We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to miss”
Review of Boiling River

Boiling River
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not to miss”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Was a ton of fun. Went here with our 3 teenage children and loved it. It is an adventure to navigate this river which gets hot water from the springs. It is very rocky and slippery so would highly suggest bringing water shoes. Spent several hours here, and would say it was one of the highlights to Yellowstone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DraxNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    34
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beachwood
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of a kind place to relax”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Where else can you relax sitting in a river bed with flowing water from two rivers merging together; one being glacial run-off and the other being underground thermal boiling water? After a long day touring the northern sights of Yellowstone; it was a very unique way to relax. Parking is limited, with tiny lots on both sides of the road, but if all else fails just pull off the road. It's not a high traffic area. Don't forget to bring suits, towels, change of clothes and water shoes (very slippery). You'll probably have to change in the car as the facilities are almost non-existent. It is not highly promoted, but easy to find just a few miles north of the Mammoth Hot Springs on the way to the North entrance

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JaredSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clancy, Montana
Level Contributor
156 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We learned of the Boiling River from some friends. It is not marketed very heavily (unlike some other places in Yellowstone!). We visited twice in August 2013, and both times, really enjoyed the experience. It is about 3 miles in from the North (Gardiner) entrance. You cannot miss all of the cars parked in the lots and along the roadside (despite no road sign). Then the boiling river itself is about 1/4 - 1/2 mile walk (pretty flat) in from parking. The site itself is awesome. You wade into the river, where the hot springs dump in, and try to find the perfect mix of icy river water + hot spring run off. There are some warning signs about a deadly Ameoba (no joke). I would ignore those (I am a physician, for the record.) However, we did see a RATTLE SNAKE on our way out on our 2nd trip - that really did look like it could kill a person!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Heather Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mammoth Hot Springs Natural Hot Tub”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Boiling River is just a short drive from Mammoth Hot Springs and is definitely worth the experience. It is well known, but ask for driving directions to be certain you take the proper route. It will be identified by small parking lots on both sides of the highway, and you will find entry to this natural spa by walking approximately 1/4-1/2 mile along the river. It's an easy, level trail. Waters from underground hot springs and cold mountain rivers mingle and blend here--giving you a real appreciation of the huge temperature differentials of each. (Some of the currents are very hot, so be careful with the young ones.) Boiling River has a very rocky bottom, so wear water shoes or tennis shoes if you're a "tenderfoot". Don't forget to bring your own towels.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not to Be Missed”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Probably the highlight of our entire trip. My wife and I spent a good 90 mins lounging in the boiling river. It's a 1/2 mile hike down to the swimming area and my wife, who is recovering from hip surgery and is walking with a cane, was able to make do with no problem. I'd suggest a pair of Keens or water shoes. I saw a few people in flip flops, but I'd be afraid you'd lose them in the current. If you dare, try to sit back in the cave area over which the scalding water falls. The water there is really temperate and you'll look like a champ to your friends. Lots of kids here too. Totally worth the stop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank urfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boiling River also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Boiling River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing