We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Dunraven Lodge(Yellowstone National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Cascade Lodge(Yellowstone National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins(Yellowstone National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins(Yellowstone National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,216)
Filter reviews
1,216 results
Traveler rating
285
499
288
108
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
499
288
108
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanyon lodgehayden valleywestern cabinbisongeneral storesuperior roomtwo queen bedscoffee makercentral locationshort drivefood optionspost officeold faithfulvisitor centercabin areagift shopmini fridge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
988 - 993 of 1,216 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The cabins are just "o.k.," but the amentities are good. There is a lot of construction going on which makes enjoying meals difficult. We had lunch in the restaurant but a jack hammer was going off during the entire lunch time. We had dinner in the cafeteria and it was good. The entire area looks depressing but the amenities at this location are better than most.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed two nights in a Pioneer Cabin, unit C5-5.

Based on other reviews, we expected much more rustic accomodations. While it was nothing fancy, it served us just fine. Room was clean with new carpet and shower. Earplugs are recommended as you will hear the slamming doors and footsteps of the early risers around you. Each cabin has 8 units.

Location is good, as Canyon Village lies at one end of the road that cuts through the middle of the park. There is lots of good hiking in the area.

The negatives were: no coffee maker, and being a few minutes' drive from the village. The positives? Clean room and saving $100 a night over staying in the hotel.

This stay was certainly nothing special, but is probably the best value in the park.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjskck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Ok, so for all you folks out there used to 3 and 4 star hotels, don't reserve a cabin. You'd probably be happier in the Yellowstone Hotel or the Old Faithful Inn. This is for the folks who know they're going to a National Park and want the camping experience without sleeping in a tent or trailer.

The Cabins are CLEAN. The cabins are rustic, who cares. The beds are very comfortable, the bathroom is fine, the shower water is HOT. They give you shampoo (no conditioner and it's very drying 8,000 feet up so bring some), all the soap and towels you want.

I saw the maids remove bedspreads, sheets, blankets, towels and clean, clean, clean the cabins every time someone checked out and new folks were coming in. They spent at least 2 hours in each cabin cleaning. I guarantee they don't clean as thoroughly in those fancy pants hotel chains like they did in those cabins.

No fridge, coffee maker...no biggie. We flew into Jackson Hole, pre-ordered everything we wanted (from Albertsons in Jackson Hole including having our meat frozen there for us - ah, I still remember the Lamb Chop dinner, the steak dinner with fresh salad)...in our cabin. 2 styrofoam coolers, ice refills (free) at the ice house, a grill...all set.

Coffee...get some at their restaurant. They open at 6am. Keep your cup because they give free refills. Same with soft drinks.

Limited cell phone service. Yeah, that's sort of why I went to Yellowstone...to get away from it all. We have Verizon and had service, not terrific service, but we had service.

There's no TV's in the room. Again, that's why I went to Yellowstone, to enjoy Yellowstone, not TV. Bring a laptop and download movies and watch them at night. Us, we hiked all over the place and were tired at night...and my son is 25 so, he made out fine without all the technology.

Go to the ranger talks at night. They are cute and informative.

Watch out for that really scary cliff area as you go from Canyon Lodge to Mammoth Hot Springs. This NJ girl turned a corner after seeing a 25MPH sign and freaked out. Ok, so I have a fear of heights. I'm from NJ and it's flat here. We got through it.

I can't wait to go back and I guarantee you I will stay at Canyon Lodge Frontier Cabins again. Yellowstone road is in a figure 8. The Lodge is in the middle part of the 8 and so convenient for driving to the other areas of the park.

I hope those of you who read the reviews and reserve a cabin enjoy your experience as we did.

Debbie

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Debbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This review is specifically for a Western Cabin at Canyon Lodge and Cabins. The Western Cabins are situated away from the hustle and bustle of the Canyon area. Our cabin was extremely quiet. We had neighbors on both sides, and we never heard them over the course of 2 nights. In fact, this is the only place we have stayed in Yellowstone in which you could not hear your neighbors. The cabins are very large, very modern, and with two comfortable queen-sized beds. Both of our windows looked out to the woods. We felt secluded. There was a trail right next to our cabin quad that led to the Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone overlook and the North Rim Trail.....super convenient. Much construction was taking place this summer on the roof of the lodge, but we were too far away to hear any of it. The cost of the cabin was $185 (I think that is before taxes). So, this is not an inexpensive option. We didn't spend much time in the cabin, so I am not sure if I would spend that much money again. However, it was a great cabin with a perfectly sound night's sleep two nights in a row. Of course, it is also centrally located to many of Yellowstone's attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandra9007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Although nothing much can dampen your experience at a place like Yellowstone, the check-in clerk at the lodge did his best to make it happen. Of all the people we came in contact with, he was the least friendly and least helpful. He had minimal answers to our questions, in contrast to all the other employees we came in contact with, and did not make any effort to get those answers Although we would come back to stay here, we all hope that he will not be the clerk when we arrive. The room was adequate and the food was decent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews