this was called a "cabin". It was a mobile home circa 1963 with no updates at all having been made to this place. The road to get there almost took out our suspension. When we finally arrived to this mobile home, we went to get the ice which was far enough away that we had to drive, only to find out the machine was broken. It appears that the management was just scarfing up all of the rental dollars and not re-investing a dime.

Room Tip: Stay at the "Old Faithful Inn" at a different locaton in the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 492Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    404
    217
    80
    24
See reviews for
411
396
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The bed was comfortable the room was clean and the location in the park was great. This location allowed us to view all of the falls and trails close to the Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone Park. That said we had to climb a lot of stairs getting to our room. The ice machine was at least 2 blocks away and the road was in extremely bad shape. That said with a clean room and bathroom and comfortable bed and great location I would do it all over again. Location
Location, Location

Room Tip: try to get a cabin without a lot of stairs where you can park in front of your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night to avoid the driving to and fro - as a stopover at the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone area. The location is super for visiting the Grand Canyon and falls, but the cabin was just so so. Very basic (but comfortable) beds, with very basic bathroom and shower. Could hear water flushing frequently when neighbors showered and used the toilet. I understand this is inside a National Park and should not expect brand-name quality, but having stayed in other national park lodges (e.g. Zion) this is just not up to standard. But I must admit the price was pretty low (about $110 a night), and so I would not over-complain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snorkelingJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

What an experience to stay IN Yellowstone! We called and booked a cabin last minute so were excited to be staying in the park. They could ask any price considering the location and demand but the cabin was reasonably priced! We backed up to the woods too and saw lots if bison near the camp. Awesome experience! Definitely for a camping type adventure though.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsReviewer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had a great time. To give you my resume of Yellowstone accomodations, last year I stayed in a Canyon Westen Cabin, Old Faithful Snow Lodge King, Old Faithful Inn Geyserside two Queens and this year we stayed in Roosevelt Frontier Cabin, Roosevelt Roughrider 3 bed, Old Faithful Lodge 1 Dbl +1Single, and the bottom of the barrell: the Frontier cabin at Canyon. We had a queen bed, my sister had two double bed room in the same pod.

The truth is I had a blast, this is a cheap accomodation in a great location and it was affordable ($99/night). However, the decor makes me think of communist Russia, and you can hear entire conversations of your neighbors through the wall--best heard in the restroom. The bed was fine, and we figured our our heater.

My sister was staying with my two kids in the double bed room. We smelled a propane leak and their heater made noises all night, that awoke my sister and she kept waking up freezing. When we told the manager at check out, she called maintenance immediately and discounted our stay, which was appreciated.

These are such depressing units with poor sound insulation, that I will work hard not to return. However, if this is the only accomodation you can secure in the park, it can be functional and we had AMAZING animal life viewing our quick drives to Hayden Valley: wolves, grizzly bears, elk, bald eagles...and bison (we like to say bison the way Seinfeld says "Newman" because there are so many bison.

We didn't book the Western cabin at Canyon due to price. They are $188/night and since we would want two (sister, husband, two kids), $400 + night would be a bit much, particularly since they aren't that great. But I do recommend the Western cabins at Canyon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank solomentehawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Expectations - you are renting a CABIN in a National Park, not a hotel or resort room. More than likely - you will do nothing at, or in, the cabin except to sleep, use the bathroom, and shower. Notice also that TA has these cabins listed under the specialty lodgings with other cabin areas and campgrounds - not hotels - they are basic accommodations.

Our party of 13 had four Canyon Frontier Cabins in the same cluster for 2 nights. We had just come from GTNP & $250 per night large Jackson Lake Lodge cottages so I had warned our 9 first timers to not expect a resort, or even hotel type room. I explained that they would be in a CABIN.

Check-in after 5 PM was crowded. slow and more than 1/2 hour wait. The road from the lodge needs repair, but understandable given the setting, hard winters, park budgets and short construction period. A huge Bison was grazing on the grass along the road. We were warned by the desk of a black bear hanging around the area and found bear scat just feet off the parking area but unfortunately no bear.

When our first-timers first saw the bldgs. they all gave me a glance. But I noticed our cluster exterior looked recently re-painted. All 4 cabin interiors also looked freshly re-painted and our carpets looked relatively new and were clean.

The room had two double beds; a chair; a desk with a chair & 2 available outlets if you unplug the alarm clock; a sink (Bear shaped soap) with mirror & 2 outlets; sufficient lighting; beds were comfortable enough to sleep through the night; 1 extra blanket & pillow. Lower part of windows are updated and slide open for air and there is a 14" portable oscillating fan which can placed on the desk. Both nights became cold, (32 and 27 degrees) and thermostat controlled heater worked great when needed. Bathrooms are small, shower little more than 2' X 2', but served it's purpose and were clean. Clean, heavy bath towels, hand towels, and wash cloths. Shower dispensers with liquid bath wash and shampoo.

There is NO TV, telephone, Internet - You won't need it. Cell (Verizon) voice service is spotty in the cabin area, and voice / 3G service is good in the main lodge/visitor center area. Need a blow-dryer? Buy a small portable and bring it.

One night some of our party sat in front of the cabins - quietly discussing that days experience and plans for the next day. One early AM another Bison no more than 20 feet from the cabin; another 5:30 AM morn one heard a wolf howling..

We spent little time in the cabins, but they provided a quiet, clean, comfortable place to sleep and shower at a location convenient to the upper and lower eastern loop roads. Well worth the $103 rate, plus tax.

When we left the cabins everyone said they enjoyed the cabin experience and that the cabins were fine. At home I linked an article about some plans to remove the cabins & build 5 new lodges like Dunraven with hotel style rooms. Every one said they'd much rather experience the cabins again and it would be a sin to remove them. We all had a great trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Twp, OH
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a frontier cabin at the Canyon Lodge. Check in & check out was quick, efficient and the clerks pleasant to deal with. The cabin was sparser than we expected, the shower small with my elbows able to touch both sides and it would have been nice to have another towel rack and a shelf to put things on. However, we got to stay in Yellowstone and since we only slept there and spent our waking hours in the park it was worth the inconvenience. We were centrally located to just about everything in the park and saved valuable drive time to & from out of park lodging. Overall, I think my expectations were too high considering what we paid.
Just a slight vent - I will say that since prisoners in the US prison system get satellite and internet access, I think our government could provide these for paying guests in a National Park that our tax dollars support.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
13.0 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
20.0 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
25.4 mi away
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
23.8 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
25.3 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lodge and Cabins

Property: Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Address: 5700 Norris Canyon Rd, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Lodge and Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 520
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Canyon Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Lodge And Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Canyon Lodge Cabins
Canyon Lodge Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing