We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, quiet and spacious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grant Village Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grant Village Campground
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful, quiet and spacious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
Spacious campsites (we tent camped...2 adults, 4 small children...because we're crazy.)
Two free showers per night per reservation
Lots of trees and shade
Plenty of bathrooms (none of the campsites are "far" from a bathroom)
Laundry mat was immaculate
Staff was courteous, helpful and friendly
Close to the lake
Short drive (relatively) to Old Faithful and other cool stopping points
Moose and Elk both spotted, daily in the campground

Cons:
Tent camping with 4 small children (did I mention we decided to buy an RV when we get home?)

The only thing I would have changed about our trip (other than tent vs. trailer) is I would have stayed 3 or 4 nights in Grant Village and done everything within an 1 1/2 hour drive of there and then picked up camp and moved to Canyon Village and done everything closer to that area. As it was, there were a couple days when we drove north to do something and ended up being in the car for 4 to 6 hours (roundtrip) and our two youngest had had about enough of their car seats when all was said and done. This trip was amazing!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Icestorm106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    66
    27
    10
    3
See reviews for
67
52
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SW Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This review is strictly about tent camping in Grant Village, not Yellowstone itself. Our site was close to the entrance and the bathroom, which we wanted. We were there three nights. The camp site was clean and equipped with a picnic table and grill, both in good condition. The bathroom needs a little work for both men and women. But with the tens of thousands of people who camp there every year, (or is it by the day?) it is easy to see why things get used a lot. The showers and laundry were a decent walk or a very short drive away. Both were in very good condition. Some Grant Village camp sites are much farther away. It may change by the day, but I suggest to shower early. It seems the line for the shower was much longer in the evenings. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Bears, moose and elk have been spotted in the camp sites. Staff tells you how to handle all of that. We noticed how quiet our portion of the camp site was in the evening and at night. Very peaceful. If you need any camping supplies, there is a store nearby. Old Faithful is a close attraction to the site. Lake Yellowstone is very close to Grant.

Room Tip: No guarantee you will get a camp site by a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnSWIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Grant Village in our tent for our last three nights in Yellowstone. The sites in our loop ("I" loop) were HUGE and must nicer than the ones that we stayed in at Canyon Village. The walk down to the lake was great, and we even saw an otter. We had elk wander through our campground on two occasions. The sunsets were OUT OF THIS WORLD in this location. The Grant village bathrooms also have a dish washing sink which is very convenient. The camp hosts were very hands on and repeatedly asked our neighbors to turn off their generator that they were running all throughout the day and night. We appreciated their commitment to a quiet nature experience.

We had only a few minor drawbacks. There were not many amenities in the village area, and the village was set farther away from the campground. It was quite the walk. The laundry facilities and showers were also very set away from our campsite and not centrally located. That said, the beautiful views, close distance to Hayden Valley, and the wildlife made up for the lack of amenities. We will camp here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a location that backs up the lake if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kasey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Grant campground very much. A shower everyday comes with the cost of the camp site and there is an excellent Laundromat. The only negative, and it's a big one, is that campers have to share a limited number of bear boxes. People have traveled from everywhere and bring a lot of groceries. A small share of a bear box won't hold a week's worth of food. We had to carry our ice chest and our food supplies everywhere we went.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SillyBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menands, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked several weeks in advance and got a spot next to the restrooms (and the running water), but no electricity at our site. Maybe we needed to pay extra? It was really nice falling asleep and waking just fractions of miles from wild animals, which you can hear early in the morning. My fellow campers were quite rude, though! People walked through our site like they were paying for it and were slamming car doors at 11 p.m.

Room Tip: I booked five weeks in advance for this and actually couldn't book for Yosemite as it was alread...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cedestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone Heights, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed in Grant first week of July and would have stayed longer but no sites left to extend visit. Requested a specific area and was able to get where we wanted to camp. Well organized campground with spacious sites and quiet surrounds. Showers were provided at entrance to park for a fee and long lines if wait to late evening, so my suggestion is take that shower early in the day. Big camp store in campground where you can pick up needed groceries and two restaurants for quick dining. Grant and Madison are two of the best campgrounds in Yellowstone.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ivyfromflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This review is written from the perspective of TENT camping. We stayed one night at Canyon and then one night at Grant (couldn't spend consecutive nights bc the campgrounds were full). We much preferred our site at Grant than at Canyon.

We didn't have a lakeside spot, but that was fine - I mean, we're just there to cook and sleep. The campsite was VERY spacious compared to what we had at Canyon -- it was like twice the size. No tree roots in the ground, the ground was firm enough to hold the stakes but not cement-like -- we didn't need to break out the mallet.

Bathroom was close by and clean, though no hot water.

The only negative is that you have to drive to the showers -- they are not within walking distace to ANY site. Again, same issue as the other Yellowstone campground showers - they open at 7am and you only get 2 showers/night at your campsite - all others must pay like $3 to use the shower.

The bathhouse was MUCH cleaner than the one at Canyon.

Even though this site is a bit out of the way in regards to the major Yellowstone attractions, I will definitely stay here again, should we decide to camp.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OwlYaDoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
13.8 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
20.6 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
0.2 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
41.1 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
14.3 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Village Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Village Campground

Property: Grant Village Campground
Address: Grant Village, Yellowstone Lake, Yellowstone National Park, WY
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Grant Village Campground Hotel Yellowstone National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing