We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Appropriately named canyon”

Firehole Canyon Drive
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
510 reviews
337 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Appropriately named canyon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

There are lots of colours from the thermal activity. There may not be a massive waterfall but the colours, steam and the snow make this a magical place to visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eaa1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    150
    23
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northern PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't miss the swim”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a beautiful drive but the absolute best part is near the end of the road; the swimming hole. This is not as well kept a secret as it used to be, and in fact there is now all the conveniences of wooden walkways, changing rooms, parking area, etc. The snowmelt river water is warmed by the geysers and is perfect for swimming. There is a pleasant swimming hole and just above, some rapids that are very fun to ride. Signs recommend life jackets for riding rapids and I would agree unless you are a very strong swimmer. The brave even have low cliffs to jump off. An experience you sure don't get everyday!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank PAmom-doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“nice drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

this is a nice drive off the main road, and there is nice geysers to see, one the them is great fountain, got to see it, but had to wait for about 4 hours, but was worth it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A highlight of a winter trip to Yellowstone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We've been to Yellowstone in the summer but not seen Firehole Canyon. It is amazing in the winter from a snow coach - would be even better to walk that road and observe how the canyon twists and narrows and the river steams. If you are going in the winter, ask to go on this road! It trumped the geysers, the paint pots, etc. although all of those attractions are also lovely in the winter.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great drive...fun swim!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Off the Grand Loop near Madison is a one-way loop for Firehole Canyon. The views on this loop are very dramatic, with many rapids and waterfalls along the way. At the end of the trail is a park endorsed (quite rare!) swimming hole that we did not know about that has parking and a few rest rooms/changing areas. As we did not have our swim suits with us at the time, we made sure we'd be back to try it out.

When we came back a few days later, we went swimming in water hole. The current is a little strong, so if you are not a good swimmer, I would advise against going in. The water itself was warmer than expected. There is a small cave on the other side that you can go into. Jumping into the water and just letting the current take you was very exhilarating and rather relaxing. We kept going along the edge walls to get back into the current and off we went!

The footing is rather tricky as there are sharp dropoffs in spots and sharps rocks in general in the areas you could walk around in. Wearing some sort of footwear would be a good idea.

When you see the sign for Firehole Canyon, give it a try, you'll be glad you did!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PRNap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firehole Canyon Drive also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Firehole Canyon Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing