We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Taught me hidden features of my camera and phone EXCELLENT Doug Hilborn Teacher and Guide

Our Guide was Doug Hilborn, experienced trained outdoor photographer for 20+ years. He took the... read more

Reviewed September 28, 2018
Dan R
Wildlife viewing in a 1937 Touring Car!

Wake up to wildlife is a must! We were met promptly at 6:15 at Canyon Lodge and loaded into the... read more

Reviewed September 21, 2018
reba8900
,
Austin, Texas
Read all 57 reviews
  
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
32
12
6
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
12
6
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mountain goats canyon lodge camera phone down the road bison bald eagles great guide black beans mule deer early morning driver mammoth vehicle wildlife introduction bear passengers
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 55 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2018

Our Guide was Doug Hilborn, experienced trained outdoor photographer for 20+ years. He took the time to learn each of our interests and levels of understanding with our phones, and various cameras. Prior to each site (which he knew the lighting, the time to approach, the angle, etc) he would announce to us which specific settings to put our cameras on for best images.
Take a notebook, a warm coat, several lenses, back-up batteries, tiny flashlight, etc. You can leave all the extra stuff in a daybag on the vehicle.
BE PREPARED TO TAKE THE BEST PHOTOS THAT YOU HAVE EVER TAKEN!!!
Doug will take you to all the best image spots, that are in the calendars and post cards, and YOU will come away with the best images you have ever taken.

Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018

Wake up to wildlife is a must! We were met promptly at 6:15 at Canyon Lodge and loaded into the car. Our guide, Kurt, explained much of the history of the park while driving from location to location. He carried several large spotting scopes to help us view the animals. The car was comfortable and we were able to see a large section of the park. Kurt knew where to look! Some of the animals we saw were Pronghorn, bison, hawks, elk, mountain goats, chipmunks, ravens, eagle, osprey, black bear. He stopped frequently for restroom breaks, and let us do a short walk to some of the waterfalls. The trip takes about 5-6 hours but is well worth the1/2 day.

Thank reba8900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018

Trip Advisor doesn't seem to distinguish between the morning wildlife tour and the photo safari. They are two different tours. I am providing a review for the photo safari only.

The trip was excellent. My husband and daughter are both avid photographers and saw abundant wildlife in picturesque settings. The driver, Doug, has lived in the park for years and drove the group to his favorite viewing locations. My daughter said there was quite a range of photography equipment and abilities on the tour, including some using only a camera phone and, on the opposite end, an incognito ranger on her day off who had been photographing wildlife in the park for years. The guide was helpful to all of them, she said. They saw bison, elk, bald eagles, western tanagers, etc.

1  Thank SheilaEndres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2018

This wildlife tour was absolutely a highlight of our family vacation to Yellowstone. We got on the cool vintage Yellowstone bus in Mammoth bright and early one morning. We knew going in there were no guarantees, as we're dealing with wild animals who may not have gotten the memo that the tourists want to see them. Well, with some good luck and a wonderful guide (Travis) we saw more animals that we could have dreamed of going in - a wolf, black bears, grizzly bears, bald eagles, elk, wolf deer, mountain goats, and of course bison galore. Travis knew where to go, and he knew who and what to look for - for example, he spotted one of Yellowstone's wolf biologists stopped at one of the overlooks, and knew that where there are wolf biologists, there are likely to be wolves. Sure enough, the wolf biologist was there tracking a pack that was heading our way, and we eventually got to see one of these majestic wolves through a spotting scope that Travis had on the bus. The right equipment (the spotting scopes) made a huge difference and allowed us to see animals that were far off in the distance. Animals aside, it was a lovely ride through the Northern part of Yellowstone - past Roosevelt, through the Lamar Valley and into Silver Gate, Montana. It was a great way to see this part of the park, and the animals were a huge bonus! Five hours sounded really long when I booked the excursion, but the time flew by. We loved every minute of this. Thanks, Travis!

2  Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2018

We signed up for the Wake up to Wildlife Tour to depart our Canyon Lodge at 6:15 a.m. Driver was late, so we got going about 6:45. Our tour guide did tell us a lot of information about the park and the various animals. We did see bear, bison, mountain goats and an osprey among the animal highlights - went down a side road looking for wolves, but they weren't cooperating that morning. Riding in the 1937 vehicles was a neat experience. A muffin and orange juice served to each of us was also a nice touch. I would recommend this tour.

1  Thank coachdshafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2018

The natural Hot springs and the surrounding scenes offer an out of the world experience to the tourists. Worth the visit once in a life time

Thank VISWESWARA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2018 via mobile

Dougie was our driver. Told to meet in foyer at 6:45am but driver doesn’t turn up until after 7am. Told by driver that he can’t stop on road but will try to pull over when he can. We had several times when we could not stop to take a picture. This especially was when otters were spotted and the whole bus was disappointed. Too many stops for restrooms that no one wanted. We saw lots of bison, a few wolves in the distance, ducks and a long horned sheep. We arrived back right on 11am.

2  Thank jacquelined183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017

This overpriced tour was not what we expected. Since we were in a national park taking a guided tour, we expected a knowledgeable ranger would be our guide. Instead we got a local guy who mostly just drove down the road until an animal was spotted. And then he had to find a big enough spot to pull over his big yellow bus. And since this bus was a re-built antique from the 1930's, he took particular care with it, not allowing us to open or close the doors. The amount of time this took could mean the difference in our missing an amazing photo opportunity. I almost didn't get the most incredible picture of our trip; if I hadn't raced back from the bus before the sun moved behind a cloud and the elk moved on, I never would've got the most amazing shot of elk on a sandbar, their stunning images perfectly reflected in Yellowstone Lake. My advice: save your money and do the driving yourself.

2  Thank Jacquie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2017

Completely awesome experience! The early start was worth it. We were reassured to be told that the historic bus had been updated and was a safer ride over the mountain roads than it might have looked at first sight. Our guide knew where to go and had a telescope to enable us to view animals from afar when necessary. Bison and moose crossed the road in front of us; the pronghorn, elk and mule deer were numerous; and it was great to see mountain goats as well as the wonderful sighting of a grizzly and her cub. How lucky were we!

Thank stevefairman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017

We didn't see that much wildlife in spite of the guide's best efforts, we saw lots of bison, a pronghorn and an osprey nest but sadly no wolves or bears. But it was still a great tour, the guide told us so much about the park and the wildlife, and it was fun travelling on the antique bus.

Next day on the way out of the park we saw a grizzly, you just have to be lucky !

Thank Elaine101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews