We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, Room well surpassed expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
UMWSUHFH
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great service, Room well surpassed expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

The room was modern, clean and possibly even redone since this Lodge's opening in 1999.
The bed was comfortable. The room was quiet and you couldn't ask for a better location.
The restaurant in the Snowlodge was nicer and less expensive than the Old Faithful Inn.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UMWSUHFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    578
    275
    100
    39
See reviews for
459
598
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in the hotel not the cabins. The rooms were a bit small but very modern and clean. The people at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The food there was OK, nothing special but good. While the hotel does not have the beautiful lobby that the Old Faithful Inn has it is still a very nice hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawkmoon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
269 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

This "lodge" is about ten years old and a great place to stay when visiting Yellowstone NP. We have stayed in the Old Faithful Inn and in the Canyon area and the Snow Lodge would be out first choice on our next visit. The rooms are new, clean and roomy. The restaurant is wonderful and again much better than the Old Faithful Inn dining room. There is a nice bar with a cozy fireplace. The location is only a block away from the new Visitors Center, Old Faithful Inn and the Old Faithful Geyser. Lots of free parking.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DenverDenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Snow Lodge cabins, although the cabin itself was a no frills accommodation. The service was outstanding and the location, right next to Old Faithful, was great!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

Frankly, I would have stayed in an unheated log cabin to be able to see the Yellowstone geyser basin. Given that, the Old Faithful Snow Lodge was a real treat. Comfortable rooms, good food and a great lobby with the most beautiful gas fireplaces. As with all Yellowstone hotels. pets are allowed but not recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank outsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

Get a drink from the bar and sit by the fire in the lobby or on one of the balconies and take this place in. This place is the Gem of Wonderland (Yellowstone). Also take the morning Ranger guided tour of Geyser Hill from the new Visitor's Center.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Over65Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

We had a very good experience at Old Faithful Snow Lodge. As with all places, there are pros and cons. I will attempt to address those and also to evaluate handicapped accessibility. My husband has MS and travels with a motorized scooter, so we have a good idea what is accessible and what is not. I will also address the dining facilities we visited.

Pros:
1. You are in a very good central location to see many things in the park, especially the large number of thermal features. This is much better than trying to do it from outside the park--that way you spend all your time driving.
2. OFSN is much less hectic than Old Faithful Inn. It's a zoo over there, but relatively peaceful at OFSN.
3. It's a very attractive property and very nice rooms.
4. The beds are very comfortable.
5. It's very convenient to go to the grill, general store, Old Faithful, Old Faithful Inn, the cafeteria.
6. They have a Keurig coffee maker in the room, so it's nice to be able to have coffee and tea.
7. Very helpful front desk staff and bell hop.
8. Room was very clean.

Cons
1. There is no air conditioning and it does get stuffy in the rooms. But this is true of all properties in the park. Since we really wanted to spend our time seeing the park instead of just driving back and forth, we just made up our minds to tolerate the lack of AC. That's why we went in mid-August instead of mid-July. And they have a fan in the room, so that helps.
2. There is no TV (again true of all park properties). So we brought our laptop and some DVDs. We stayed out in the park and having dinner and spent little time in the room so lack of TV was not a huge problem.
3. The window in the room is tiny. It's too bad they didn't put larger windows in the rooms since there is no AC.
4. We asked the housekeeping staff to leave us more decaf instead of tea. Instead they didn't leave any. So we just asked the front desk staff and they gave us whatever we wanted.
5. The first morning, people started slamming their doors about 5:30 or 5:45 am. I think a larger group was packing up to leave early, and they were completely inconsiderate of everyone else trying to sleep. The second morning we did not have that problem.

Handicap accessibility
I think this is a great property for anyone in a wheelchair. There was sufficient handicapped parking. From the car, my husband could go right in the door and down the hall to our room with no problem. The staff said we could park the scooter in the hallway outside the room, which we did except at the end of the night. Then we brought it into the room so we could charge the battery.

From the OFSL, my husband was able to take his scooter to Old Faithful Inn, Old Faithful, the general store, and the cafeteria. However, it is a bit of a challenge finding the way. There really weren't walkways connecting all these areas. He had to travel through parking lots to get there. I don't really like it when he has to go through parking lots. Drivers can not always see someone in a wheelchair, so it's dangerous. But we were able to do it without any incidents.

We had an accessible room, so there was a roll in shower in the bathroom and the bathroom seemed large enough to accommodate a wheelchair. There was also a bathing seat provided. My husband is not confined to the chair, thank God, so he does not wheel into the shower, but it looked quite large to me and there were lots of handbars.

The front desk staff were very accommodating and eager to help us. They advised us on sightseeing that would be accessible. The bell hop was fantastic--the person not in the wheelchair usually has to struggle with all the baggage, but the bell hop did it all for me.

And as for accessible sightseeing, there are at least three very large areas of thermal features within 5-15 minutes drive that have accessible boardwalks where wheelchairs can easily travel. And the sights you will see there will knock your socks off! Plus, the staff told us that the thermal features in front of Old Faithful Inn also had accessible walkways, but we never made it there.

I would not hesitate to recommend this property for any person in a wheelchair or scooter. I think it's a great place to be able to enjoy Yellowstone National Park from your scooter or chair.

Old Faithful Inn Dining Room

Had wonderful ambiance and pretty good food. I would rate the food above average. And it was not as expensive as I had expected. I had a chicken dish and my husband had swordfish (he said it was the best swordfish he ever had). We did not get dessert and we do not drink alcohol. It came to $49 for the two of us, but I thought it would have been more since national park restaurants are notoriously expensive.

One drawback as far as I'm concerned is that you really won't see much in the way of fresh produce as the park is very remote. My husband's fish was served on a bed of frozen peas.

You have to get a reservation, and then you have to get there early to check in. I had to stand on line about 15 minutes to check in. Very odd procedure.

Cafeteria at Old Faithful Lodge
Typical cafeteria food, slightly better than some I have tried. We had bison meatloaf, which was really quite tasty. One entire wall of the dining room was windows that looked out on Old Faithful. Great view, but unfortunately, the sun streaming in made the room very hot and stuffy. You could watch Old Faithful from the dining room or you could easily walk or take your wheelchair outside to watch.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desertwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
22.4 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
36.5 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
14.4 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
19.2 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins

Property: Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
Address: 2305 Old Faithful, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Faithful Snow Lodge And Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Old Faithful Lodge
Old Faithful Snow Hotel
Hotel Old Faithful Snow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing