We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice drive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Firehole Canyon Drive

Firehole Canyon Drive
Certificate of Excellence
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“nice drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

this is a nice drive off the main road, and there is nice geysers to see, one the them is great fountain, got to see it, but had to wait for about 4 hours, but was worth it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    150
    23
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A highlight of a winter trip to Yellowstone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We've been to Yellowstone in the summer but not seen Firehole Canyon. It is amazing in the winter from a snow coach - would be even better to walk that road and observe how the canyon twists and narrows and the river steams. If you are going in the winter, ask to go on this road! It trumped the geysers, the paint pots, etc. although all of those attractions are also lovely in the winter.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great drive...fun swim!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Off the Grand Loop near Madison is a one-way loop for Firehole Canyon. The views on this loop are very dramatic, with many rapids and waterfalls along the way. At the end of the trail is a park endorsed (quite rare!) swimming hole that we did not know about that has parking and a few rest rooms/changing areas. As we did not have our swim suits with us at the time, we made sure we'd be back to try it out.

When we came back a few days later, we went swimming in water hole. The current is a little strong, so if you are not a good swimmer, I would advise against going in. The water itself was warmer than expected. There is a small cave on the other side that you can go into. Jumping into the water and just letting the current take you was very exhilarating and rather relaxing. We kept going along the edge walls to get back into the current and off we went!

The footing is rather tricky as there are sharp dropoffs in spots and sharps rocks in general in the areas you could walk around in. Wearing some sort of footwear would be a good idea.

When you see the sign for Firehole Canyon, give it a try, you'll be glad you did!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PRNap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Absolutely Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I had not heard that much about this, so I didn't really expect that much out of it. Boy, was I surprised! First of all, it's only a 2 mile road right off of the main road that lead right back to the main road 2 miles later, so it's not out of the way at all. Second, the waterfall and river that you follow the whole way are unbelievable. It was so beautiful, and by far the prettiest stretch of the grand loop road (since it is only 2 miles and goes right off and back on, I am counting it as part of it). It is well worth the few minutes it takes to drive, though I suspect just about everyone will stop and take pictures. So glad I didn't skip this!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KerenElise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
240 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Very picturesque”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Do not tow an RV on this road as the road is very narrow and winding. It is about a 2 mile stretch of road with great views of a waterfall and fast running river. The rock in this area sparkles like diamonds in the sunlight.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank OntarioTravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firehole Canyon Drive also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Firehole Canyon Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing