We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fishing Bridge RV Park
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I recently stayed at this park for five nights. All of the previous reviews are absolutely correct when they commented on how cramped this park is. The sites are so close together that they don't even provide picnic tables at the sites. Ironically, a picnic table would have been useless anyway due to the high volume of mosquitos.

Upon our arrival, in a rainstorm, I was immediately turned off by this park when I arrived at my designated camp site only to find some nitwit had taken this spot and he/she was nowhere to be found to remove it. The park personnel had to relocate our party after one of us had already unhitched and was in the process of setting up. Way to go.

The ONLY redeeming quality of this so called "rv park" is the fact that it had full hook-ups, minus cable, of course. Yellowstone NP was nice, but this campground was not.

Room Tip: Pick a different RV park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BlueTurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    83
    54
    40
    21
See reviews for
138
58
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Not for large rigs...sites are small..cramped...some full hookups some electric with sewer and hundreds..no millions of mosquitoes. Everyone around us including us were very disappointed. You are so close that two trailers had their bumpers touching...no tables ..nothing but mosquitoes. Suggest that you park outside the park and drive through the park.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank itabouttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yellowstone National Park hotels

Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We recently stayed at Fishing Bridge RV park in Yellowstone. From previous reviews, we thought that the campsites would be extremely cramped. Even though the sites were on the small side, the ambiance and location more than made up for it. Fishing Bridge is the ideal spot to stay in Yellowstone as it is right in the middle of everything that is worth doing. You can head north to Hayden Valley and the Tower-Roosevelt area or head west towards Old Faithful and the geyser basins. The staff at the office was extremely helpful when we had to wait on a part for our rig to be shipped to us and were willing to work with us so that we would not have to pay for an extra night if we couldn't get our trailer out by check-out time. The showers were very clean as were the other restroom locations throughout the facility. The general store and Visitor's Center were within walking distance (a nice, easy walk) and were definitely worth checking out. We even had a momma grizzly and her cub walk through just 3 sites away from ours! We also got to see a beaver right at the west end of the bridge. We would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank kfm_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
255 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Negatives: As you can see from the pictures, it was cramped. We were disappointed that a large rig came in and took several feet of our small area. You just can't go there with the idea of having much space at your rv site. We already knew that there were no tables and chairs so we brought a folding one. No campfires. If you use a BBQ, you have to take it in each night due to bears. It just helps to know this ahead of time.
Positives:
We took day trips to several places. We packed a lunch some and went out to eat for late lunches, too. We often came in at 8:30- 9pm ready to eat dinner. The person that said to have pre-made or quick dinners was right on and good advise. No time to cook most evenings. The place is a ghost town during the day, as most people are using it as a place to land each night. We went to Cody to the Buffalo Bill museum. Well worth if, especially for the guys. Great Indian history and art. Lots to learn. My grand daughter and I went to nearby Wal Mart as the guys looked at the guns.

We loved West Yellowstone, Montana and went to the Imax and the Wolf and Bear Discovery next door. We took 10 and 12 y/o grand kids. I was pleasantly surprised that the Wolf and Bear discovery was a real highlight and not too expensive. They have bears and wolves that would not have survived in the wild (so it didn't feel so hokey!). The bears are like in a zoo and come out at specific times. You can view them well, however. When they are put away, the kids can go out and hide the bear food with the staff. They then leave and the bears come out. They loved "feeding the bears." Also another museum with the famous Snaggle tooth bear was across the street.

The RV sites all seem to have some woods designed across the street from them. It was nice to have water and sewer. We used the generator a little in the evenings to charge batteries and to use the microwave.

The location is so wonderful. I can't imagine being any farther away from things than we were. We rode our bikes over to the store (through a short cut) and around the RV park. It felt safe there. It only cost us $150. for 6 nights. They reduced the fee due to no electricity. It was a deal and we would return. It was a wonderful vacation. The grand children enjoyed doing a journal each day and it was filled with great memories.
I enjoyed seeing the bison and didn't tire of them-even when they stopped traffic. We did some short hikes, like Natural bridge and Pelican Creek Nature trail. At first, I didn't know that Yellowstone lake was located right behind the ranger area (across the street from the store). The rangers have a nice variety of learning activities and I wish that we would have done more. What a great vacation idea!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank travelwhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

when we decided to go to Yellowstone, we decided to stay at the fishing bridge, because of the hookups and even though they were close, and a little hard for some with large trailers, we felt it was a great camp ground, we did not stay at the camp ground during the day, because of all the activities. came back in the evening to relax.
We visit Yellowstone about every 10 years, and will go back to the fishing bridge, when we return again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JCrash60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Underhill, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Yellowstone is an absolute must for everyone to see, but if you have an RV longer than 30 feet I strongly recommend that you pick a campground outside of Yellowstone. Sites are way to short/small to accomodate a larger RV comfortably, in our case we have a new dent in the side of our truck from short sections of telephone pole sunk in the ground to protect a light on other side of road from our site, which was impossible to see from the truck and could not be avoided while trying to do the sharp turned required to back our 38 foot fifth wheel into our site. Once in our site we were still hanging out into the road as well as portruding onto our neighbor's lot behind us. We were aware of the fact that there would be no electricity and had only a minimum amount of food with us as we know the limitations of the battery life for our RV and planned to shop at the park stores as needed, but be aware that the grocery selection is more like a quick stop and if you have any dietary restrictions you are probably going to be very dissappointed. In addition I would add that if you have any issues with pollen this is not the best choice for you either. If you are used to sitting around the campfire or even just sitting around enjoying the evening outside, this is also not the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Rescue_me_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Yes - sites are cramped. There is no internet, phone, etc. Electricity isn't working this summer. All of that is true. But it's all worth it! You are staying in Yellowstone National Park!!!

This is your only choice for staying in a full hookup campsite inside the park. It does take forever to get anywhere in the park and I can't imagine having to drive in from somewhere every day. Park was clean, everyone was very neighborly about it being crowded. General Store is a nice little walk away and was a great treat after dinner going for ice cream. We would completely stay there again.

About the electricity - we didn't even see anyone working on it? Wonder if this will be a problem next summer too? We are from Texas and couldn't imagine camping without AC so we hauled our huge hurricane generators all the way to Wyoming. Couldn't believe that with the weather we really didn't need it! Just ran the generator a little each evening to charge our lights. No campfires made for early bedtimes, but honestly we were so exhausted from our days that it didn't matter.

And just for the record - I have ATT and never had service unless we were outside the park or in the Old Faithful area. We did go out the west entrance to go horseback riding and had service there. Around a few of the other visitor centers you could get a little service? My mom has Verizon and did much better than I did. She was even able to find some spots around the lake that had service.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JDunson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
2.0 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
989 reviews
15.2 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
921 reviews
32.8 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,491 reviews
20.1 mi away
Pahaska Teepee Resort
24.2 mi away
Lake Lodge Cabins
Lake Lodge Cabins
#6 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishing Bridge RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishing Bridge RV Park

Property: Fishing Bridge RV Park
Address: Fishing Bridge, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Number of rooms: 344
Also Known As:
Fishing Bridge Rv Park Hotel Yellowstone National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing