We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun! Good Food Refreshing Ice Cream”

Lower Hamilton Store
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
bravestrong
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Fun! Good Food Refreshing Ice Cream”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

everything's pricey in Yellowstone and the Tetons and this vintage store right next door to Old Faithful Lodge is certainly no exception. Tasty grilled cheese (but NO pickle!) and wonderful hand packed ice cream. Sit on the counter stools and talk with the friendliest servers.....80 year olds to 20-somethings from everywhere! A retired geology professor from Texas State University gladly shared what could have well been a Ranger talk about the geology of Yellowstone. You can also order your food "to go" and take it out to one of 3 outside picnic tables w/ unbrellas.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank bravestrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    33
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Food at a good price”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I like stoping in here. Nice place to get a quick lunch. I usually stop here and get my food to take out on a picnic.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lamorris46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not sure how these guys are #2 on TripAdvisor”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Actually skipped eating at Old Faithful Inn the first night here in Yellowstone due to the relatively high ratings for Hamilton Store on TripAdvisor. Having experienced the counter at Hamilton Store, I have to admit that my husband and I were completely baffled by the high ratings were the Hamilton Store. He had the cheeseburger and I had the buffalo chicken sandwich. Both were fine, but I would say that would be as high as either of us could go... "fine." Neither or our sandwiches were made to order; both came off the warmer sitting on the grill...both were bland and slightly overcooked. For all you coastal city food snobs out there (like us), skip the Hamilton Store and head on over to Old Faithful Inn. It won't be the best food you've ever had, but it will be leaps and bounds better than the Hamilton Store.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mctang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in the Park!”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by this restaurant located inside the general store--not the main one as this one is a bit off to the side. The restaurant is set up diner style and our waiter (Joe) was one of the most pleasant people we met during our stay in-Park. He could be a spoksperson for the Park (and I am not just saying that because he kept the coffee coming!). The breakfast did not disappoint---my children, who are tough pancake critics, loved their pancake breakfast as did my husband who is very particular about his eggs being cooked dry--they served them correctly the first time! Everything was served hot, fresh and cooked to order--something you don't normally find inside the Park. Forget the Old Faithful Grill and head to the general store to start your morning right.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DBM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
735 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,311 helpful votes
“Excellent breaKfast.”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

A few steps below the Old Faithful Inn. Worth the trip for a hearty tastes-like-home-cooked breakfast. Three people run the show- very efficiently- serving more than 50 diners. And the breakfast is cooked right in from of you. Excellent job guys!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ebbtide123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lower Hamilton Store also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Lower Hamilton Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing