We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Roosevelt all three times we've been there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 28, 2012

A recent bad experience at a Custer State Park lodge in South Dakota reminded me that we should give Roosevelt Lodge Cabins some big love for the three times we've stayed there. Can't rave enough about these cozy 1920s cabins -- full of history, charm and simplicity, and a tremendous value. What else do you need but a solid bed, table, woodburning stove and a few hooks on which to hang your stuff? The shared bathrooms are always clean and uncrowded, the dining room has great food (we always tip our hat to the noble TR's photo over the desk when entering, snickering slightly at the elk antlers some wag placed right above it), and the international staff is always wonderful. Roosevelt's peaceful evening porch sitting, a staple of good lodge life, is outstanding. There are several great trails nearby; some of our favorites are the Yellowstone Picnic Area Trail, which has outstanding river and meadow views, and the Lost Lake Trail beginning right behind the lodge. This is our favorite area in the park, much less crowded than Old Faithful, Canyon or Lake, and we love the proximity to the Lamar Valley and its wonderful early-morning and evening wildlife. You'll go to sleep to the sound of crickets and coyotes and wake to the lovely chirping of birds. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ever_wanderlusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 369 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed here on July 2nd after a terrible stay at Canyon.We expected basic and it was but comfortable,bu we found the cabin dirtyit had not been cleaned with even dirty towels in the cabin when we checked in,again we have stayed in many NP accomodation over the years and only look for a dry ,clean place to sleep at night not much to ask you would think but Yellowstone lets itself down big time,come on Yellowstone get your act together,the park is world class,a must see in your lifetime but the accomodation is terrible

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andrewcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Executive Director, Operations at Roosevelt Lodge Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Roosevelt Lodge.

I was disappointed to read about your recent stay at this location. We work diligently to ensure that our rooms are kept up to basic expectations.

Please rest assured that the situation you experienced is rare and we are working on making improvements to ensure this never happens again. Until then, please accept my sincere apologies. I hope this didn’t negatively affect your overall Yellowstone experience.

Thank you again for your comments. If I can be of any further assistance, please contact me via the information provided below.

Mike Keller, C. H. A.
Executive Director, Operations
Xanterra Parks & Resorts
PO BOX 165
Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
(307)-344-5206

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Our cabin was clean and I loved the Western decor. I loved that we were able to park right outside our cabin door and that we didn't share walls with anyone. The cabins at Canyon Village do share part of a wall. Our cabin was within walking distance of the restaurant, general store and pay phone which was convenient as my cell phone did not work here. This part of the park is less congested so it's much quieter; we even opened our cabin windows at night to let the cool breeze in.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Graciedottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We enjoyed our 2-night stay in the Roosevelt Lodge Cabins. We had a unit with 3 double beds--our beds were comfy and we liked the cold evenings for sleeping. It was super quiet in the evenings--some noise in the morning, but we wanted early starts anyway. What I really like was the price. For about $80 (with tax), the room was affordable for a NP. Compared to North Rim of the GC that was $180 (it had a bathroom in the cabin, but way less comfy), it was a good deal. If we return to Yellowstone, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FredHarveyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here in a 3 double bed rough rider for 1 night. It was our last night in Yellowstone. Vastly preferred this more wild and rustic experience to Old Faithful Inn (overpriced) or West Yellowstone (really overpriced). The cabin with 3 beds was not that small--it was certainly bigger than our OFI room. I would come back here again. Probably best for those who know. What they are getting into, and like the concept of not-quite camping.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Ajomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Our cabin had three double beds and a woodburning stove. It was soooo nice.
The restaurant had decent food, and it was fun to sit on the porch and rock and watch
the sun go down.

Room Tip: Number 89!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jeanprius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

It's really hard to describe what a pleasure staying in these comfortable, renovated yet authentic cabins is. Life was so good there I just didn't want to sleep and miss eight hours of it - something I didn't feel anywhere else in Yellowstone. Go and you'll see. A fantastic deal.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
14.6 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,066 reviews
25 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,212 reviews
16.9 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Soda Butte Lodge
Soda Butte Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cooke City
172 reviews
24.8 mi away
Cooke City Alpine
Cooke City Alpine
#6 of 6 in Cooke City
149 reviews
16.3 mi away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosevelt Lodge Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosevelt Lodge Cabins

Address: PO Box 165, Tower-Roosevelt Junction, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190-0165
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range: $42 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Roosevelt Lodge Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Roosevelt Lodge Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing