We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cabins are OK, not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
865 reviews
475 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 939 helpful votes
“cabins are OK, not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2006

For $85+ tax, my Snow Lodge cabin was a good deal. But I'm glad I only stayed one night. While there are some great geyser trail walks in the park, and Old Faithful is fun, Old Faithful Village is remarkably dreary. The Snow Lodge cabins are certainly on the dreary side: no landscaping, and mine was next to the gas station. But, inside, the cabin was larger than most and reasonably furnished (no charm, but more than adequate).

The Snow Lodge itself is much newer, and if you didn't have to pay a lot more to stay in it (I think you do), would be a better choice than the cabins. Obsidian restaurant has good food but untrained staff can lead to loooong delays. Breakfast buffet is uninspired but fairly priced and quick.

My advice would be to stay as long as you need to to see Old Faithful area, and then move on to other accomodations in the park. I would not make this place a base to see the whole park, as Old Faithful Village is a little bleak and overcrowded.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    579
    275
    100
    39
See reviews for
461
598
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McQueeney, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2006

My family of 4, wife, husband, 2 kids, 16 and 11 really enjoyed Snow Lodge. It is a lovely facility. Very new and modern. The rooms, while small are arranged nicely and the storage space is good. Room has 2 double beds with locker style closets on either side. Room has a desk and chair and an additional chair in the corner. The sink is outside the bathroom and has a shelf above and below for toiletries. The tub/toilet area is large. There is a hair dryer in the room. There is a shelf that runs the perimeter of the room that I found quite handy. The laundry is on the second floor and is wonderful. It has 4 washers and 6 dryers. Cost: $1.25 a load. Change machine located there as well. It is open to everyone in the park, so plan ahead. It is open from 8 am to 10 pm - locked the rest of the time. (Canyon was supposed to have a laundry but it was closed because the campground was closed- call ahead) Some evenings there is entertainment in the lobby. The building is not well marked, so when you find it, just locate a parking space anywhere you can and go on in. It sits off and behind the general store. You can walk easilly to Old Faithful and do the geyser trails from there. The Obsidian restaurant is very good, but pricey. The grill is good, reasonably priced. We didn't try the cafeteria.

Helpful?
15 Thank finnishspitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2006

Enjoyed a two night stay at the Old Faithful Snow Lodge 12/13th May 2006. Appeared to be quite new building with very pleasant public areas and very clean rooms. All the staff were accomodating and friendly. The park was supurb and mid May seemed to be a good time to visit, not too busy and most roads open.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SR71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2006

Just got back from a 4 night stay. We were very pleased with the hotel, the rooms, and the food at the Obsidian. The location can't be beat, and we went before the mad rush of tourist season. The rooms were comfortable. Yes, the food is a little pricey, but most things are pricey in a tourist area. We got to see Old Faithful perform it's dazzling show in the morning, evening, in good weather, and in snow. It is centrally located to many of the attractions. We did have a problem with our hotel room door (the electronic key thing). Management was gracious and attentive, and solved our problem. The staff was great, and performed well above expectations. Would definitely stay again!!!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2006

You can't beat this modern hotel with a front row ticket to Old Faithful and the multitude of geological and wildlife sights in the heart of Yellowstone. Winter is the perfect time to visit the park and our whole family was quite comfortable with our deluxe room at the Snow Lodge. The public areas are comfortable for reading and visiting with family. The hotel staff was courteous and knowledgable. The furnishings reminded us of the Wilderness Lodge at Disneyworld on a smaller scale. There is no smoking and no TV. We were able to use both our computer and cell phone from the hotel location.
We enjoyed the Geyser Grill and its variety of fast food fare. Breakfast was fine at the Obsidian Restaurant, but the dinner service and fare was disappointing when compared to its cost and reputation. Slow dining was a strain for our teenagers. Be sure to make dinner reservations when you reserve your rooms - there really aren't alternatives unless you want to eat before 5pm at the Geyser Grill. Also, we enjoyed the Firehole Lounge.
The hotel building includes a gift shop/store where you can conveniently rent cross country skiis and snowshoes. We did both. We went ice skating at the small outdoor rink next to the hotel building. Complimentary ice skates are loaned from the lobby.
The hotel is close to the visitor center where we saw an excellent evening presentation on the wolves sponsored by the Park Service. Old Faithful and numerous other geysers and lots of wildlife are just beyond the visitor center.
Yellowstone in winter is both spectacular and exquisite. Don't miss out on the winter packages at this excellent hotel. February is the perfect time to have the park practically to yourself!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Hearthside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Wyoming
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2006

If someone wants to experience Yellowstone National Park anytime of the year, one must be prepared to experience and appreciate all forms of wildlife, including mice that reside in the National Park. Because Yellowstone is pristine and the wildlife is preserved for all of us to enjoy, one should expect to see all wildlife. We should not be terrorized by tiny field mice that may find their way into the buildings. Perhaps the person who gave the Snow Lodge such poor ratings needs to schedule his or her next vacation at the Ritz Carlton on the beach somewhere instead of our pristine National Parks.
I have visited the Lodge many times and found it to be clean, well appointed and the staff courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Buffalo_WyomingBejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2005

It was definitely an experience staying in the cabins next to the Old Faithful Lodge. From the outside I was very apprehensive - they look like a large garden shed! However, once inside I was pleasantly surprised. There was enough room for a double bed, 2 bedside cabinets, a desk and chair and a vanity sink. The bathroom was small, but there was plenty of hot water and the shower was powerful enough. There was a considerable ground frost in the morning but the in-room heater was fine - except the bathroom remained cold! One bit of advice - make sure you take a torch with you. Its pitch black at night and there's lots of things to trip you up if you're not careful! We ate at the Old Faithful Lodge Cafeteria. The food was fine and the dining room fantastic. We sat out alone on the veranda with hot drinks in the dark listening to the gysers and the wildlife - fabulous experience!

Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
22.1 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
36.5 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
14.4 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
19.2 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
19.3 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins

Property: Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
Address: 2305 Old Faithful, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Faithful Snow Lodge And Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Old Faithful Lodge
Old Faithful Snow Hotel
Hotel Old Faithful Snow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing