We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive and no privacy.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Madison Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Madison Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Grande Prairie, Alberta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Expensive and no privacy.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

You bascally share your campsite with your neighbours since everything is so open. I found it to be expensive and that you are taken advantage of on the firewood prices. The staff was nice and the location within the park is pretty good, but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B-Rockn_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    80
    31
    10
    1
See reviews for
82
75
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We got here with our Android app "RV Camps Locator", it turned out just good. If you like to explore around where you stay, this is a very good campground. There are several river with good view in walking distance. Especially, if you like go to fishing, you may just carry your fishing tool to the fishing spot. There is also a swim (water play) spot nearby. This site is warm in comparison to Canyon campground, which is around 30 F in early July. We drive an RV here. This campground has no hook up, but they have convenient dump station and water fill station right on site. The restroom is also clean. They have excellent evening ranger program also.

Room Tip: Their pull through site is very easy to park, not parallel parking site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenniferwilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is the second time we've stayed at Madison. The campsites don't offer much privacy but it's a great place to stay. We were lucky enough to have no bugs to speak of and it was nice to be able to eat outside as well as enjoy a campfire without mosquitos. The campground staff is VERY serious about leaving anything out that might attract bears. The people across from us left stuff on their table one day while they were out and the ranger came by and removed all of it and left them a ticket. Be sure to put EVERYTHING away if you leave.

Fly fishing was just so-so at the campground but it was really good at Elk Flats.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Love2traveltacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
168 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Madison is one of the campgrounds in Yellowstone you can reserve (we have a softsided camper so Fishing Bridge was not an option) and it seemed to be centrally located to what we wanted to do. The sites in our loop were shaded and had enough space for us. There was a massive RV next to ours and they seemed to have enough room too. There are no hook ups, but there is a dump station with potable water. Generators are allowed from 8am - 8pm. The sites are close to each other (but we've been in closer) and there isn't a lot of privacy, but that didn't bother us. The bathrooms have flush toilets and offered soap and a hand dryer. No showers. But the bathrooms were very clean!!! There is also a camp sink and potable water faucets throughout the loop. Because we knew the rangers were particular about the camp sites related to bears, we hoped for more bear boxes, but there seemed to be one for every four or five sites. The ones near us were already taken so we had to keep everything in our truck. We were warned that the rangers would come by and issue tickets, but we never saw anyone in four days. But there was no bear activity reported while we were there either.

We attended ranger programs just about every night. All of them were very good. The rangers do such a good job. We had a bison walk through one of the talks one night.

You can buy fire wood and ice at the main office, but that is about it. There were no stores near by unless you head into West Yellowstone. The grocery store I went to there was a joke - poorly stocked and the prices were as bad as if I had bought the stuff inside the park. I wish I had done more stocking up in Jackson before we headed to Yellowstone. We were told that you could take showers at the Old Faithful Lodge instead of driving all the way to Canyon. We never did try it, but it was nice to know it was an option.

The location really was convenient. We spent a day at Old Faithful, a day at Roosevelt, Canyon/Norris and finally one at Yellowstone Lake. The location made the drives reasonable. While not my favorite campground during our trip, it would be one I would go back to. We had a good experience.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank KMR96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed in primitive camp areas most of our trip in yellowstone, but didn't get to a site quick enough so made res. at Madison. Phone res. folks thought our tents were too big for one site, so had us buy two sites. When we got there, the gentleman checking us in thought that was awful and wanted us to be together of course as a family. He checked our tent sizes and said they were just fine for one site. Even though it was last minute, he changed our site to one. Saved money and were together. Nice campground. Loved the little ground squirrels everywhere. Sweet workers. Thanks Madison.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Campforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

My family camped here for one night in June and we loved it. Two small kids and two adults. The facilities are incredibly clean and in good working condition. The site is a bit cramped without a lot of privacy but for the price, it's a great deal and it's truly lovely there. I appreciate especially how well the park is maintained and how clearly the rangers explain the rules of the park (they are really trying to keep bears out of the campsites and doing a great job as far as I can tell).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lsmcomposer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed in all of the reservable campgrounds in Yellowstone, and Madison is at the bottom. There is no privacy and no showers. Stay in Canyon or Grant.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Slorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
26.2 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
25.1 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
25.3 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
9.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
13.4 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Campground

Property: Madison Campground
Address: West Entrance Road, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Number of rooms: 277
Also Known As:
Madison Campground Hotel Yellowstone National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing