We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much better than Xanterra food”

Lower Hamilton Store
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“So much better than Xanterra food”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

WOW! The food here was so much better than the Xanterra food found in the rest of the park, we wished we would have found the restaurant in the back of this gift shop sooner! It is run by an independent company and the only competitor to Xanterra. The Hamilton Store serves great burgers, chicken sandwiches, and amazing fries. They also have good breakfast offerings all at reasonable prices. I highly recommend eating here over the Geyser Grill or cafeterias around the Old Faithful Area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank ColoMama33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    34
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average tourist eatery.”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Better than other options in OF area, but nothing that great. We weren't able to get reservations at OF dining room earlier than 9:45 pm so we opted for this. Relatively quick service. Had a old fashioned soda fountain bar you could eat at. It is in the middle of gift shop/grocery so there is a lot of foot traffic. Bean burger was tasty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jsskstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I originally found this "store" on Yelp while looking for places to eat in Yellowstone. True, the building does house a store, but it also contains a diner and gift shop. This facility is not noted in most travel guides and even once you arrive in the Old Faithful area, you will not find reference to it. From the main road to Old Faithful and attractions, look for the sign indicating a gas station (just west of the Old Faithful Lodge).

First, the diner is retro. Not fake retro, it's the read deal. An employee told us it is the diner for the old bus stop. The employees are genuinely friendly and engaging. The food is very good...maybe not great but worth what we paid. Oh, and I need to mention we ate here around dinner and we did not have to wait for a table.

Next, the gift shop is better than what we found at the Xanterra shops, both in selection and prices. The only down side was that they did not have a changing room for trying on clothing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Jimboblove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Rustic”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The building is very rustic looking, and there is even an old fashioned soda fountain inside. You will find many souvenirs here with a wide selection of shirts. Most other gift shops are run by Xanterra and feature the same merchandise at every shop. This one was different from Xanterra and offered a few more items of interest. Prices were what you would expect at a tourist shop.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank middle_aged_mom_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I wasn't prepared that they had counter service; that it was called a Grill because they offered hamburgers; and that otherwise it was only sandwiches.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Photoshoot49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lower Hamilton Store also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Lower Hamilton Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing