We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time camping in a National park.”
Review of Mammoth Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mammoth Campground
Reviewed June 30, 2012

And I actually enjoyed it, our 1st choice of Canyon was filled fast so we got our 2nd choice. I thought the location was perfect and our site was very big, much better than anything we have had at a KOA size wise. It was extremely windy and got down to the low 30's but we were warm and slept well in our sleeping bags. Didn't see the bears near the camp but did see the mother elk with her calf.

Price was dirt cheap at $14 a night but unfortunately for that price you get no showers. And we weren't aware of the town 5 miles away on the road leading to the camp that actually offered pay showers as well as more restaurant choices....we came in thru the eastern entrance.

Anywas if you want cheap relaitvely safe and warm accomodations this is a good choice while in the park.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dyna47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Mammoth Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 43 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2011

Almost the perfect campground. Not too many sites, excellent for RVs as spaces easy to get into and not close together. Water at most sites, excellent views, close to hot springs and Gardnier. When it is snowing in June or July or even August, this is the place to be. 10-15 minute easy walk up to Mammoth. Our favorite campground in Yellowstone.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank HorridToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

I loved it here. We stayed 6 nights in a great pitch set back and uphill from the road (which gets busy from 6am onwards) overlooking the valley. It's less than a mile to get to mammoth springs where there are showers and concessions. Also you can get out to Gardiner really easily for shopping and laundry/internet. You have to be at the camp very early to get a spot in the summer. It was full by 10am midweek and 7:30am weekends. It's quite a long drive to Old Faithful and the lake from here but you are near to the hot springs and not far from the north east valley where a lot of the wildlife is spotted.
Toilets are flush with running water, firewood for sale, and they take credit cards. very nice camp hosts. Wonderful stars and exciting electrical storms!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank LondonKazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We stayed in this campground for 2 nights in September. It's warmer than other campgrounds because the elevation is lower. It's close to mammoth hot spring. Visitor center, restaurants and general store are close by. The campsite is spacious and there is no time restriction for campfire. Every morning, a herd of Elks come here to eat their breakfast. You can hear how the male elk calls. It's a great experience. For some people, it might be a little noisy because it's close to the road and traffic passes by in the early morning and late night. However, it's fine for us. Not big noise. You can't make reservation for this campground. We arrive early morning to occupy a tent site. It's full for those two nights we stayed there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank janetu81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Spent two nights here while touring the northern part of Yellowstone National Park. This campground does not take reservations; simply show up and check with the volunteer camp hosts to see what's available. We arrived around 9 a.m. and secured tent site #85, a spacious site with a parking spot, picnic table, campfire grill and, lucky for us, a gravel pad for the tent. We had a thunderstorm our first night but woke up to dry ground thanks to the good drainage. (Smart thinking on the part of the National Park Service, which operates the site, to install gravel pads. We stayed later at the Bridge Bay campground operated by Xanterra and discovered the grassy site was actually a bog.)

Our site at Mammoth was conveniently located near the washrooms, which were clean and well maintained. The camp hosts also make regular checks through the campground aboard what looks like a golf cart to be sure that everything is in order. Campers, both tenters and those in RVs, were quiet and considerate of each other's privacy. The only noise we heard was from the road below the campground, but it was really quite minimal and certainly didn't keep us awake at night or waken us in the morning.

The location is convenient to the town of Gardiner, so if you need groceries or prefer to have a restaurant meal, it's only a short drive away. You're also close to the park headquarters with its visitor centre, post office, hotel and restaurant, and Mammoth Hot Springs is close, as are a selection of hiking trails. The campground itself has a small outdoor amphitheatre where park rangers give interesting talks in the evening. At $14 a night, Mammoth is half what you'll pay at a Xanterra campground (for site fee + reservation fee) and twice as nice. And it seems to be easier to find a spot at Mammoth than at some of the other NPS campgrounds. We drove over to Norris twice (largely because of good reviews on Tripadvisor) only to find that walk-in sites were all that was available. But no regrets -- we found Mammoth a really good campground and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tripsterchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

This NPS-run campground is a great alternative to the many run by Xanterra, the private concessionaire. Not only is it substantially cheaper, but it's a more reasonable size (under 100 sites) and is staffed by great volunteer campground hosts. There aren't many trees, but the views north toward Gardiner are great. Be prepared for the ground squirrels to start squeaking before sunrise. June is a shoulder season in Yellowstone, and this campground was filling in the early-mid afternoon.

Bathrooms are average, and although the campground itself has no showers, you can pay (or sneak in) to use the common showers in the Mammoth hotel just up the hill.

One word of warning: there's a half-mile trail connecting the campground to the developed Mammoth area, but it is very steep -- hard to climb up, a bit slippery coming down.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lenin1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We stayed 2 nights here & 3 at Bridge Bay. We got here early & were able to pick our spot. Check in is quick & easy. Campground was clean yet rustic. The mountains were right across the road from us. It was the best of both worlds - camping in the mountains yet close enough to modern conveniences.The road does have a lot of traffic which does wake you up early (5:00 am) but we wanted to get up early to see wildlife & we did. There are spots farther away from the road.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StuMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
0.1 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,032 reviews
32.9 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,168 reviews
4.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
41.2 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,000 reviews
14.5 mi away
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
#1 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Campground

Address: Mammoth Hot Springs, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range: $256 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 85
Also Known As:
Mammoth Campground Hotel Yellowstone National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing