We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the greatest, but not terrible.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Basic cabin: bed, basin, shower and toilet. The most annoying thing was that the faucets sounded like a dying animal (more like a large bison than a little mouse) every time you turned one on. Also, the cabins were a bit far away from the general store and restaurants.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank EchidnandKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

945 - 951 of 1,216 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

CanyonVillage has expanded greatly in the past years and was undergoing major construction at the time of our visit. Still, we enjoyed our night in a Western cabin. Yes, its all about location. Cabin was clean and well furnished. There is a very small but pleasant area out of sliding doors off the back of the cabin, looking at woods and not other cabins. We watched several deer meander past. Easy walking to restaurants and stores of Canyon Village, or a beautiful trail to the stunning canyon the other direction, and I would say definately worth it if you want to experience the park. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PAmom-doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in cabins, October 2012, last week before park shut. Having stayed in other cabins run by Xanterra in National Parks I have to say these were disappointing. Cabins situated along proper roadways, with large car parks and bright street lighting, no atmosphere. We also stayed 2 nights in hotel roooms in Grant Village. My opinion is that they are over priced for what they are, but this is the price you pay for the convenience of staying in the park. The food available at all locations in the park is similar, poor! The restaurant do not have the capacity to cope with the huge demand and you will have very long waits. You need to make dinner reservations but if you have a flexible schedule and encounter interesting animals it may not be possible to book ahead. And remember this was not the height of the season. Best food, breakfast in restaurant at Mamoth and dinner in the restaurants at Lake Yellowstone and Mamoth. Would I stay here again? Yes for location, not room or food quality.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZoomingOff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I knew getting a cabin was not going to be as fancy as getting a hotel, but for the price, it was not worth it. The place was not clean, the toilet and shower was smelly and looked moldy. We were moving cross country so I took cleaner that I had in the back of my truck and cleaned everything before using it.
We didn't have any fans in our cabin and no air conditioner. The blankets were extremely scratchy. We stayed when there was some renovations going on, without any notice to us, so it was very noisy and an eye sore. Next time, I'll just stick to either camping. Pets are not allowed to stay in the hotels or I would have gone that route. They are only allowed in cabins.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neekzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed in one of the cabins and it is an experience, but totally not worth the price you pay there. The cabins are old and rustic, not comfortable at all. It is very basic so all you pay is the location. However, the place is huge and the buildings with "normal" rooms looked quite OK (but even more expensive I think). Besides, the heating is not very good so it can easily be cold during the night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thom2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The lodge was undergoing a massive renovation, and will affect your enjoyment of Canyon Village in general, not just the lodge, so check ahead to make sure they are finished before you plan on staying here, OR dinner here. That said, like most places here in Yellowstone, the dining is sub-par, the menu is the same throughout the park, as the same concession runs all of them. The food is poor (soggy grilled cheese at not one but 3 park restaurants, including this one!). The accomodations are sparse, not luxurious. This is pretty typical of lodges on the Park property itself; if you want luxury stay in one of the boutique hotels outside the park. I rated this place so poorly because of the construction project and the awful meal we had.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rocks_for_brains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed at Canyon Lodge and Cabins in July. For my husband and me, a small cabin was serviceable. The cabins are fairly rustic in a 70s sort of way, yet the high ceilings made them feel cozy. Parking here is easy, but the food services are very, very basic and of low quality. Wi-fi is an additional charge. We also took a morning horseback ride from the Canyon Corral down the road. This was a gorgeous and informative ride, one of the highlights of the trip!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
19.5 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,082 reviews
13.5 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,215 reviews
23.4 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
25.4 mi away
Lake Lodge Cabins
Lake Lodge Cabins
#6 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
775 reviews
12.8 mi away
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
#1 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lodge and Cabins

Address: 5700 Norris Canyon Rd, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range: $499 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Lodge and Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 520
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Canyon Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Lodge And Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Canyon Lodge Cabins
Canyon Lodge Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing