We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Horseback Riding Experience Ever!”

Yellowstone Wilderness Outfitters
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bay Area
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Horseback Riding Experience Ever!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Horseback riding has never been my thing but I had such a wonderful experience with Carrie and Yellowstone Wilderness Outfitters and their horses that I came away wanting to take riding lessons. I went with my father-in-law, who is an experienced rider/owner of horses and a friend who is a beginner. We were all given horses that were appropriate for our level and we all felt that our horses were very responsive to us. The fact that the horses all seemed to be very well cared for and therefore content each in their own way added tremendously to our comfort and experience. We all also very much appreciated how well organized and professional Carrie and Shannon were and we are certain this, along with the quality of their horses is why it was such a great experience. The horses were ready and saddled when we arrived 30 minutes early for the trip. They also did a fantastic job preparing us for the ride by providing very clear and thorough instructions about how to ride, what to do as well as what not to do. They did a great job keeping the horses and riders settled during the ride. We couldn't have asked for more - a truly wonderful experience in a very beautiful setting with happy and well cared for horses guided by two very professional, knowledgeable, confident, and caring women.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank cindy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    7
    4
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“WOW! This is a must do!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Most of our group had NO experience with horses and yet we had a trip the kids will remember the rest of their lives. Carrie was Awesome, knowledgeable and caring. We are already planning our next adventure. I will NEVER book with anybody else. You shouldnt either. These folks really know their stuff.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevinat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Saddle / Paddle Day - Never will forget it!”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

To ALL the people at Yellowstone Wilderness Outfitters - Thank you. I loved talking to each person who assisted me in the planning of our day with you and your guides. Our horseback guide, Emily was truly amazing and very sure of her surroundings and any possible danger that could come up. She was able to safely and confidently show us the Blacktail Plateau area and guide us around a lone bison that came upon our trail. She was truly a wonderful and happy person who showed how much she loved her work with horses and the outdoors. Not to forget the whitewater rafting in the afternoon, down or up the Yellowstone River. Mandi was very much in control of our raft and gave us a great run through the rapids. We sincerely enjoyed ourselves doing one more item off our "bucket list". Thursday was absolutely one of the most wonderful and exhilarating days we had during our visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mmulkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Troop 27 Boy Scouts”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Jett Hitt and Cary Byrom did an outstanding job on our trip. The scenery along the Hellroaring trailride was among the best we saw at Yellowstone - which is saying a lot! The trail guides were all knowledgeable and treated the boys (age 9 to 11) with patience and kindness. They were also all biology majors and taught our young men some excellent classes about flowers, trees, wildlife, and of course the horses themselves. We did the full day trip, and it was not a long day at all. In fact, the day flew by. I would definitely do this trip again, and plan to do so.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fabulous Experience”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We went for the 2 hour horseback ride with an 11 year old and 9 year old with very limited exposure to horses and they did great. Of course the horses have traveled this trail a million times and need little direction. My 11 year old is timid with animals and his horse wanted to wonder off the trail a little but he did great redirecting him. The 9 year olds wanted to eat but the guide told her from the onset not to let him! There was a guide in front of us and behind us to give suggestions (loosen the reigns) and make sure we were all okay along the way. The trail takes you through open areas and forests a real back country ride- you go up quite a ways - the views are spectacular- I would be concerned if you had a great fear of heights as you are near some edges. 2 hours was plenty long- I really can't imagine going any longer! The guides were helpful and answered any of our questions, they were ready to go right when we arrived and the whole thing took exactly 2 hours. We even changed our times the day before from 2:00 to 12:00 so we could get on the road earlier and they were very gracious and accommodating. I think you would really enjoy this experience and recommend it as part of your Tetons/Yellowstone experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank atpederson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellowstone Wilderness Outfitters also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Yellowstone Wilderness Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing