We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four pleasant nights in an abundance of nature”
Review of Madison Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Madison Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This campground was clean with well-spaced campsites, leaving you feeling like you're not cramped in among the tents. The bathrooms were clean and dry, and the firewood (while expensive) was readily available- so was ice.
There are no showers on the campground- they're about a 20 minute drive away- but we didn't mind making the trip because the park is so scenic, it's not a hardship.

Elk walked right through out campsite on our first night, and there is fly-fishing (only) available on site.
There are lots of trees, but not a lot of shade- the trees are spaced out and skinny.
An amphitheatre holds church service on Sundays, if that interests you.

Altogether, it's a beautiful campground with the basics done right. You'll be surrounded by nature, but the mornings at that elevation can get chilly- dress warm at night!

Room Tip: Ask for a campsite on the outside of the loop. F loop was slightly more secluded than the others, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank badness59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 219 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Before I got to the campgound I had read many reviews - love Trip Advisor! So, not to repeat what all have said - we had a great time - 4 nights in Madison campground. We didn't feel like we were on top of each other - I guess it depends on your camping experience, but we thought they were great sites. Clean restrooms (except for some icky campers).No showers or it would have a five rating. Plenty of space in the bear box - but many around us were in rv's so they didn't need one. Had a visit from bison - and elk by the river. we would stay here again - although I'd probably bring the motorhome. :)

Room Tip: Get into one of the back loops for optimum quiet - we were in F loop. (A, B, C, D, are in the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hopnrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I had a short 2 night stay at this campground.

The tree's in the campground do not provide any shade, and the sites are very close together. This means, you are friends with your neighbor! Fortunately, we did have quiet and friendly neighbors. The bathrooms were close by, and water was available.

No showers. No shade. 2 nights is pretty much good enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank maxine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The reviews of this campground are good and thorough. We stayed at the end of Loop C and enjoyed our general location. We loved swimming in the river with our children and the campfire programming was my son's (7) favorite thing at Yellowstone. I just wanted to add that our campsite was very dirty. We were tent camping and the loose piles of dirt and dust were all over everything we brought in and out of our tent. We are regular campers and not the type to complain about a little dirt, but this was so bad that my four year old asked if we could bring rugs next time....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed for two nights the week of July 4th. The campground was full. We stayed in an RV and did not have electric or water hookup. I really enjoyed the campground. The restrooms were real restrooms, but no showers. The only complaint would be our fire ring was very close to our neighbors. In fact, the last night we shared our wood and all sat around our fire ring. The couple were nice so it worked out just fine. The best thing about this campground was the Madison river is very close and an easy walk to reach from the campground. I think it was the Madison river anyway. The river is very shallow, so easy to walk or float in. Several kids were swimming. Lots of fish jumping at the flies. Not too far off, a bison with a newborn calf. Very nice and peaceful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MF72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Madison campground is in a great central location. We stayed here for six nights and drove to different areas of the park each day. We were in H loop which is at the very end. It is realtively secluded and the spots were big (H is tent only). I agree there should be more bear boxes - we only had space to store our camp stove since so many were sharing it. Our site was the least shaded of all the spots, but it was close to the bathroom which was nice in the middle of the night. Note- it got very cold at night - be prepared! Our camp host, Randy, was helpful and friendly :) Every night at 9:30 there was a fireside ranger talk and the two we went to were great! (Bears and Rainbow of Life). A downside was they have no showers, so we had to drive to another campground. Madison also has a Ranger station very close, which was nice because our girls enjoyed all the talks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JStout000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The location for this campsite is just perfect. The site was OK but not special, we did get one close to the bathroom, which is what we asked for. At night it was quiet and the (minimal) facilities were clean and convenient.

I was a bit annoyed by the fact that the lady at the checkin addressed me like I was a teenager when explaining about bear safety. I explained her that I was well aware of the rules and I had camped in Canada and even Alaska multiple times before but still she thought it was necessary to mention that esp. ladies should not keep anything in their pockets such as chapstick.

What also annoyed me is that apparently there was the Norovirus going on in the park at the time of our stay and already caused quite some illness by visitors of the park. We visited multiple Xanterra properties (this campsite and several bars and a hotel) as well as visitors centers and there was no mention of this at all, which at that time seemed as necessary as warning for bears. We only learned about this virus when arriving in Grand Teton, several days later.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antonettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
6.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
744 reviews
25.2 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,067 reviews
6.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
805 reviews
29.6 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,212 reviews
32.3 mi away
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
#1 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Campground

Address: West Entrance Road, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Number of rooms: 277
Also Known As:
Madison Campground Hotel Yellowstone National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing