We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic room, clean, inexpensive, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Basic room, clean, inexpensive, good location”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed in the Canyon Lodge Cabins which were clean, yet very basic. Don't expect anything special, as it is a National Park. It is reasonable priced and the location is great. This area seemed to be less crowded than other areas of the park (such as Old Faithful) and is centrally located within the park. Currently, they are doing construction on the Dining Room/Cafeteria, but it is all still open and functioning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    409
    220
    82
    27
See reviews for
425
403
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

From what I saw this was probably the best spot in Yellowstone for a family like ours that has to cook in the room due to food allergies. The two queen beds were nice and spacious with good bedding. A nice big room with a table that will fit four. The odd sink in living area in front of bathroom worked well for us. My husband shattered a bulb from the very low chandler over the table on his head but aside from the mess no one was hurt. You can hear all your neighbors slamming doors in the morning but we were very happy with the room and its location in the park.

Room Tip: Watch out for your head there is a light fixture right over the room's table that is very low to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

There are several different levels of comfort in this area of Yellowstone. Some of my friends stayed in other areas of Canyon Village but I was in the "P" section in a "Western Cabin". This cabin had two full size beds (they say they are queen size but I'm not sure), a very clean shower / toilet area that was not tiny and a sink in a separated area of the room. This was much, much nicer than some of the other, older cabins that friends stayed in. This type cabin had a hair dryer and Keurig type coffee maker as well as a very efficient, electric wall heater which we used in the evenings as it cooled off.
I would highly recommend getting one of the Western Cabins in the Canyon Village rather than one of the older cabins.

Room Tip: The "P" area Western Cabins are centrally located and are at the head of the walking trail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KentBogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Driving past some of the fairly decrepit (from the outside) looking cabins in the Canyon Lodge area of Yellowstone National Park, I was a bit worried about what our rooms would be like. However our Canyon Lodge room was large, cheery, modern, clean and quiet. Included were a good sized dresser and bed table, Keurig coffee maker, 2 large chairs and tables, a small but decent bathroom, and comfortable beds. The lighting could have been improved and the floors are thin, but otherwise, no complaints. I would suggest a 2nd floor room. Lodge rooms are not as inexpensive as cabins ($205/night incl. tax for 2 double beds) but the room was worth it and one expects to pay high room prices in a national park.

Public areas include a restaurant, cafeteria, deli, and grill as well as the requisite gift shop. This is the only place one can possibly connect to the Internet. No luck with my cell phone. There’s also a small store and gas station. We ate in the cafeteria which has very reasonable prices. Do stop by Deli for ice cream.

The whole area was quieter and much less crowded than the Old Faithful portion of the park. Plus it is convenient to the Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone, magnificent waterfalls, and beautiful the beautiful West Thumb thermal area on Yellowstone Lake.

Room Tip: Choose the 2nd floor for a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DulciTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Older western camp style room clean and comfy. Had a bison outside the door on two of our three days. Don't go expecting amenities like air conditioning, coffee, fridge or wifi. Not too far from the store but I brought a small camp stove and my own coffee. Suck it up cupcake!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liberty503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

It was a bit of luck to be able to rent this cabin, since we did our reservations less than one month before the trip. I checked Xanterra about every day until something shows up. Luckily we were able to book two nights in the Western cabins (P area) in the Canyon Lodge. We were lucky because the recent reviews for the Western cabins seemed to be very positive, possibly reflecting the fact that these cabins have been recently renovated. As a reference, these cabins were selling for $183 a night.

Now the cabins. Our cabins were renovated and I think they were way better than a lot of motels that we've stayed before (including some in these trips). Our cabin has two queen beds, a table, 2 chairs, two benches and a dresser. A sink outside the bathroom. Bathroom with shower and tub, very clean, good water pressure. Didn't hear the neighbors at all. Ice machine a short walk from the cabin. No AC, but we did not needed (Yellowstone tends to be colder at night, like in the mid 50s summertime). There was a heater, though, and we ended up turning it up for one night. It has a hair dryer and a Kreuger coffee maker. The rooms are very clean, and the maid service is quite efficient.

What the cabin does not have (which is explicit in the hotel web site): no tv, no microwave, no mini fridge, no wifi connection. No pools or tubs in the lodging area. These all make sense, as you don't go to Yellowstone to watch tv, even if I would agree that it would be a nice perk. Actually I missed the wifi more than the tv (it would be way more useful to check weather conditions, geyser eruption times etc.), but was able to live without it for 2 days.

If you haven't learned from the other reviews, the Canyon Lodge is very well located and close to major attractions. It is near the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone (obviously) and Hayden Valley. It is only 12 miles from Norris Geyser Basin, and a little bit over an hour from Old Faithful. About 30 minutes from Lake Yellowstone. About an hour minutes from Tower Roosevelt. It is a bit far from Mammoth Springs though.

The Canyon Village has most of the stuff you will need. It has a cafeteria, restaurant, convenience store, and gift shop. It is walking distance from the cabin, though we preferred to drive to save time.

I think that the Canyon Lodge delivered most of what it promised, especially considering that we stayed in a renovated unit (Western cabins). I believe that a clean, renovated lodge in the middle of the wilderness is gold, so I am bumping the rate of this accommodation to 5 star.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

When we started planning our trip to Yellowstone we tried to book a room for two nights at the Old Faithful Inn or the Snow Lodge near the Inn but there were no rooms available so we ended up booking a cabin at the Canyon Lodge and Cabins. These cabins are very basic and rustic (but not in a good way). We were told we couldn't have a hair dryer or a coffee maker because the electrical system couldn't support it (we lost the electricity twice probably because someone brought their own contraband hairdryer).The cabin was clean except that the blanket on the bed had stains which grossed me out. The cabins have seen better days, with peeling paint and tiny bathrooms.The Lodge is undergoing renovations so it is noisy and chaotic around the eating areas. The cafeteria, lodge dining room, and lounge areas remind me of Girl Scout Camp, stark: just the basics, nothing more. The cabin area is very rough with nowhere to sit outside except for a broken down picnic table (and I do mean "table", one table for about 8 rooms. There is no little front porch, patio, or balcony where you can sit and enjoy the outdoor view (but there really isn't much of a view anyway). These cabins really need an overhaul. If you want to harken back to your Boy/Girl Scout "barebones camping/cabins days" and wax nostalgic this is the place.
I've stayed in many lodges and cabins in the National Parks and have always thought them a good value; good prices for the location and access to wildlife, trails, hiking, etc. but next trip to Yellowstone we're planning on booking far enough in advance to get a room at the Old Faithful Inn. One tip: if you stay in the Lodge book a horseback ride into the back country. It is fabulous and the guides are terrific!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jack2621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Executive Director, Operations at Canyon Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Jack261,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review to Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Canyon Lodge. It is reviews such as yours that support our efforts to monitor the quality of service we provide to our guests.

I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with the room you reserved. We do our best to accommodate all of our guests and hope to please each and every one. This was not the case in your instance and I offer my sincerest apologies.

If you decide to stay with us again, which I hope you do, please feel free to contact me directly to ensure all of your needs are met.

Best regards,

Mike Keller
Executive Director Operations
mkeller@xanterra.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
13.1 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
989 reviews
19.9 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,962 reviews
23.8 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
23.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
723 reviews
23.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lodge and Cabins

Property: Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Address: 5700 Norris Canyon Rd, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Lodge and Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 520
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Canyon Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Lodge And Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Canyon Lodge Cabins
Canyon Lodge Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing